We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and clean, but staff aren't great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in the Honeymoon suit (it was the only room available as we booked only a couple of weeks in advance of our trip) It was fabulous! I really couldn't fault our accommodation - we had two balconies and one had a jacuzzi bath, the views were amazing and I'm so pleased we stayed up in the Paradise Zone as opposed to at the bottom in the Koh Tao Resort itself simply for the views. There were regular free taxis (some drivers were maniacs!) up and down the hill we just asked at reception and we only had to wait more than 10 mins on a couple of occasions, usually they were ready and waiting to go, even if some drivers were reluctant to do any work! The staff were so laid back they were virtually horizontal and weren't the politest, but we mainly ate out and only went back up in the last taxi at 10pm. One night, however, we went up and there were no staff about whatsoever and the bars lights were out when it was supposed to be open till 1am! That's not good when you're on holiday but hey ho, we just had an early night. The food was more expensive here too, but for me personally I didn't care as the place was so beautiful and lovely and clean. We had the use of two infinite pools, one in the paradise Zone with amazing views and one near the beach in the resort, plus there was a small one at the resorts bar (I didn't like it in there, it reminded me of Butlins!) Koh Tao is an amazing, beautiful laid back island and i can't recommend it enough! The Paradise Zone in the Koh Tao Resort is a great place to stay - if you don't mind poor staff.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was fab for the small amount of extra cost above the other rooms - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Times987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The room that we had was old and not really nice. The room is not insulated well, so we were aways woken up by our neighbor room and the cleaning ladies. Otherwise, the beach and the pools are excellent!! Lastly, a big complement to the diving school and instructor team !! You guys are great!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_TU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Were influenced by recent poor reviews when we arrived not helped by very grumpy Transvestite who seemed to suggest we had to put 3 kids in one double.However this all proved to be a misunderstanding and the hotel is 'posh' and has breathtaking views.Staff not as friendly as other family resorts but why should they be (low pay and no stake in the place).We initially thought wed like to transfer to the lower beach resort but glad we didn't as the fresh breeze and lack of mosquitoes were a blessing up to in this aptly named "Paradise Zone". Food is excellent but well over priced.Use the village (a 5 min walk fro the lower resort) especially the Ying Yang which is full every night and needs to be booked if there are more than 2 of you.Also 2 'french style' cafes offer tasty baguettes and excellent 'Full English' breakfasts for less than £3.00.The bay offers nice walks and you can find off the track restaurants.The Heavans Sent is worth a visit for the view of Sharks Bay (though it is prime suspect for our only bout of Deli Beli).A must is the round the bay snorkeling trip regarded by most of us asthe highlight of the entire 3 weeks. Dont book at the hotel as they charge the same but dont include lunch which proved expensive.Book in the village instead.

Room Tip: Stay up top in the Paradise Zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LargeFamilyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked the "Paradise Zone" as a final call on our backpacking trip, as a the final 'treat' however I would have much rather stayed at a youth hostel. Firstly we booked a superior room with a balcony however our room was half the size shown in the pictures, and had no balcony. When we went downstairs to ask for a different room,they gave us another unsatisfactory room - this time with a balcony with the view of a rubbish. It took us over 40 minutes to get a room that was close to what was shown in the picture. The staff's english was terrible and rather than just give us the room we paid for they tried to tell us to speak to Agoda (the company we booked through) to get a refund ? ? ?
The next day was no better, the staff at the restaurant were miserable, and when we ordered a burger with chips we got 7 chips. When we asked for more they told us to pay. When we asked for ketchup they huffed. Service was miserable.
We spent the day by the beach, which was lovely, as long as you have no interaction with the staff you are fine. In the evening I went for a shower however the minute I turned the water on all I could smell was sewage. When I went downstairs to question this with the reception, instead of getting an apology they laughed. We 'spoke' to about 5 employees who all laughed. I'm not sure what was so funny. When I asked them about the shower situation they told us that it was a problem with the whole island, when we re-asked this when we checked out later that evening they said it was a problem with our room.
When we tried to get any further information about this experience the staff pretended not to speak english and wouldn't provide us with their names.

So in sum, a basic hotel, in wonderful settings, with the worst, most unfriendly/border line hostile staff I have ever met.

Big mistake.

Room Tip: Don't go, there are plenty of other nice hotels on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just stayed at this lovely hotel. We couldn't get a room on the beach as we needed a family room, so we stayed at the paradise zone which is set in the hill overlooking freedom beach and sharks bay. No need to worry about getting up the hill to the hotel, as they run a free shuttle bus between the two hotels which is great. You can use the facilities of both hotels too. The Koh Tao freedom beach resort has a lovely pool right on the beach. You can hire snokelling equipment from the little shop in reception. Very cheap too. There's a lovely restaurant for lunch. After you can enjoy a beer and food as the sun sets back up on the hillside resort. Spoilt for choice. Our family room was infact 2 bedrooms with the kids having 2 single beds plus their own tv,
and the bathroom was just off the entrance hall so nobody got disturbed at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean with fresh towels for bathroom and beach everyday. Would really reccomend this hotel if you want a little bit extra. For us as a NON diving family it was perfect.would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked us up for a 7 night stay after a recommendation from a fellow traveller. It turned out to be a mistake and we decided to just stay for 3. The reason for this was primary the overprice for what you get in terms of service and overall "feel".

When we booked we got promised a taxi pick up from 7-eleven just down the street, a 5 minute drive. We sat there and waited for just about 30 minutes before we started the walk instead. This was not very pleasant considering we had our 7 months baby with us in the gazing mid-day sun. As well as a lot of bagage as we are backpacking in Thailand for 3 months.

We merely got a "sorry" by the receptionist when we came complaining about it, and got the excuse that the driver was new and that she had told him to take the drive 3 times over the walkie-talkie. Worst excuse ever?

The interiors and linnens etc feel worn-out and should be changed, especially as they are making a good effort trying to be a exclusive resort. Our outdoor bathtub broke in a way so we couldn't turn it of upon our first use of it. It somewhat feels the establishment is slowly falling apart because of bad maintainance/management. This place is not worth the money, spend it somewhere else.

Room Tip: Sea view is the only reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Deluxe Paradise room with "jacuzzi" in the room in March 2013. The taxi from the hotel waited for us at the pier and took us to the hotel (20mins journey). So far so good. The receptionist with a poor English was highly unfriendly and check in process was sort of nightmare. We didn't get vouchers for the breakfast right away but after 2 mins conversation and finding the voucher from the otel with confirmed breakfast. The room was slightly smelly and aircondition just above our heads was too noisy. The jacuzzi was full of ants and due to poor water pressure we couldn;t get any hot water to the jacuzzi so we didn't use it. However the view from the windows was breathtaking as well as views from reallyinfinity swimming pool. Also the staff in the restaurant were highly unfriendly and didn't care at all. Ignorance, poor English, we got a differend food than was ordered etc. Food quality fair. Breakfasts were the worst from all the breakfasts I've ever had. A la carte - american (eggs,ham or bacon, 2 toasts, butter,jam,orange juice, tea or coffee), continental (youghurt,tea or coffee, 2 toasts, jam, butter, eggs) or Thai. It takes 20 mins to get this really poor breakfast. The pool area wasn't too busy. It's not a big deal to get to the Beach Zone of the same resort - 5 mins walking but do not try to climb up to Paradise Zone from Beach Zone and use complimentary transfer that goes every 30 mins. It must have been a nice resort few year ago but not anymore. Some furniture needs refurbishment. I don't recommend to stay in this hotel but definitely recommend to visit the restarant vith amazing views and take a swim in infinity pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.8 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#32 of 50 in Koh Tao
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#13 of 50 in Koh Tao
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone

Address: 19/1 Moo 3 Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $48 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Zone Hotel Koh Tao
Paradise Zone Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing