We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unsatisfied customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed August 10, 2013

On positive reviews from the travel agent we decided to stay at the hotel. We were only there for 2 nights and it was terrible. The rooms were damp with lots of mosquitoes, there were hairs in the bathroom and when asked to have the room cleaned they did not. When house cleaning came the next day they did not change the sheets or clean the bathroom leaving the hairs. The only good thing about the hotel is that the pool is beautiful, and it was extremely close to the pier but if you are going for a beach holiday I would recommend staying somewhere else as the beach is full of boats . The breakfast I would definitely not recommend staying here due to the lack of cleanliness!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiro93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 432 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hi
we stayed at the Montra hotel for 3 night on ko Tao island at july 2013
It was just great!!
very comfortable giant modern rooms, great pool, very attentive stuff
we took a taxy to the main street , it cost 200batt
and we walked on our way back for 20 minutes- it was very nice walk
The hotel has privet beach but because of the proximity to the port the water was dirty
that was our only disappointment from that magical place
the receptionist time of work ends at 9 pm so i recommend to consider that with your arrangements
we loved kho tao , its a great place to relax, dive and to have a real pleasure quiet vacation
Elinor

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is potentially a really nice hotel. The rooms are huge and very clean and comfortable. The pool area is beautiful and well maintained. However I found that the hotel had a complete lack of atmosphere! The customer service was inconsistent. Some of the team tried their best to help, whilst some were rather unfriendly and lazy. The biggest let down was the restaurant. The breakfast was quite unispiring as were the meals. We discovered Pranees kitchen down the road, towards the pier, which served awesome food at a fraction of the price. On the whole I would say the hotel was ok, but very over priced for the experience.

Room Tip: Insist on a room away from the construction work!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sogol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on 2 separate occasions, January 2013 & July 2013. Nice hotel and good location. Close to Pier where the ferry drops you off. Wifi is good and rooms are big, however all of this does not excuse that both times i have had food poisoning from the hotel resturant. Myself and partner were sick in bed for 2 nights and 3 days. Will not be staying at that hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We decided to stay at the Montra Resort and Spa, Koh Tao, on the basis of some of the more recent positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Several issues however made the stay less than enjoyable. I hope this account gives enough to allow you to make an informed decision.

In summary:

Negatives:
1. Poor customer service overall with limited English and no chance to speak to manager
2. The deluxe room views are NOT sea-view
3. Damp smell in some rooms with loud A/C
4. Too many mosquitos
5. Water temperatures in shower impossible to manage
6. Nearby beach poor quality


Positives
1. Clean rooms
2. Reasonable breakfast
3. Very close to pier making transfer short


The resort is about 300 meters from the pier making your transfer really easy! The resort representative was there with a board with our name on it, which was really nice and the transfer was smooth. The baggage staff were lovely and friendly. On arrival to the resort we were greeted and the check-in process was easy. We arrived as 2 couples but only 1 of the rooms was ready. The 2nd room had a lock broken and it took 2.5 hours for them to fix it whilst my 2 friends sat waiting in reception. They were offered no refreshments and no updates were forthcoming. The only time they were given information was if they went to the desk, where the usual response was "moment please". Unfortunately it appeared that only 1 staff member could speak English well-enough to communicate with us and he was summoned each time. Whilst waiting we could see others complaining about various matters and each time they were left standing around for a while for someone to take them seriously. The rooms we were given were not together, but that was no big issue. There was a strong smell of damp in the 2nd room, which was beside the pool.

The other issue with the rooms is the 'seaview', which we paid for. It's a joke. From the balcony you cannot see the sea from many of the rooms but you can see the pool. This is no major issue as the beach at the resort is of poor quality and you won't be spending anytime there I promise you! In any case bringing this to the attention of the staff resulted in no resolution and even a snide comment about cutting down some vegetation, which would be fine if in fact it wasn't a collection of trees (yes, trees) that would need removing for a remote chance at seeing the sea if hanging over the side of the balcony! Asking to speak to the manager resulted in being told she wasn't there but we would be told when she was - we stayed 4 days and this did not materialise.

The deluxe room was clean and spacious - you can actually sleep 4 in here easily if you ask me! Showers however were a nightmare. It is actually impossible to get a reasonable temperature out of them! This was confirmed by speaking to others at the resort. The options are excruciatingly hot or ice cold. Anything in between lasts seconds making showering 3 times as long as it should be. At night the A/C is loud, which does disturb sleep.

Mosquitos need a mention as well. There were loads of them at the resort. If you stay here make sure you bring a lot of repellent and ensure that you go on a mosquito-killing rampage after the cleaner lets several in during the day.

Breakfast is clean and nice and the staff here are friendly. Bread is freshly made and warm. The pool is 'okay'. The growth around the pool could do with some trimming back. Towels are provided here and changed daily, which works well. The beach is cluttered with rubbish and if you stay at Koh Tao for some beach action I promise you that you will be taking taxis (400 baht per 4 persons one-way) to some of the nicer areas like Haad Tien and Tanote Bay.

Overall it served its purpose of a roof at night but there were too many negatives to ever consider going back. My main concern is that despite informing them of any issues they were simply not dealt with. My advice is that you can find far better for the price if you book in advance.

Room Tip: Our 'seaview' rooms were NOT seaview. Some rooms smell of damp. A/C noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rand0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What an amazing place! it was wonderful the whole week, perfect weather, impeccable service. Beautiful room and fabulous amenities!. The Hotel was great! If you get a chance to go there... do not hesitate. it is the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leevicandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful setting from the interior of the rooms to the view on the balcony and the beach at close proximity. It was a great break from the hustle and bustle city we came from. Highlights were waking up in the morning and seeing the picturesque view of the pool and beach, having meals overlooking the beach and having the beach as our backyard. We stayed for four nights and I think that was enough. If we stayed any longer, I think we would have been bored, we didn't find many things to do on the island. However, we enjoyed chilling and drinking by the pool and sleeping in!!
The staff were amazing, the rooms were spotless and the food was great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $50 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing