We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here from the 4th to the 11th July 2012 and generally, the hotel is excellent! I use the word generally simply because in one or two aspects, the hotel could do with improvements which will be covered later on in the review. Location wise it is about six of one and half a dozen of the other. The hotel is situated on Mae Head beach a very short walk from the main peirs which means that you are usually woken by the horns of the boats as they bring more tourists to the island. The beach however is fantastic! The hotel is located a short walk from Mae Head which is a small town and has everything from pharmacy's to general stores. It is also possible to walk iinto Saarie. Room sizes are simply HUGE and all have a double bed which can be turned into two singles. The staff here have simply been faultless and our party is on first term names with many of the staff here. Now, breakfasts were the only reason I can not rate this hotel as excellent simply because it was not up too scratch. Food was cold and generally bland- I would recomend walking into Mae Head. Lunch and dinner however was of much better standard. Overall, I would recomend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdLonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 428 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week and had a brilliant time. The resort is located in a great central location that is nice a quiet, just a short stroll from Mee Hat. All staff were friendly and so abliging to help us with anything that we needed. The room was large with a massive bed, great bathroom and plenty of hot water (handy if out diving all day).

We had breakfast included and couldn't get enough of the omlette or the banana pancakes, a great way to start the day. They even packed us a breakfast when we had to be out diving before breakfast started.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

A complimentary meet-and-greet service + transportation from the ferry pier to the hotel made a very good first impression. Welcome drinks on arrival and very friendly check-in staff. Our room was fantastic (deluxe room # 309) - with huge windows looking onto the beach! The bathroom was also very spacious and had a walk in shower + a huge bath. The balcony overlooks the swimming pool and they even thought of rails outside on the balcony to hang wet clothes / towels to dry.
The swimming pool is huge and the pool bar inside the pool a great gathering point. Breakfast was good, since the hotel was quiet during our stay, only half the restaurant was used (downstairs), but still great location for breakfast - right on the beachfront. Free Wifi was another bonus!
I do have to admit that due to the hotel running on skeleton staff during quiet periods, it did result in the pool area having used glasses, crockery, rubish, food etc. from the clients using during the day - laying around till late at night . It was cleaned first thing in the morning though.

2 minutes walk will get you to the main street with loads of restaurants and shops to choose from. The ferry is also only 4 minute's walk away. Close to neighboring Sairee Beach - +/-7min drive by scooter. Great location to base yourself + hire a scooter / quad-bike and explore the island and it's lovely beaches from here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The reception staff tried to make us pay for the whole of our stay on arrival. When we said we'd rather pay what we owed (minus the deposit) at the end of the stay, they agreed reluctantly and said they'd need us to leave both our passports. Our room was very spacious, however shortly after we got into the room, the towel rail fell out of the bathroom wall, then when we pulled the blind across the window in the bathroom, several of the vertical strips fell onto the floor. I rang reception and told them, however when we got back to the room hours later nothing had been done and the towel rail was still on the floor and the blind strips were too.

The next morning I went to reception in person to remind them, I also pointed out the rubbish which had been laft around the pool from the day before (piled up plates with bits of half eaten pizza and empty drink cans/cups) the guy behind reception was rude and said yes the pool staff will clear that up and someone will come to your room to fix the towel rail/ blind. A couple of hours later still no one had been to fix our room and the rubbish was still around the pool. When we complained again, the same rude person as before said we couldn't move rooms as all the others were more expensive.

The breakfast was extremely basic, the bread was covered in ants, the cups/knives forks were dirty as were the tables, so they too had ants on them.

The pool was the best thing about the hotel. The beach was right next to the port and we never saw anyone swimming there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed at Montra Resort for 11 nights. Location is good since it's on the quieter side of Sairee beach but still it was not too far away (10 minute walk tops!). Members of staff were always really helpful and at the reception they spoke very good english so we had no problems with that. Our room was quite nice: bed, tv, bathroom and a fridge (this was nice because we were able to keep our drinks cold). Room was clean and clean towels were always available. Breakfast was good: fresh fruit and vegetables, bacon, sausage, bread, yoghurt, muesli... We had dinner and lunch couple of times at the hotel. Menu varied from delicious thai dishes to more familiar western ones. Service was always nice. Free wifi. Pool of the hotel was real nice and big and hotel has it's own little beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiiriLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in April with my girlfriend and had the best time. We were both gutted to have to leave. The staff were amazing from the first moment and very helpful. The room was fantastic and the bed was incredibly comfy. We will book here again the next time we visit the island (hopefully soon as it is literally a paradise).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a day of travel and the staff were less than welcoming. In fact we found some of the staff were not really interested in helping us at all during our stay.

The restaurant was not very clean, but we found a few other places to eat during our trip. The breakfast was very basic, and once you finished cleaning your table and cutlery you were left to create something from nothing.

The room (deluxe) was enormous and reasonably clean and tidy. The location was ok. The pool was beautiful, which was good because the beach setup was very basic.

We won't be staying here again.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank Sandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $49 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing