We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but steep climb!!”
Review of Chintakiri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chintakiri Resort
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights with friends. Lovely resort with amazing views out over the bay. Breakfast came included and had a good selection. Local beach is 5minute walk away but the hotel is at the top of a very steep hill, which is challenging, even for the local taxis! Staff were very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 445 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were originally trying to find a mid-range priced hotel on Sairee Beach. Turned out, most of the options were booked...so we were just trying to find something decent.

Chintakiri ends up being about $105 dollars a night (similar to a boring Holiday Inn in the US), so this is a bit more expensive than some options. Seems that you can pay any range of prices on Ko Tao, depending on what you are looking for...just don't wait until the last minute to book!

Chintakiri is on Chalok Beach, which is a quieter beach. You can reasonably walk to Mae Hat (busier area/where you arrive at the pier). We had grandiose ideas about exploring the island and rock climbing, etc. but in the end, the weather was too hot and we spent most of the days around the Chalok Beach area. And it was wonderful. Luckily the hotel does free pick-up and drop-off from the pier.

Side note: Taxi prices on Ko Tao are ridiculous (flat prices). About 300 baht to Mae Hat and 500 baht to Sairee beach. So if you really care about staying on a particular beach, you should try and stay in that area. Renting motorbikes is cheap, but incredibly dangerous (do NOT do it if it is your first time). And please, don't be a jerk about it. We had numerous crazy-driving white people trying to kill us on their motorbikes.

Back to the hotel: The hotel has a small, clean pool overlooking the beach and bay. There are beach chairs with large umbrellas. You can easily walk to Chalok Beach, which was not very busy. The beach/ocean is clean here, but the water is slightly murky so this isn't a good place to snorkel.

This area has plenty to explore. If you are worried about amenities, don't worry. 7-11 and other local shops are within walking distance, as are two clinics, a pharmacy, souvenir shops, and many Thai massage shops.

Chintakiri also set us up with a snorkel day trip for about 850 baht (standard fare). Spent the whole day on a boat, and the last stop was for 2 hours on Ko Nanyguan (nearby island). Amazing trip, although I highly suggest anti-nausea medication if you have any doubts! I never get seasick, but I felt pretty awful after the rough waters around Shark Bay.

The staff at Chintakiri is extremely helpful. Most of the women and men working there are from Malaysia and Burma. So, this isn't the right place to practice your Thai (as I learned after several blank stares).

Breakfast is included, and you can order anything on the breakfast menu (not just the continental breakfast option). Service is reasonably quick.

Lunch and dinner options are more expensive than most. We opted to dine at several other restaurants in the Chalok area (including New Heaven Restaurant) to the left and up a hill from Chintakiri.

Okay. And about the hill. Yes. Chintakiri has a big hill that you have to climb up. If you are physically disabled or have issues with angina, this hill may be impossible for you. If you are reasonably able-bodied, GET OVER IT and climb up. Also makes for GORGEOUS views of Chalok Bay.

All in all, excellent hotel and excellent area on Ko Tao.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sarah-Ryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our room at Chintakiri was really nice, new and clean.
We ate quite a few times at the restaurant. The food is good. Breakfast is a la carte (eggs any style, pancakes etc).
If you walk down the hill, there are more restaurants. And shops. And the beach. We found ourselves a spot under a tree.
One day we walked to the right to View Point resort from where you have the best view of the Buddha rock. View Point's restaurant is good and relatively expensive. The next day we walked over the hill to the left.
Other people mentioned the steep hill. It is steep, but we (51 and 62 years old) could easily do it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks and a bit in Thailand and were very fortunate to have spent four nights at the Chintakiri Resort. From the outset there was nothing that was too much trouble and despite Agoda having messed up our booking (would never use the again) the friendly receptionist got straight onto them by phone and sorted everything out for us. We had a very short wait by the very nice (small) pool with fantastic views while the staff readied our very comfortable room for us. Breakfast was included in our rate and there was a very good choice of food options.

Our room was a bungalow style which was split level with the bedroom being downstairs and the bathroom dressing area on the upper level. The room was very clean and comfortable and the aircon worked very well. The hotel is situated at the top of a very steep hill which does give you amazing views over the bay but if you are physically challenged the walk back up in the evening would be a bit tough. We hired a scooter for one day and were a little put off about this because of the scams that we read about and having to leave your passport as collateral but we found a Brit that hires nearby who charges a £1 more per day but we totally trusted him and all was ok. Can't remember the name but it is out of the hotel down the hill turn right and a good 500 yards on the right is a restaurant called Ying Yang (also good btw) and he is directly to the right of this restaurant.

Finally just to give you an idea of how nice this place is and how nice the people are, we vacated our room on the final day and jumped into the transport provided by the hotel to the ferry. We queued at the terminal and checked in for the crossing to Samui. Then my wife saw one of the staff from the hotel walking the queue looking for someone which we thought was odd. Then the ferry started boarding and just as we were getting on they found us and panically told us that my wife had left her (brand new) smartphone in the room. They sent for someone to bring the phone to the ferry by motorbike and we made the ferry and my wife was reunited with her phone - amazing service!!

Thank you Chintakiri we had an amazing time and loved Koh Tao to bits. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would love to return again one day!!

Room Tip: They all looked nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The nice things about Chintakiri: the view of the ocean. A balcony with every room. Good bed. Rates so reasonable, you can get a room alone. Great breakfast. Not so nice: the steepest hill on earth, followed by steep stairs to get to the hotel, followed by stairs to get to your room. Doing this a few times a day in the hottest month of the year takes its toll. Also, it really is NOT a resort, but the layout is quite adorable and has a villa-like feeling. The rooms themselves are quite low tech, esp. the shower. Unfortunately, the bathroom is upstairs from the bedroom, and the stairway is curved, making for a weird situation in the dark/sleepy hours. The room key is designed to insert into a power box that turns off when you remove the key, so you can't leave on AC, lights, etc. all day while you're gone. I get that, but the cool down time is quite slow when you return! The staff were friendly enough, but they were kind of laissez-faire about a few things. Our overall opinion on the place is "good for the price", but I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because of the villa-like feel, all have a nice balcony. Ours had an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a good experience there overall. Hill was steeper than i thought it would be. Very hot and needed a shower after walking up the hill returning home each time (reasonably fit person). It would be good to have the option not to have room cleaned. Was very hot returning to room up the top half of the room. Had to either have a shower or sit under air conditioner when i got back to the room each time. Staff were friendly, food was great. They did get our order wrong a couple of times.

Good views, nice pool. Overall a good experience. I would consider staying closer to town next time but no regrets! Hotels in town are a lot more expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed in my life, anywhere in the world. the views are just incredible, the rooms are great examples of simple luxury, the food was extraordinary and the staff were, well, when you add the level of service you get here to all these other things - in my mind, you get one of the best luxury vacation bargains in the world. Not the kind of luxury that costs thousands per day - but the kind that costs like, 100 per day for two people but feels like it should cost 10 times more. It is small and intimate. We were there for 6 days over New Years and met some amazing people from all over the world. Gan, the manager will help you with anything you need and the owner Oi is also great to talk with. They will come and pick you up the ferry - no problem! And as in other reviews - yes, this place is up a very steep hill - that is totally true - but we're out of shape and we still managed to do it. But the rooms and the resort is all on stairs and little pathways - if you are in any way mobility impaired, this might not be the place for you - although I'm sure the staff would carry you around in you wanted! The location is amazing - there is a small beach at the bottom of the hill across the road and it's a short walk into the village for massages, more food, bars, taxis, etc. But the food here is so good - and so reasonably prices we mostly ate here. Pepper Beef! Wow! The prices also include whatever you want for breakfast - Thai or British style - it was all really fabulous. The pool is small but that just adds to the intimacy of the place and having a drink overlooking the infinity pool and the view is really a rare experience. I still can't say what a bargain this place is - we were there is high high high season and the most expensive night for us was about 100 Canadian - pricey for Thailand but holy cow - that same place would cost at least 7 or 800 per night in the Caribbean. And I cannot say enough glowing things about the staff - and they can make a proper vodka martini - that was the icing on the cake for me. Ko Tao is hard to get to - and it's hard to get around sometimes - I do not recommend a scooter - the roads are treacherous and too steep in some places. Rent a quad bike if you want to get around - every road you go down - you end up in a new paradise - it is all worth it. One of my favourite places in the world - I cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view - but it will have more stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micktodd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,549 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chintakiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chintakiri Resort

Address: 19/59-77 Moo 3, Chalok baan kao, Koh Tao, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $61 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chintakiri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chintakiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chintakiri Hotel Koh Tao
Chintakiri Hotel Surat Thani
Chintakiri Resort Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing