We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic bungalows - nothing special.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Wind Bakery and Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Wind Bakery and Resort
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic bungalows - nothing special.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Basic accommodation in the middle of Sariee beach. Nothing special or particularly good or bad about this place. Lots of mosquitoes - possible due to poor drainage around bungalows. Neither cheap nor expensive for this part of the island. A bit dirty with a mouldy hammock out the front of the room. No fly screens in the bathroom - so lots of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Look for one with good drainage around it (i.e not in a waterlogged area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dm_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    43
    26
    30
See reviews for
4
52
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here one night, planning on staying longer but a few things ruined it.

Pros: Our bungalow (800b a night) was nice, basic but looked newly built and clean. Location is v good. Didn't eat a lot but what food we had was nice.

Cons: a huge spider took residence in the bathroom and both of us having a phobia meant we had a struggle to remove it and forget it!! Biggest downfall of this place - the rude rude rude staff.. Especially the guy at the desk who you have to deal with. Was actually amusing how horrible he was, but not amusing enough that we wanted to stay!! Shame.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Good location. But at these prices we got what we paid for - cheap. The bed was hard, the rooms dirty and they fans barely worked. Sure, it was an adventure and we could write about it...but if you actually want to sleep, hang out during the day and such...this was pretty lame.

The staff were not so good. In fact they were pretty terrible. the food was good - but the
service was not and made it unbearable.

Ended up looking for new place down the beach at twice the cost - but we slept weel, ate well and had a good few days on the patio. so it was worth paying more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vincentchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

A lot of this places reviews are based on really trivial stuff like bugs and non flushing toilets but if you look at what you pay it's reasonable! A cool looking hut and if you bring your own hammock a great place to relax, beach is okay and restaurant kicks out some good cheap food! Don't miss out on the yoga.. If your looking for a better room just pay more!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We arrived on Koh Tao a few days ahead of our dive course and went to Blue Wind to book a room, perhaps on recommendation of LP... It was expensive for what it was, but due to the amount of people diving even when it is not peak season they can afford to be expensive. Our room despite being only a stones throw from the sea was disappointing, dark and uninspiring. Lots of bugs can get in, staff are unhelpful and it smelt bad!
We then moved to silver sands, which was much nicer!
However...I would say this, pop back for food! Reasonable price, lovely location and tasty!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lise83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Koh Tao has a limited range of accommodation and I would not reccommend Blue Wind resort. Like many others on here, we had several enormous cockroaches in our room. I know they are to be expected in a hot country but the way these huts have been shoddily erected obviously allows for several entry points for bugs. A huge cockroach crawled over my friends arm during the night and a poor night's sleep followed. Thank god we had only booked one night. We were ready to leave the island by the morning!

Beach hut makes it sound idyliic. It was not. Set back from the beach with basic facilities, this place offered poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Lovely location. In fact I enjoyed my stay but only because I really wanted to make the most of my time on Koh Tao. The price you pay will reflect the room you get & I have no issue with that. However, the bakery staff are a level of rudeness beyond what is acceptable anywhere. When I spoke with the manager he replied that the staff were not Thai & that they knew the issue. So why not deal with it. But overall, so long as you eat elsewhere, even though the food is great & expect what you pay for in terms of accomodation you should have an OK stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palm Leaf Resort
Palm Leaf Resort
#8 of 73 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asia Divers Resort
Asia Divers Resort
#22 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wind Bakery and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wind Bakery and Resort

Property: Blue Wind Bakery and Resort
Address: 14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Blue Wind Bakery Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing