We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four wheel drive. Low range!”
Review of Chintakiri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chintakiri Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Four wheel drive. Low range!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Four wheel drive low range was the standard response when we got into a taxi to go to Chintakiri Resort and for good reason too. The resort is perched on a steep hill but the view was magnificent.

Check in was a breeze and bags were carried to our room. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with some friends, which had ocean views from the balcony and master bedroom.
The rooms were spacious and each had an ensuite and cable tv.

The restaurant was well priced and the food was fresh and delicious. The waitresses were delightful and attentive.

We found the resort very relaxing and suitable for couples. Taxis were expensive, charging 400THB to go a few kms, which was comparable to Melbourne prices without the comfort. There are, however scooter rental places nearby. A good tip is to rent something decent that is at least 125cc or you'll have trouble getting up the hill to the resort or tackling the many hills around the island. I had a 125cc Honda Click and had no issues (2 persons and a box of beer).

Overall I highly recommend the hotel for couples wanting to unwind but if you want to stay close to the action this property might be a little far away.

Thanks Chintakiri for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Room 105 was great for two couples. Ask for a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seann_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    134
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
301
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights at the start of may 2013 at short notice and was very happy with the resort. The rooms were stunning and my balcony overlooked the gorgeous bay leading into the Gulf of Thailand. The view from my bed was breathtaking! The food was exceptional with very large portions at a good price although the cocktails were a little small. The service was impeccable. The only drawback was not being able to use the swimming pool after 7pm but this seemed to be the norm everywhere (in order for cleaning to take place). I met some great people here... Overall, a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a magnificent view over the bay, from the restaurant, pool and the comfortably private balcony in te room. Service was exceptionally friendly. The only drawback is that the hotel is high, high up the mountain (as so many on Ko Tao), and it is a great challenge to walk up and down to the beach. If you are up for some hiking exercise or comfortable renting and driving a motorbike (very reasonably priced at 200B only) up and down the crazy road, this might be your place. Otherwise you are kind of stuck up there. There is a nice place called High Bar a bit higher up the road, but not much else.

Breakfast was all right although rather basic. The room is nice but while I'm certainly not one to demand European style overdone safety everywhere, the room was on two levels with no hand railings, and it would be quite easy to fall down in the dark and hurt oneself when coming from the bathroom back to bed for example - I would not take kids to this kind of room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaiXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was by far the most stunning place I ever stayed. The views from the rooms is breathtaking. We were there for 3 nights which was just perfect in my opinion. The prices are very good and dinner was perfect. Not a big breakfast menu compared to other places we stayed but I didnt mind. We rented a scooter from the hotel for 5euro a day and they were really nice to deal with and couldnt do any more to help us. There is a VERY steep hill up to it but it was a laugh trying to get up it on the bike. It seemed like we had the resort to ourselves. We had the pool which is small but perfect just to have a dip and cool off. Staff were extremely friendly. It was like we had our own personal servants. Out of all the places and islands were were on, this island and this hotel were by far my favorite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 787Cisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The rooms are perfect, the breakfast is good, the management is friendly and helpful and the view from the pool is just astonishing. It is located in a hill but easily reachable if you rent a scooter. Otherwise just walk a few meters. Would totally recommend. Stayed there in 2010.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EU2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a nice stay at Chintakiri resort.

If you like peace and quiet, this is the place for you. We did barely see any other guest during our 3 night stay. Had both the resturant and the pool to ourselves most of the time.

The bungalows are really nice and the view is spectacular. The staff is smiling and helpful all of the time, and make you feel welcome.
The food in the resturant is also good.

Most people mention the hill, and it is really quite bad. If you are in normal/good shape you won't have any problems, you will get boarderline exhausted, but think of it as a good workout.
If you have any health issues on the other hand, or have bad knees etc I guess it will be a big problem. It's really one of the steepest "roads" I have ever experienced.

All in all Chintakiri can be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander Nybor... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Amazing location, high up in the hills of Koh Tao overlooking the bay with some stunning views. The rooms are split across two levels with the bathroom and foyer being on a slightly raised mezzanine, with a few steps leading down into the bedroom proper. A large french window opens out onto the balcony. The rooms look lovely, clean and well maintained. The food in the hotel is also worth noting. Great breakfast, though not a huge choice, eaten outside overlooking the bay. We had dinner here on our first evening and it was very good, with a fairly varied menu. Beautiful pool and generally very appealing surroundings.
Being higher up in the hills (and amid the vegetation) it is hotter with less breeze and the mosquitos are huge and insatiable. The aircon was not on prior to our arriving so it was roasting, the room tended to get very hot during the day. Internet and television reception were not good but they have DVDs you can rent. The hill to get up to the resort was punishing, it's no Everest but it is a very steep hill to climb on foot and I defy anyone to not have broken a sweat by the time they reach the top. Also, it is very far removed from what little nightlife there is on Koh Tao.
There are a number of good places on the beach to eat and drink but generally speaking, after ten things tend to quieten down. The nearest beach takes ten minutes to walk down to and is very clean and uncrowded. The water is clear and you can swim out at least 300 metres without any danger of being unable to touch the bottom. If you're looking for peace and quiet and happy to embrace island life then I could not fault this place in terms of value for money, service and looks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterjbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chintakiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chintakiri Resort

Property: Chintakiri Resort
Address: 19/59-77 Moo 3, Chalok baan kao, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chintakiri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chintakiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chintakiri Hotel Koh Tao
Chintakiri Hotel Surat Thani
Chintakiri Resort Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing