We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chilled atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful setting from the interior of the rooms to the view on the balcony and the beach at close proximity. It was a great break from the hustle and bustle city we came from. Highlights were waking up in the morning and seeing the picturesque view of the pool and beach, having meals overlooking the beach and having the beach as our backyard. We stayed for four nights and I think that was enough. If we stayed any longer, I think we would have been bored, we didn't find many things to do on the island. However, we enjoyed chilling and drinking by the pool and sleeping in!!
The staff were amazing, the rooms were spotless and the food was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    150
    78
    50
    33
See reviews for
55
191
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

we stayed here for 9 nights at the end of a very busy sight seeing holiday. the hotel is within walking distance of the pier and from the beach looking to the left the fishing boats and ferries are very noticeable, however the view to the right is much better, however it is not a magical tropical beach view. from the hotel it is a 5-10 minute walk shich involved a steep hill to get round to the next bay where there is a much larger beach and where there is a good choice of restaurants and good prices. you will need a torch to get back at night! breakfast in the hotel was fine and the staff helpful and friendyl. we had lunch here several times and this was more expensive than eating from some of the other bars but was good food.
the hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds enormous but very hard. for the standard of hotel we felt that the beds should have been far more comfortable and there should have been more than one very hard pillow per person on the bed.
all the staff were very pleasant and were very helpful if we asked for any help.
negatives: hard beds and pillows, a lot of the sun beds were broken and there were not enough of them. there was some noise from nearby building work but it wasnt continual. we felt that there should have been rubbish bins around the hotel and definately the pool, at the end of the day there was always a build up of rubbish around the sunbeds. we had to swap tokens for towels to use around the pool: i cant imagine anyone wanting to take these towels as they were worn out, bleached and were often torn or had holes in!
we were after a quiet rest and the hotel suited us for that but if you wanted more of the night life you would be better off staying at the other end of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I originally booked a superior room for this hotel and contacted them via email for a pickup at the pier. When I got to the hotel, I was concerned about the noise from the construction going on next to the hotel. I told the woman at reception that I wanted a quiet room and I was concerned about the construction noise, but she said it would be okay.

On the way to the room, it was clear that it would not be okay as it was the room possibly the closest to the noise. Went back to reception and she happily put me in another room on the other side of the hotel, however this was an upgraded deluxe room and was quite nice.

The swimming pool was very nice and the breakfast was okay. However, the weather wasn't that nice so I can't say much about the beach.

The staff seemed pretty friendly, most of which seemed to be from Myanmar.

I'd stay there again, but more than likely would try to find a cheaper alternative elsewhere on the island.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side of the resort as the north side has construction going on next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidinCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night arriving late on our way to Nang Yuan. We did not book in advance and were abel to choose our own room after viewing a few they had available. I would opt for the sea / pool view room as we did. The breakfast was okay and the hotel has a lovely sea front / beach. You can easily walk on the beach to the "city centre".

I would stay here again. Did not try the pool, but it looked nice. The hotel is
probably better suited for families than young party crawlers. If you are the latter I would recommend browsing other hotels.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Koh Tao Montra Resort, is a great place to stay, right by the ferry and you can take a short taxi ride to Sairee should you please. You can get a standard room from around 3400 THB and enjoy the huge pool, resort surroundings and beach front dining.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is located near the port yet far enough away to still be quiet. Fantastic big rooms very spacious with large swimming pool. This hotel is perfect to enjoy Koh Tao as you can walk into the town a few minutes along the beach. The staff were all very friendly and helpful would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

great find at a great price!! beach was amazing!! service great!! rooms were massive so clean and not really what we were expecting for the price!! deff a good option for koh tao and just a little walk to the main area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxfkxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Property: Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing