We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dog pile”
Review of Save Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Bungalows
Ranked #110 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is a dog pile”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had no choice but to use this room because it was part of a dive package I booked from Koh Samui. My one request that I have air con and I got that and it worked fine. Otherwise, this place was awful. The owners are fascinated by rules - check-out on time, key deposit, no hair dryer, no this, no that - but they don't follow their own. The shop and the restaurant were very late opening every morning I was there, which is very difficult for people heading out on early dive trips. My bungalow was structurally fine but it was dirty and smelt. It's possible to have basic accommodation and still be clean and comfortable. To date, the most expensive cup of tea I've ever had in my whole life was served here (80 baht)! Also, I realize that Ko Tao generally isn't as welcoming and friendly as Samui and Phan Ngan because it's a transient place full of divers and dive operators but the people overall seemed very unfriendly and even rude at times. None more than the owners and staff of "Save". Speaking of which, "Save" yourself the hassle and avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    43
    34
    21
    22
See reviews for
5
49
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

the owner mr. j. was correct, friendly, helpfull, funny and entertaining, but though barging with him.

the room (#1) was all in all ok, it was safe, clean, close to down town mae haad. it served for staying a few nights.
i could hear every step of other guests walk by my bugalow, water was always available and hot. wifi was most of the time crap.
if u cant find anything cheaper and free; take it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cheap accommodation was hard to come by, by the time I got round to booking our three nights on Ko Tao. Knowing that our time spent on the island would be mostly outside, enjoying Thai paradise, we weren't too fussed about where we stayed and Save Bungalows proved to be the perfect choice for us.

Mr J greeted us in the friendly, happy, joking manner that he is renowned for on the island and made us feel very welcome. Our room was a very basic motel-type room which consisted of a bed, TV and basic bathroom with a Thai-style toilet and only cold water for the shower. For us this was absolutely FINE but I am pointing this stuff out for those travelers who require more from their accommodation. We had a room with a/c but found that the fan was all we needed really.

Mr J hired us a scooter, and was helpful and cheerful whenever we went to him for help with something. We chatted with him three or more times a day, shared jokes with him and he was a real laugh! Whilst out on a snorkelling trip we overheard our guide talking about Mr J and it turns out he is something of a colourful local character - which didn't surprise us at all.

There is a small restaurant at Save Bungalows which looked nice, we didn't end up eating there but plenty of others were. We did make use of the laundry service though which was cheap as chips - and awesome. There is a big general store attached to Save Bungalows, where Mr J works. Here you can get everything from water and snacks, to ferry tickets and scooters and......fireworks?!

All in all Save Bungalows contributed to what was an absolute dream stay on the magical island of Ko Tao. Sure it was basic, but it was clean, safe, secure and entertaining. We didn't go to Thailand to sit poolside at a resort or enjoy the luxuries of an expensive room, so Save Bungalows did the trick for us and we would definitely go back there. Especially to see Mr J!!

Room Tip: I would go for a bungalow next time as they looked really pretty with nice views, but the motel-styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Poor accomodation.
Poor treatment.
Cold water. No storage. Beds like concrete.
No refund as had to leave early due to the conditions of the accommodation.
No lighting to accommodation - fell over.
It's probably better to stay at home or sleep on the beach!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolajay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were looking for affordable accommodation that was located near to the pier, Save Bungalows definitely ticks those boxes, but I can't say I will ever go back. The rooms were small, basic and the beds were not very comfortable. The staff were not too bad, I don't have any complaints about the service. We used the laundry once, it was affordable and done in time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feedmymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were a little worried about not being able to find accommodation when we got off the ferry at koh Tao and so decided to book for 3 nights at save bungalows, having read reviews and been quoted 500 Baht a night when we called up to book a few nights before. We were told the room was booked for us, however when we arrived we were informed that that room had already been rented out and we had to pay extra for a room with a tv, which we didn't want at all. The room was tiny, full of bugs and the toilet didn't flush. On top of this, save bungalows is located miles away from all the good restaurants and bars in koh Tao, with very little to do in that area. We refused to stay more than one night and moved to much better and cheaper accommodation (with a swimming pool!) the next day. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atalanta223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat Thani, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The bungalows were clean and in a beautiful location but the staff are enough to deter any future visits. Staff claimed that myself & other guests had intentionally broken a glass window slat, which we obviously did not. Even when staff verbally recognized that it was unlikely we were at fault for the damage, they still demanded we pay for it. There was a 500 baht key deposit that they would not give back and when we insisted that it be returned, they pulled their phone out to call the police. Thai police are best avoided; we relinquished the 500 baht and left.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#42 of 139 in Koh Tao
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nadapa Resort Koh Tao
Nadapa Resort Koh Tao
#14 of 77 in Koh Tao
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral View Maehaad Serviced Apartment
0.0 mi away
Moov Inn Garden Hostel
Moov Inn Garden Hostel
#67 of 139 in Koh Tao
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan Suan Ta Hotel
Baan Suan Ta Hotel
#23 of 77 in Koh Tao
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Save Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Save Bungalows

Property: Save Bungalows
Address: 25/2 Moo 2, Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Save Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Save Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Save Bungalows Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing