We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a beach resort - Remotely located” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Buncha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dusit Buncha Resort
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a beach resort - Remotely located”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel property is very beautiful and spread across area. Reaching to this place is a challenge. Hotel is located at extreme north-west of the island. However easy it looks on the map, approach is tiresome - there is a steep (60 degrees angle) long walk from gate to the reception which does not end there. To reach your room from reception is another TASK! All this is even tougher when you are stepping out of the hotel as now you face a steep climb that exhaust you enough to not be able to go around the island. Taxi service provided by hotel is at fixed hours with no flexibility at all. There is no public transport and even if you hire a bike or car the road that leads to hotel is pitch dark at night for over 2 kilometers. Rooms are big and bathrooms are as big as room with no bath tub. We felt they have wasted space to give this a rustic look.

Breakfast was very limited and sausages had house fly. Butter served was past due expiry date (expiry date 6/Nov and we were at restaurant on 19/Nov) and when inquired we were instead advised that it is still good till end of year. Iam adding a picture as proof (funny). Restaurant is officially open till 10PM. When we went to the restaurant at 9PM, we were told that it is shut as chef and staff had left for the day. At 11PM we called reception asking for tea bags (missing in-room pantry), there was no one available to understand what Tea Bags are and apparently there was no one except a guard at reception who did not understand english.

The reason why we choose this hotel was due to proximity to Nangyuan Island. Hotel website also gives "mis-leading" information about availability of Kayak from hotel to Nangyuan. They DO NOT have any kayaking facility. When inquired about Kayak, were advised to rent one from Sairee beach (3-5 kilometers far).

This place is absolutely not for honeymooners, people suffering from any heart, asthama, or any other physical ailments. This is also not handicap friendly hotel. Not advisable for old people and with children. Not at all value for price of THB3000 for a night. There are much better places at Sairee Beach with same price.

Room Tip: Please stay close to reception if at all you choose to stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drifterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    92
    58
    39
    38
See reviews for
40
165
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were imediately blown away by the beutiful surroundings. That evening we ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was ok, the major letdown being a Thai Elvisimpersonator singing covers very badly... Which was fun for half an hour the first day, not the rest of the meals for the entire stay.
The staff was almost unable to communicate in english, and things that were decided upon like taxis etc were forgotten.
Even nature itself were against us as nightly a choir of extremely loud frogs were making it impossible to sleep for more than a couple of hours... This might be seasonal though.

Overall beutiful hotell very secluded that ultimately was not worth the cost.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nissehellstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review of our resort, we really appreciate all your comments as this will help us improve on our current services. All your comments have been fed back to our resort manager and we would like to let you know that we have recently employed more English speaking staff to aide with bookings and services.

We hope you will visit us again in order for us to show you the improvements we have made to our resort.
Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Manager ar front desk was lovely and so accomodating, not sure of his name but would do anything for you.We were upgraded on arrival which was a great surprise. Rooms were quirky, lots of wood everywhere in hotel but i guess its staying close to nature!only problem realy was there were quite a few ants in the bathroom so wed to get bug spray!!!!Room had amazing view, staff were generally fine, location was a bit out of way, you needed to get an open backed truck which everyone travels in to the town so you may need to book or wait a few mins til they get you one but no problems. Its at the furthermost point of island so walking isnt an option. The menu had very funny ways of explaning the dishes :) basic enough menu, it could possibly be better. More fresh foods like fish, vegetables etc and less pasta/pizza/sandwiches. Great place to stay though, pool is like an infinity pool really lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ardcarney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Claire
Thanks so much for your review, we are so pleased that you were happy with the service you were provided, especially from our manager Anek. We were more than happy to upgrade you and are glad you enjoyed our unique rooms.
We would love to see you back here in the near future.
Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The resort is placed at the end of the hilly site of Sairee beach. This is the last resort found there. To walk from the pier, it takes about 1 hour plus. The pickup will be waiting at the pier once you inform them of your arrival schedule.

The staffs at the receptionist were very welcoming and accomodating to our needs. They gave us a free upgrade to the junior suite from superior room, nearer to the beach and less walking distance to the restaurant, because my wife was pregnant.

The rooms were fantastic, huge, clean, open shower and most importantly quiet and creates a zen mood. The sunset can be seen directly from the balcony, which is also facing the Nang Yuan islands.

The restaurant was reasonably priced and acceptable taste. They also have room service.

The pool - facing the sunset and the twin islands, a site to behold during sunset.

They is no need of gym as the cardio workout is done after circling the hotel up and down hill twice..;)

They have complimentary taxi service to Sairee 3 times a day.

Overall, an excellent resort. I would normally give an 8/10, but owing to the hospitality of the crew, i give a 9/10.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi There,

We at Dusit Buncha Resort just wanted to say a big thank you for your review of our complex. We are overjoyed that you were treated so well and the services provided to you here were to your satisfaction.

We would love to see you and your family here again.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

First time I stayed at this resort on January 2012, everything was perfect both of staffs and services. Worth to pay and stayed at that period. I came back again and stayed for 8 days. Same place but totally different both of service and quality. Foods taste was sucks!! Staffs at restaurant can't communicate well cuz they are from Myanmar. I am very disappointed about the safety and security of this resort. I booked Paradise Seaside Villa, this room is a private room with the large space in front of the room but there were another guests (in house and outside guests) walked pass my room. No one can handle this situation. I had to call to the reception about this issue but still happened again and again everyday. I called to Hotel Manager who tried so hard to fix the problem but not working at all!!! One day I took a nap in the afternoon when I woke up I found a stranger guy sat in front of my room and turn his face to the sea. I was shocked and called to reception right away. She said she will send someone to look after but no one shown up after 15 minutes passed till that guy walk away by himself. I will not tell anyone to stay at this resort at all and here is worst ever!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNT36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi Alisa

I'm so sorry you encountered problems on your second stay with us here a Dusit Buncha Resort, we would like you to know we have recently employed English speaking staff in order to solve any issues our guests may have. We apologies for the issues you were having with people walking past your room and access to the property is now under review.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We rented a honey moon suite and it was worth the $$$. The sunsets were unbelievable, the room itself was incorporated into a rock... A multimillion dollar architects would dream of building something similar.

The service was attentive and even sent us a hand made scarf that we forgot. All the way to Europe. For free, also including a nice picture frame.

Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, especially during a low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Denis

Thank you so much for your positive review of our resort, we were glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Dusit Buncha and we hope to see you again soon!

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is an amazing place, deep in the forest! Rooms are not rooms but indipendent houses, with full comfort optionts: bathrooms, terrace, air con, tv, frigerator,etc...
View is one of the best of Thailand, in front of the island of Nang Youang,
the pity is the noise of the boats traffic in front of it!
staff is kind and very available... breakfast is poor but is ok, restaurant is nothing special and usually few people eat there.
If you reserve there be carefull to ask rooms close to the reception, because the other rooms are very far up in the hill and it's very difficult to walk up and down on the "slope". Beach isn't a beach but some sand on a concreate platform... pool is very nice and with great view! To spend a holiday here you have to be very nature lovers, because it's in the forest and is fool of ants, squids and other animals... that sometimes visit your room, but for me was not a problem!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Buncha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Buncha Resort

Property: Dusit Buncha Resort
Address: 31/3 Moo 1, Sairee Rd, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Buncha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully laid out resort makes us the ideal choice for both couples and families. We have a wide variety of accommodation to suit all needs and budgets. Dusit Buncha Resort is the only Resort on Koh Tao that uses a solar cell system for almost all of the bungalows to save electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dusit Buncha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Buncha Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing