We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Koh montra was an ok resort. Rooms were nice and big. Bed was huge but the major let down was the reception staff. They were so unfriendly and not helpful. Really came across bad. The breakfast was good and location wasn't too bad either however unless you have a family don't stay here and choose a hotel elsewhere.

Room Tip: Superior room was nice facing the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_k8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    147
    77
    47
    33
See reviews for
55
185
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

And in fact that says it all. The hotel is close to the place where you arrtive by boat, very kind staff and very helpfull. We stayed in room 307 which has to large beds. It's a very spacious room and you will have all you need. Except for an elevator to arrive on the third floor......
Between the pool and the beach you will have a very small garden. Beach is ok, not too crowded. The restaurant has great choise and the food in fact is not too bad. But there is no atmosphere. Better go in town. The breakfast I would give a 6.5/7 (on 10).

Room Tip: Room 307 is a very spacious room, two separated beds, small balcony (with view on the pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GovertvanEerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, great swimming pool, good location on a beach front and close to koh tao attractions and pier. The deluxe rooms were big and felt luxurious facing the swimming pool. My Kids just loved spending time in the pool, therefore would recommend it for families travelling with kids.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SharoonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed there in March 2013, been to Island before and other hotels usually a bit scruffy, but this one was excellant.
Large rooms, Huge 9ft bed, Great pool and right on the beach with no hills to climb
Staff very friendly and prices affordable.

Close to main Mae Head town and ferry terminal ( 5 min walk) but no noise or commotion.
would highly reccommend and will return.

Room Tip: All as good as each other, we had 112 which I felt was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is very nice, the deluxe rooms are very big and the airco keeps running while you're out of the room . The staff is just plain lazy !!! Cleaners and pool bar staff do nothing all day long !! A dirty bathroom mat was left in the room for 3 days even when we put it out of the bathroom on the floor with the used towels ! Pool bar staff was on the phone all day long in stead of tending bar of cleaning something . Only time we saw some activity was when the manager came for à swim !!! Nice place but we are never coming back here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDeNorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I found this hotel totally overpriced! Rooms are very old, same is the furniture. Our room was also very humid, you could both feel and smell it!!!
Rooms are big, but I would prefer a smaller room which was a little more up-to-date!!
Hotel has no elevator, so keep that on mind if you are traveling with infants/ elderly people.
Pool is huge, but we were disappointed when we saw the beach! It's not really a beach, but rather a part of the pier. We didn't see anyone swimming at that part of the "beach".
I will definetely go back to Koh Tao, but never to Montra Resort!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanna181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel has nice rooms, sort of.... If you got hot water more than 15 seconds. If the maid cleaned the rooms and changed the sheets which were never done in a 8 night stay. The pool bar blasts (I mean very loud) Michael Jackson,Rap, old American pop songs while the pool/towel/bartender sits on his $#* and texts his friends. We like music, but not where it hurts your ears so much that you have to leave the pool area to get away from it and then even in your room with the doors closed it is way too loud. The restaurant is a joke. Service at dinner was if you want something like a menu you have to get up and walk over to the waiter and ask. The food was from good to horrible. The ambiance did not exist. The hotel is only interested in your money and the hotel is just a grade above a backpacker hotel. I would rate this hotel as a 2 star. We are trying to give a review that reflects the information that we would want when reading reviews. We are extremely well traveled in SE Asia and in particular Thailand. I traveled three times a year to West African countries from 1979 thru 2001. We travel now for fun. As the reviewer Larssonn says "STAY AWAY" The reception man Chin however is gracious and service oriented.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.7 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Property: Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing