We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel five nights. We had arrived quite sick from the boat trip (it had been stormy and 90% of the boat was seasick) and surprisingly upon arrival there was a young man holding up a sign with my name, a lifesaver! Once the checkin was done our luggage was carried to the room and we could relax.

The room: very spacious, the bed is very big, air conditioned, nice pool/beach view and there was a little sofa to relax on. It had a balcony where we could put things to dry. The bathroom was also big and spacious, the shower and bathroom are separated by a wall. The room was clean and we never heard our neighbors.

The restaurant was very good, it had been recommended to us by friends. You can eat all day which is a nice thing.

We didn't rent a scooter since everything is so close.

Overall, the hotel was nice and clean, the staff was always helpful and smiling.

Would go back :-).

Room Tip: We had a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grossetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    147
    77
    47
    33
See reviews for
55
185
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

If you look for decent hotel, with good location and very nice swimming pool so this place is good for you.
Breakfast wasnt good at all so don't expect anything.
Ladies in the reception were nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_isr_yot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friend and I came to Montra directly following a week of parties in Koh Phangan. And this is exactly what we need to rest, relax, and recover.
Montra is an easy walk from the pier and within easy distance of the main part of town where you can find restaurants, shopping and the 7/11.
Our room had a huge comphy bed, tv, fridge, and hot shower. We could easily have slept 3 or 4 people here. And it overlooked the large infinity pool where the temperature was the exact right cool temperature.
The only recommendation would have been for the staff to be a bit more English speaking and helpful. But by reading other reviews, it doesn't appear everyone feels this way, so do not let it defer you from staying here. They were able to call us taxis which was a great help.

Room Tip: Personally, if you want to look out your door and see the pool and ocean, I would highly request one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

pros:
- huge pool
- big rooms with big beds
- clean
-friendly staff
- very nice beach (but not big)

cons:
- feels a bit rundown
- breakfast not great
- pool dirty in some places

we paid around 60 euros for a regular room and it was totally ok for that price. just dont expect a great hotel, the overall appeal is somewhat average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I plus 4 friends all stayed in this hotel in Sept 2012.

This hotel is situated 1 min stroll from the ferry piers and the little harbour area of Koh Tao.
The hotel is well equipped, has a lovely pool, great staff who are happy and enthusiastic and rooms also have the biggest bed you will ever encounter.

Hotel is slightly dated but I think this adds to the appeal.

Fantastic 3 night stay in this wonderful hotel and I thank the staff for such a great time,

Ps - superb massage parlour a few steps outside the hotel entrance. Cheap and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room (3rd level delux) was very clean and spacious and probably worth the upgrade it you can. I wouldn't stay on the ground floor as it would get foot traffic right past your room but second floor would be fine.

The bed was enormous and comfortable and appears to be the same for every room. Our room had everything you would want and included a nice balcony and seating. You can tell that the place has been well designed and could be made into something very special but it appears to be half finished at this stage and lacks some upper market polish to finishings and fittings. Don't let this put you off though as this doesnt really affect guest stays. When they finish the bar area above the restaurant it will be absolutely fantastic. The location is absolutely perfect. 3 min walk from ferry and mae haed shop area and absolutely quiet at night. Easy 10 min walk to best restaurants northward up the paved footpath.

The breakfast is lack luster and is a bit of a downer. Absolutely fine for filling you up in the morning for a days activities but could be better by Thai hotel standards and what you pay. The pool and swim up bar are perfect and the gym functional if not very basic. My ratings are based on the price and expectations for koh Tao, not Bangkok. So 4/5 I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my 9 days stay in this resort.

The rooms are big and clean, with really cute balconies and the best bathroom I've ever experienced in Thailand.
The location is also quite good, minutes from Mae Haad pier and small village.
Finally, the pool is really what I preferred. An actual pool bar, nice depth, with plenty of room to swim.
Note that as the pier is very close, it is better to walk for 10 minutes to Sairee Beach for a sea swim.
The hotel also provides a nice workout area, clean and well-equipped.

Only 2 negative things : for one, the breakfast quality was very irregular. You may get the complete works one day, and next day the food will be scarce and cold. The manager's presence seemed to improve things in a big way, though. Make sure you get there early, so you can grab a few of the remaining yummy pancakes (yum :-))

Other source of annoyment after a while, the music played at the pool bar is TERRIBLE, as well as repetitive. After hearing the same easy listening renditions of « Light my fire » and « Hey Jude » for the third times in a row, I just felt like strangling myself with the CD player cord. But hey, it's only a problem to certain people, after all.
Therefore, I would definitely recommand this resort to my friend... And even to my relatives.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Property: Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing