We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely loved this place, definitely had the 'wow' factor for me. We arrived at Koh Tao Pier and there was someone from the hotel there to pick us up, in fact he had been to the pier 3 times that day to wait for us in case we were on the earlier ferry! We stayed in a deluxe double room which was HUGE and decorated in traditional Thai. Our balcony overlooked the swimming pool which was lovely. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower cubicle/room and a decent square bath. The only downside was that the water didn't get very warm but i think this would be the same wherever you stay in Koh Tao because it is a small/remote island. The breakfast in the restaurant was ok, fresh eggs were cooking to your taste in front of you which was a nice touch. We only had an evening meal in the hotel once and again this was just ok but reasonably priced. The cocktail happy hour at the pool bar is not to be missed! The pool area was large and there is a bar in the middle of the pool. The resort is located a 5 minute walk from the strip of restaurants and shops by the Port (restaurants/bars closed by 11pm), a 15 minute walk to the beach and a 20 minute walk from Soiree beach (more lively nightlife). We loved this place so much that we ended up staying an extra night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    150
    78
    50
    33
See reviews for
55
191
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Okay so this is okay accommodation. Staff are not overly helpful or friendly ( i was trying to get them to assist me to make a dinner reservation - i ended up calling the restaurant myself) the hotel restaurant is below average it's worth going else where to eat, ( there are lots of cats inside). And the beach is also just alright. There is no WOW factor here. It's all just okay .....
The room is spacious and bed is large, as is the bathroom ( found it difficult getting hot water in shower).
Overall "just okay".

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiinauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Koh montra was an ok resort. Rooms were nice and big. Bed was huge but the major let down was the reception staff. They were so unfriendly and not helpful. Really came across bad. The breakfast was good and location wasn't too bad either however unless you have a family don't stay here and choose a hotel elsewhere.

Room Tip: Superior room was nice facing the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_k8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
290 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

And in fact that says it all. The hotel is close to the place where you arrtive by boat, very kind staff and very helpfull. We stayed in room 307 which has to large beds. It's a very spacious room and you will have all you need. Except for an elevator to arrive on the third floor......
Between the pool and the beach you will have a very small garden. Beach is ok, not too crowded. The restaurant has great choise and the food in fact is not too bad. But there is no atmosphere. Better go in town. The breakfast I would give a 6.5/7 (on 10).

Room Tip: Room 307 is a very spacious room, two separated beds, small balcony (with view on the pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GovertvanEerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, great swimming pool, good location on a beach front and close to koh tao attractions and pier. The deluxe rooms were big and felt luxurious facing the swimming pool. My Kids just loved spending time in the pool, therefore would recommend it for families travelling with kids.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SharoonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed there in March 2013, been to Island before and other hotels usually a bit scruffy, but this one was excellant.
Large rooms, Huge 9ft bed, Great pool and right on the beach with no hills to climb
Staff very friendly and prices affordable.

Close to main Mae Head town and ferry terminal ( 5 min walk) but no noise or commotion.
would highly reccommend and will return.

Room Tip: All as good as each other, we had 112 which I felt was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is very nice, the deluxe rooms are very big and the airco keeps running while you're out of the room . The staff is just plain lazy !!! Cleaners and pool bar staff do nothing all day long !! A dirty bathroom mat was left in the room for 3 days even when we put it out of the bathroom on the floor with the used towels ! Pool bar staff was on the phone all day long in stead of tending bar of cleaning something . Only time we saw some activity was when the manager came for à swim !!! Nice place but we are never coming back here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDeNorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Property: Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing