We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place! Great value xx”
Review of The Rocks Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rocks Villas
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place! Great value xx”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have never felt compelled to write a trip advisor review before but we had such a brilliant time at the rocks I thought we should share this amazing place! The whole place was spotless, the villa we stayed in was just perfect, ticked all the right boxes. The location and accompanying view was just awesome only a few minutes from sariee walking, great pool plus everything you'd expect: Fridge, aircon, HD cable TV, mobile phone(!) and breakfast. Overall such a lovely, comfortable place thats great value, Janine and Rueben were great hosts We will definitely stay again if we get the chance. Best place on the island !! Thanks x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarky1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi C & Z,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you with us and of course we are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best wishes,
J & R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
137
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Rocks Luxury villas, it was wonderful: Janine and Reuben are very kind, Janine served us the breakfast every mornings in the villa, the view is nice and located in a calm place and very close from the shops, bars and restaurants. For sure, next time we will go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47etiennec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi Etienne & Sabine,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to meet you both. We hope you had a good journey home, and of course are looking forward to see you again on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Reuben & Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

First, the pluses:

Prices are reasonable.
It is a young couple´s venture; you can feel the passion to make it work.
The air conditioning in the rooms. Good beds,
Lots of space in the villas. A big fridge with lots of drinks.
A beautiful view. Tranquility, peace.
The f.o.c. cell phone with pre-registered numbers.
5 minutes walking distance to the main lovely beach, Sairee, which takes you to the center of town.
Janine tried to help us with everything possible. Changing breakfast for lunch (she would actually go herself to town with a bike to pick up the breakfast!!!)

The minuses:

The shuttle that was taking us to the house did not have the usual driver who was in a meeting but his wife, who did not stop yelling to other persons, stopped to get money in the ATM while we were stressed and tires form the hot trip.
When we arrived, Janine (7 months pregnant, owner), was alone. NO service to get our 9 pieces of luggage up the steep hill. When going through the services, the BBQ was broken, the service persons were on holiday, the husband was busy with the construction of another villa. That also contributed to the messy feeling.
The house is in a remote place, and the access is through a very steep hill. You need to book the taxi that takes 20 minutes to come and pay 250 BHT or take it in the 7-11 at 300 after negotiations. Every ride. Every day.
Lack of service. A steep slope to get to the house. The town is crowded, not ideal for our family with 3 kids.
No air conditioning at the dining room. You need to go out of the house.

All in all, taking into account we are a family of 5 and need assistance during our trips, I give it an average rating. I would give an excellent rating to Janine and Rubben´s dedication and hard work. However, Janine cannot do everything on her own! If you do not need that kind of service (young couple...), go for it!

Room Tip: Take the villa nearest the pool. We had that one. The other one requires walking further upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi Marcos and Family,

Thank you very much for your review and comments. We take it very seriously if one of our guests does not enjoy every aspect of their stay with us. Therefore I would like to give you and our future guests an explenation about a few points you raised.

First of all, I would like to apologise thoroughly once more that we didn't have all our staff on site at the time of your arrival to help with the suitcases. As I mentioned during your stay, everyone on Koh Tao is in a very difficult situation this August, as the island is going through the worst drought in history. In order to get water for showers to the resorts on the island, almost everyone has to queue for 4-5 hours every day to get 1000 litres of water pumped into a truck and then delivered. Some resorts even had to close down. We were literally on 24 hour duty to get enough water to our resort for all our guests to have showers and feel comfortable. Of course you couldn't know this, therefore I understand your complaint about there not being as many people around to serve you as you would have liked, but I hope you understand.

In response to the issue with the taxi service: I have spoken to the taxi driver and I understand there was a fight between you two, which I was very sorry to hear about. I hope this is not the reason why you were moved to write our villas a critical review. Please note that this taxi service is separate to our business, nevertheless I am glad you brought these issues to our attention. I have asked them to take our customers straight to our resort without delays in future and to be more timely on pick-up calls. A little tip: If you book this taxi service for an agreed time in advance they are always punctual.

Location is a very important part of our resort concept. We chose our location with stunning views, tranquility, privacy and peace and quiet. In order to achieve this our location has a steep hill which is now concreted all the way. It's an 800 meter (5 minutes walk) distance to the beach, some people walk it, some rent motorbikes, rent a jeep or take taxis. We clearly state on our website and all booking sites that our access is steep in some places.

You mentioned that the town was crowded, the reason for this is that August is one of the busiest months of our season. Our busy seasons are usually in mid-June till the end of August and around Christmas and New Year.

The weather was exceptionally hot this August, and I understand that you found it hot in the living rooms. I probably forgot to mention it to you, but if one leaves the doors to the bedrooms open (and shut all the windows and doors in the living room) the two air conditioners in the bedrooms are powerful enough to cool down the whole house ;)

At The Rocks we pride ourselves to give a very personal service to our guests, we are on call for 24 hours a day and assist our guests with everything they may need. We are very concerned to hear that you felt that we could have cared more about you and take your comments to heart.

We hope you had a good journey onwards and wish you and your family all the best.

Regards,

Reuben & Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights here. Beautiful villas with plenty of space and so comfortable. Janine (the owner) and Chloe (manager) did everything they could to make us comfortable - the personal touches were really appreciated. We were given a mobile phone and could ring them at any time to ask qustions etc.
Lovely pool which we really appreciated after walking up the hill! Beautiful views made it so worthwhile though. Bikes are so cheap to hire if the walk is to much.
They will pick you up from the ferry which was great.
Lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happydaysonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will of corse extend your review to Chloe too :)

I wish you all the best!

Regards,

Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing week at the Rocks - paradise! The villa was fantastic with an amazing view and gorgeous pool. Breakfasts on the balcony were also a highlight. Janine (the owner) was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble - including setting up a birthday dinner by the pool for us. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hi S & J,

Thank you very much for your great review. It was a real pleasure to meet you both, and of course we would love to welcome you with us again sometime.

I hope you had a good journey back 'home' to China and are enjoying the Olympics from afar.

Best wishes,
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here for a week last November and really enjoyed all of it. Rooms are great, view is stunning, lovely hammock and the owner Janine is really nice and she did think of everything. She's knows everything about the island which made that we could enjoy Koh Tao even better. She helped us with local phone calls, taxi's, food, best places to go eat and dive and snorkel etc. There is also a lovely swimming pool where we spend a lot of hours swimming and playing with our little girl. Over all a perfect getaway and we highly recommend the Rocks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilydeBrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hi Lily,

Thank you so so much for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to have you three with us!

Warm regards,
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Rocks in a couples villa. The villa was large, with a separate living room, small kitchenette area and bedroom/bathroom. They are built in the typically thai stilted style with a large balcony for dining and relaxing - the hammock is great for a nap after a days snorkelling! Fixtures and fittings are of good quality, and a good nights sleep is guaranteed, as its really quiet due to the location.
Janine delivers and prepares breakfast each day during which she's happy to chat away and offer advice on the islands best spots and activities. For me, the personal service offered was what stands the rocks apart, the owners will try and accomodate any request, and deliver it with a smile!

Room Tip: The access road is a bit steep, and a little away from the main area - hiring your own transport is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hi J,

Thank you very much for your great review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you had a good journey back to Korea and of course we would love to welcome you with us again on your next visit.

Warm regards from sunny Tao,
J & R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
2.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Villas

Property: The Rocks Villas
Address: 15/48 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rocks Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks are boutique residences in southern Thailand offering both privacy and personal service. Surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stunning sea views, our four boutique villas and infinity-edge pool combine a feeling of tranquility and relaxation. Under Swiss and British management the Rocks are proud to be the original boutique villas on Koh Tao. Secluded, but still less than 10 minutes walk from the beach, they are the perfect holiday location for romantic couples, families or groups of friends. The Rocks is also a great location for your honeymoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rocks Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing