We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great beach”
Review of Chintakiri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chintakiri Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

When you're a fit person, visit this resort! It's located on a hill, and that's why all the little houses have a fantastic view over the bay. Paradise! The restaurant can be a little quiet, but the food is okay and the staff is friendly. The beach near the resort was lovely when we went there (in july): not a lot of people and warm, undeep water. But if you like things to be even more quiet, just walk around the corner to Freedom Beach. Oh, and before I forget: the bed of this resort was great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseertink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Chintakiri Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 442 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lucky to have recently tayed here for 3 nights. Fantastic hotel and my favourite out of the 5 i stayed at in thailand! Great service, cant fault it and nothing was a problem for the staff. Drop them an email before you arrive and they will have you picked up from the harbour, we stupidly paid for a taxi. Food is excellent at hotel and very well priced! about £10-£15 for 2 people having starter, mains and a 2-3 drinks each. You can get a bit cheaper obviousloy but it is just very convenient and we tried breakfast, lunch and evening meal here and all to a very high standard.

Only negative is the hill to the hotel is VERY steep, even our moped (hired for £4 a day from hotel) couldnt get to the top!! But it is worth it when you get there (about 70 yards up). View from the pool is amazing, all rooms are individual bungalows with fantastic sea views. Cant fault breakfast and dining area as it over looks a stunning bay! The view is actually onn loads of postcards around koh tao it was that good!! Breakfast is a menu rather than a buffet which was ideal. We used to order a few few things from the menu and it was never a problem. Late check out ....not a problem. Place is run very well and they will go out of the way to help you. Even when by the pool if you got up to order a drink the staff would come over take your order and they would bring it over to you.

Will definately be coming back!

Room Tip: Email hotel before and they will pick you up from harbour for free! Hire a moped from hotel...£4 a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights. The views from the room and pool are stunning, as mentioned by many reviewers. Yes, the two-part slope is indeed steep, so do rent a bike or you might be too lazy to venture out again once you return. The resort is still fairly accessible, with convenience stores etc along the road below. The tom yum soup and green curry at the restaurant were nice, but you might want to give the sweet and sour fish a miss.
In all, a lovely place for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yulesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little away from the busy side of Koh Tao, but with hired motorbikes, it doesn't matter. Staff were so friendly. Worth trying to barter the room down - or use agoda (was cheaper than what they quoted). I highly recommend this place. You'll also get fit walking up the hill ;-).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Four wheel drive low range was the standard response when we got into a taxi to go to Chintakiri Resort and for good reason too. The resort is perched on a steep hill but the view was magnificent.

Check in was a breeze and bags were carried to our room. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with some friends, which had ocean views from the balcony and master bedroom.
The rooms were spacious and each had an ensuite and cable tv.

The restaurant was well priced and the food was fresh and delicious. The waitresses were delightful and attentive.

We found the resort very relaxing and suitable for couples. Taxis were expensive, charging 400THB to go a few kms, which was comparable to Melbourne prices without the comfort. There are, however scooter rental places nearby. A good tip is to rent something decent that is at least 125cc or you'll have trouble getting up the hill to the resort or tackling the many hills around the island. I had a 125cc Honda Click and had no issues (2 persons and a box of beer).

Overall I highly recommend the hotel for couples wanting to unwind but if you want to stay close to the action this property might be a little far away.

Thanks Chintakiri for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Room 105 was great for two couples. Ask for a deal.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seann_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights at the start of may 2013 at short notice and was very happy with the resort. The rooms were stunning and my balcony overlooked the gorgeous bay leading into the Gulf of Thailand. The view from my bed was breathtaking! The food was exceptional with very large portions at a good price although the cocktails were a little small. The service was impeccable. The only drawback was not being able to use the swimming pool after 7pm but this seemed to be the norm everywhere (in order for cleaning to take place). I met some great people here... Overall, a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a magnificent view over the bay, from the restaurant, pool and the comfortably private balcony in te room. Service was exceptionally friendly. The only drawback is that the hotel is high, high up the mountain (as so many on Ko Tao), and it is a great challenge to walk up and down to the beach. If you are up for some hiking exercise or comfortable renting and driving a motorbike (very reasonably priced at 200B only) up and down the crazy road, this might be your place. Otherwise you are kind of stuck up there. There is a nice place called High Bar a bit higher up the road, but not much else.

Breakfast was all right although rather basic. The room is nice but while I'm certainly not one to demand European style overdone safety everywhere, the room was on two levels with no hand railings, and it would be quite easy to fall down in the dark and hurt oneself when coming from the bathroom back to bed for example - I would not take kids to this kind of room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThaiXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chintakiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chintakiri Resort

Address: 19/59-77 Moo 3, Chalok baan kao, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $60 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chintakiri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chintakiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chintakiri Hotel Koh Tao
Chintakiri Hotel Surat Thani
Chintakiri Resort Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing