We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral View Resort Thailand
Ranked #48 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The beach in the pictures are true, it's a lovely sight. But, this is not a silken walking beach. rocks and coral make "strolling" unlikely. This beach like several on this island are not what you would call swimmable as the coral and rocks are numerous.

Beachside rooms are quiet basic, certainly not luxury. They are in an 8 unit building sitting sideways to the beach. Not the best setup. Hillside bungalows, which we did not look at may be better.

Ladies at front desk were friendly and helpful. Their taxi service driver definitely needs an "attitude adjustment". He displays the classic "oh more tourists attitude".

Their food was quiet good and mostly a fair price, except for breakfast.

Although we enjoyed our four night stay we probably would not return to this island or this resort. We have been to ALL of Thailand's beaches, just FYI!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Coral View Resort Thailand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 247 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Coral View is in a gorgeous setting- amazing views and a semi-private beach.

Pros
-far from the main beach, so nice and quiet at night
-beautiful bungalows
-happy hour
-snorkeling is phenomenal. I would go back to this beach for the snorkeling alone!
-very very relaxing

Cons
-far from the main beach. If you want to go, they send a taxi in twice daily.
-the bed was just so-so
-our bungalow was a huge hike up very very tall steps... not fun in the dark or the sweltering heat
-miscommunication about the dive pricing...

I would go back again if I were alone for 2-3 days, or with someone that I really like spending 24 hours a day with.

Note: the restaurant next door has terrible service but excellent food.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms near the beach. The standalone bungalows are more private, but a pain to get t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathtray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The good

You will be almost totally alone compared to other places. Minimal kids. At least when we were there.

Bar is kind of cool

There is coral that you can snorkel through with good visibility.

Nice view. Super blue water compared to Chalok Bay

Great restaraunt down the beach

The Bad
You're totally stuck there and they know it so everything is more expensive. Not cool

The first day I got in the water there was trash EVEYWHERE. The next day it was gone. Really soured the first day. Not the resorts fault but really sucked


I could go on but I would not stay here again





You are stuck.


Stayed: March 2012
Thank patrickinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights from the 19th March 2012. We did choose a basic hut (# 4) and found it extremely comfortable. The fan was adequate at night and although we spent most of the days, on early starts, diving, we felt refreshed each morning. The resort staff were very friendly and the Dive shop was a very professional 5* outfit run by Dive Masters Neil and Alan. We had 2 dives each day and were whisked off to different dive sites around the island by the fast longtail boat. We are both very glad we chose this resort, yes its secluded but thats what we wanted. No large groups of divers, just nice relaxed dives with that personal touch. We visited the overpriced Sai Ree beach area one afternoon ( its only 100 Baht each way by resort 4 Wheel Drive ) to pick up some essentials and have a Pizza. Its so overcrowded and congested
Overall the resort is clean and keenly priced and away from the hustle and bustle of Sai Ree beach. It felt like we were in Thailand, not an overcrowded Austrailian or European beach resort.
A first class experience.

Room Tip: Hut 4 is lower on the hillside with nice sea breezes
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themadscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Away from the busy scene in Haad Sai Ree, this beach has comfortable basic bungalows. No ac, no hot water. No shopping. Only sandy beach and very good shallow water protected coral reef snorkeling. The food was ok. The people running it were nice.

The dive shop had a dedicated instructor, nice equipment and a longtail dive boat. Small groups only.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaiwanJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Although you may initially feel like you have discovered an exclusive paradise, you will soon realize that you are a captive on an overpriced slice of beach. We paid a deposit on a week's stay here, but within an hour of arriving became aware that not only is it difficult and expensive to travel into town, but you are beholden to the one restaurant that charges about 50% more than all of the other places in town. Despite the fact that we reserved two oceanfront "villas", the staff gave us one oceanfront room and one out of the way second story box. The advertised amenities including satellite TV with video are nowhere to be found; the bathroom has raw electrical cords coming out of the wall above the shower heads; no hot water (not that you would want any as the rooms are unbearably hot); The linens on the beds were soiled and I question whether they were in fact clean. The massages were priced at nearly double what they are anywhere else in Thailand. The rooms were also terribly overpriced compared with other available accommodation in Sairee Beach or Mae Haad where you have numerous options for dining and nightlife. Then you are hit with an unadvertised 4% surcharge to use your credit card.

Upon arrival, we notified the reception that we did not want a refund, but that we would be unable to spend a week there. We asked if we could stay for 2 nights and apply our overpriced food to the previously paid deposit. We were lead to believe this was an acceptable option until it came time to check out and the "madame" refused to accept the overpayment of the deposit toward the food bill. Since we were prisoners on her land, we had no other option than to pay the additional fee, thus losing over half of our deposit. Interestingly, they do not publish any cancellation policy on their website, but just wait to make things up as they go along. The final straw came when we requested a taxi to leave and she quoted us a price that the taxi driver then refused as he said it was too little to drive us all the way into town.

The view is amazing and was the saving grace for the 2 nights we felt forced to stay, however, the beach is comprised of very sharp coral shards that hurt your feet to walk on. In addition, the beach chairs were never swept off or tended to and debris remained piled up along the one or two beachside tables for the duration of our stay. More troubling was the fact that we were traveling with three children and when I informed the hotel staff of a broken bottle protruding from the sand they did not lift a finger to clean it up and I had to get a bucket to remove the very sharp glass from the beach.

All in all this was the worst travel experience we have had in three months of travel.

Room Tip: Beachside Family Villa is the best bet if you cannot find any other place to stay on the island of K...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed at Coral View for 6 nights in January . The best valued accommodation is the bungalows on stilts , however its a shame that there is no balcony and that cleaning is only done every 2nd day due to `staff shortages `. Should you be able to afford it the bungalows on the other side of the resort do have balconys.
The gardens of the resort are lush and looked after well however there is a distinct difference in care around the beach. Very tired lounge chairs lay every morning where they were left with no attempts to clean or tidy. Broken chairs lay where they broke and even though the resort was informed nothing was done.
The bay is beautiful to look at but the beach is very sharp coral which should only be walked on with shoes , the same goes for swimming.In our opinion the beach is not very sutable for children.
Another let down is the numbers of visitors to the resort on a daily basis , this could present a security problem and a shortage of lounge chairs.You can be reading a book quietly when 3 or 4 motorcycles turn up with the obvious noise , then the visitors will come , stand right in front of you creating more noise.
The resturant and beach bar are adequate with a typical Thai menu.
The dive guy on site is really nice and although we didn`t dive we had reports that he was good...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspirebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#11 of 77 in Koh Tao
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Shark Pool Villas
Cape Shark Pool Villas
#19 of 142 in Koh Tao
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 49 in Koh Tao
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taatoh Seaview Resort
Taatoh Seaview Resort
#25 of 77 in Koh Tao
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Resort Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Resort Thailand

Address: Haad Sai Daeng, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $33 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral View Resort Thailand 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Coral View Resort Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Resort Thailand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing