We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - bad staff!!”
Review of Silver Sands Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice room - bad staff!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Good points:

Stayed in the separate block opposite davyjones pool. Rooms were nice and clean. Tv & fridge (aircon but we didnt pay to have it on - extra 700b a night!). Location is pretty good, v central! Hotel wifi doesn't work in that part of hotel but we borrowed the bar opposites!!

Bad points: The reception girl is really rude and doesnt really bother to pay you any attention or worry about responding to any questions. She doesnt seem to like people.
The music from the bar opposite is sometimes so loud you can't even hear the tv or get to sleep - doesn't go on late but we were not partying a lot so bit annoying.
Not a lot of privacy on GF rooms, have to keep curtains shut at all times.

In general we had a good stay and would stay again. Just seems a shame to have unfriendly people working front of house. Im sure it puts a lot of people off.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    39
    11
    28
See reviews for
13
68
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Nice new clean apartments (not beach bungalows that we stayed in, they are more expensive) with use of the pool, discounts for Davy Jones locker diving. Maid service excellent, very comfortable, great location and very reasonable.Building works going on next door very noisy, but can't be helped.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k993257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The location is brilliant, right in the middle of the beach and on the other side of the property, right in the middle of all the shops and bars. We stayed in a fan bungalow, which was cleaned everyday. The bathroom was a little bit small and you ended up showering over the toilet really but it wasn't bad for Thailand standards.
The verandah was lovely to sit out on in the hammock during the evenings but there were a lot of mossies because of the tropical garden surroundings.
We could hear the beach bar from our bungalow which was about half way down the garden towards the beach. It didn't go on too late and it was never loud bass or club music, but it was loud enough for me to put in ear plugs if we had an early start the next day.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow at the back if you will be bothered by the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank b00k_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me and my friend stayed here for 5 nights whilst travelling around Thailand for a month. We loved Koh Tao itself- very chilled, beautiful and good bars at night. Before coming to Koh Tao I heard many hotels/ beach huts have bed bugs so be careful where you stay! So be warned!!!!! However there were no bed bugs at silver sands.
The room was clean but quite small. We stayed in the concrete building at the back (opposite the swimming pool). When we booked in the staff didnt tell us that the pool (we had seen on the leaflet) wasnt working -it was actually green and filfthy. We had a fan in the room but it was boiling!!!!!! So hot we struggled to sleep.
There was building going on outside our room so we went to reception to complain about the noise (to see if they could give us discount) and the staff were extremely rude. Firstly she gave us a blank expression, then pretended she couldnt understand what we were sayin, then started to give us attitude- saying we could leave if we werent happy. Although we had already payed for the first few nights!!!! At one point she even said 'get out'. We stayed on there as we couldnt be bothered to pack up our stuff and find somewhere else to stay.
Cleaners were pretty lazy - sat around a lot and took ages just to clean one room!
The only plus point was that they cleaned the pool on about our 3rd day- however they did not drain it, they just put a lot of chemicals in it....it smelt very strongly of chemicals and after being in in for a few minutes we went extremely wrinkly- bit worrying!
Hotel overall was okay- staff very rude. We stayed in MUCH nicer, CHEAPER, hotels in Thailand over the month!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrewBear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I looked up and down to find a good hotel room. Thank goodness I found this place (the hotel, not the bungalows). So many others were poorly built and over priced. It rained while I was there so having to spend extra time indoors here wasn’t bad at all. The great choice of paint color, furnishings and big windows made me step back and be wowed at how simple things can completely transform a concrete room. Right outside the hotel are restaurants, dive schools, shops and people walking by. At the same time the entrance of the hotel keeps all the noise outside. It is also located in a well lit area which much of Koh Tao isn’t.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LittleBearsBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Silver sands is located right opposite DJL dive school and next door to heaven! An hours massage for £6, very professional. I have never felt quite so relaxed!

We stayed in the beach bungalows for nearly a week whilst diving, it is only 50m from the sea and a lovely little restaurant/bar called fizz. The bungalows are quite basic, cold shower and we had to put up the mozzy net so we didn't get eaten alive. But in the day sitting in the hammock on the veranda makes it all worth while!

The staff in the lobby are very friendly and helpful, free internet and you can use the pool at DJL. Though it is often busy with diver, but we were diving so that was ok. Our door broke during our stay and a replacement was fitted within half an hour. They really couldn't be more helpful.

Koh Tao is beautiful, we went just outside peak season, which was nice but I imagine it would be pretty busy during the height of summer. It is nice because every morning there are people ensuring the beach is clean and in the evenings people are playing music, doing fire poi etc. Check out choppers bar for live music, the Aussie Guy was particularly good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lise83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights, we only booked in for 4 as we had free accommodation with a scuba dive course but the free rooms were so basic we asked for a early check-in which they sorted on the spot.

We had booked a bungalow, but as we were early they only had a room in the apartment complex and we were to change half-way through. The apartment room was fantastic, very modern with large shower area, great air con, room safe, full size fridge and a flat-screen tv (we didn't switch on the tv thou). Importantly, being 25m back from the beach, the room was nice and quiet. As the rooms were so nice we asked to stay for the full term in the room - the bungalows are not to the same standard as the apartment! (dated and basic in comparison)

Only downside is the pool is only really suitable for the scuba dive training. However with the beach 20 meters away this was not a issue.

Room Tip: Go for the apartments, not the bungalows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#29 of 49 in Koh Tao
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach

Property: Silver Sands Beach
Address: 14/102 Moo 2, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Sands Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Silver Sands Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing