We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The view was amazing and it was so peaceful. Yes the rooms are a bit dated but it is such a nice place you don't really notice.It is up a very steep hill (hence the view) but a shuttle service is available whenever you need it either up or down. The pool is lovely and you can also use the pool in the sister hotel by the beach. The hotel is also very good value for money. We will be back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertino2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 188 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

First, we were picked up from the dock and we hadn´t even booked it! By chance we saw one of our names on the board when we arrived. Second, the hotel is situated on top on a hill with a very very nice view! They have an infinity pool that is a bit small, but clean and the view makes it up for it. I have read about some of the previous about the interior being dated, and I can confirm this. Even though dated, the rooms are clean and the AC works perfectly fine. Everything in Thailand is built, but not maintained over time, we saw this everywhere. Staff were nice, but still expect a language barrier if you talk to someone outside the reception. Food is a little bit overpriced, but good, especially the chicken soup with coconut!

I forgot my glasses when we left for Koh Samui, and they were so friendly to ship them the next day for free to Buddah Pier after I sent them an e-mail explaining my situation!

Tips:
- Don´t try to go to the beach right down from the infinity pool, because it is not a proper beach.
- Try the beach at the opposite side situated right down from the restaurant, rent a scooter or rent a taxi to Haadtien Beach Resort, there you will find the beach The beach is not crowded, clean and there is a restaurant and a bar in the proximity of the beach!

Great value for the money in my opinion! We had a really nice stay and regretted the decision of only staying there for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the pool and the scenery, amazing!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went there for a New Year 2013/2014 and the whole stay there was one big disappointment.

My family and my friends got similar most expensive rooms in a Paradise Zone (almost $500 for 2 nights from 31.12 to 02.01), those with jacuzzi on the open terrace.

Both rooms were very old, a lot of dust everywhere. Both jacuzzi were very dirty, seems nobody cleaned them for ages as well as bathroom appliances. Another story is a hot water. It runs only if the aircon is working. In december 2013 it was very cold on the island (about 20C degrees in the evening) and we had to run aircons in the rooms in order to get any hot water. Anyway, you always had to choose who is going to have hot shower as another person had to wait for 30 mins to have hot water again. Room service is terrible, nobody took garbage from the room during 2 days. Pillows in beds were "soft" as a piece of concrete. When you are planning to live in the most Luxury Room in any hotel you always expect that it should be something special. But this is not a case. The night before we've been staying in a cheap bungalow in Chumphon and it was more comfortable over there than those Deluxe Rooms.

Another thing is restaurant. I have not been eating such a crap food for a long time in my life. I live in Thailand and I like both Thai and Western food but this restaurant is useless in both. And especially breakfasts, when you get cheapest yogurt from 7/11 with 2 pieces of bread, few pieces of fruits and some yellow color water that they call juice and it costs 150 Baht..There are only 2 sets of breakfast available in the morning and you can not order something else. Good for us next day after arrival we found a good restaurant with a walking distance from this hotel.

There was no beach at New Year time as a sea level was always high and you can step on the beach only after sunset.

New Year celebration party that we have been forced to pay for was one of the most boring ceremony that I have ever seen in Thailand. The same crap food, slow service, stupid performance on the stage. We had to pay 2000 Baht per person for it. Real cost of the food was maximum 200-250 Baht + you get 1 glass of cheap wine.

I can continue describing this hotel and tell you about non working pool table, lost cloth in a laundry, about 40 mins check-in and so on but just believe me - avoid this place, don't waste your time on it. The only thing you can like there is a view on the sea from the Paradise Zone. That's it.

I read a lot of good reviews about this pace on Tripadvisor and Agoda and that's why I made a decision to book a room there on a New Year Eve but it was a big mistake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoloDen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

So glad we stayed here for the view alone... The Honeymoon Paradise room faces south and you can see both sunrise and sunset from the balcony. Rooms are clean but dated... Otherwise the luxury stops here.

The staff are nice generally, but not that great. There seems to be a family on site, which is a bit off putting sometimes when you are expecting a luxury resort. One day they were changing the babies nappy on a restaurant table! The food seemed average and overpriced... The American breakfast was one of the worst we`ve had.

We had a jacuzzi bath in our room (with amazing views) but there wasn`t even enough hot water to fill the whole thing. When we asked for assistance with this, they told us to turn on the AC for 15 minutes and it would be ok (!?!). We waited anyway... but there was no change and no hot water. We also were kept awake one night by what turned out by what turned out to be a mouse in our room. It defacated all over our room and bathroom including on our clothes. When we told the hotel they just cleaned up the remains without any remorse and snuck a mousetrap into the room later...

Glad we stayed here for the views, pool and location... It doesn`t get much better. But don`t expect any more. I think one of the reviewers said it well, it was surely once an amazing place but there is no money spent on keeping it that way or its upkeep.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tomuknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel is very clean, staff are very friendly and helpfull. Lovely pool area but small, fantastic views. Rooms spotlessly clean and made up daily. Food was very nice and Good value for money. Would recommend and certainly would come again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cancharic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Comparing to other 3 star hotels this is the worst one! We took an upgrade from superieur to a deluxe room and it was a little bit better. Rooms are old, dusty, dirty.
Pool and the beach are great!
Staff is helpfull. Breakfast very poor but we found out that in Thailand this is quit good. I think we are spoild so no big deal. I would not recommand this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank joanlamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

As we had to stay one more night at Koh Tao (due to bad weather) we decided to stay here. We stayed in this resort in 2010 as well and at that time this resort wasn't bad at all. Unfortunately maintenance seem not to exist in Thailand... It started when we arrived at the entrance.
The garden is like a jungle and the fish in the small pond is floating (=dead)
When we entered the room the smell of mold is obvious.
The room itself is ok by the way: at least is looks clean.
The swimming pool looks ok, but the surrounding area is empty which makes it look like a desolate area; not like a resort. The view from the pool onto the island is more than excellent.
The taxi service is very good.
The personnel is not bad, but don't expect the "extra mile" from them.

In general: it's called a resort, but money is not invested to keep it as beautiful as it was in the beginning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joost69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#35 of 49 in Koh Tao
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 49 in Koh Tao
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone

Address: 19/1 Moo 3 Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $48 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Zone Hotel Koh Tao
Paradise Zone Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing