We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
365
150
40
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
150
40
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool villasea view cottageslemongrass teaour honeymoonpirate barchalok baygarden cottagealvaro divingcold towelsoutdoor showerwalk along the beachthe cottageshigh tidemosquito coilssmall beachthe hotel offersthai massage
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 595 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2017

First things first! This hotel is located in an area that is hard to reach. Very steep hills, crapy roads, and taxis around the islands will charge you a fortune to get there. We rented a scooter, as we always do in Asia, and it is not a easy task to get into the hotel.
Me and my wife are not a light couple, and the poor scooter really suffered! You'll see around the island, people wearing bandages, broken legs, etc because of motorbike accidents. Koh Tao is a tough place to ride a scooter.

But we really enjoyed our way to the hotel! Such an amazing journey, with a beautiful scenery!!

Regarding the hotel, which is the review about, it was super amazing! Probably one of our favourites around Asia! The resort was very beautiful, the grounds were well kept, and overall a interesting layout, but once again, you need to go up a bunch of stairs every time you move around. I think is part of the charm!

The room was big, with good solid quality construction, nice decoration and very comfortable! The balcony was amazing, perfect to enjoy a cold beer in the sunset! Bathroom was cute and charming, with a opening skylight in the shower.

The breakfast was freaking amazing! Really!! I can't stop thinking about it! From all my journeys in Asia, this is still my favorite! Huge portions, lovely crafted, and super tasty!! We also had dinner one or two times, and again, amazing food! The 3 Curry's are just to die for!! Just for the food alone I would go back!!

The beach next to the resort is not that special, and if you want to find the beaches you see in Google, you need to go to some hard-to-go areas! You have a nice beach close to the resort, like 10m walking on the coast line!

The staff was very friendly and helpful! The western girls at the reception were super helpful, and the local staff was also honestly friendly!

Overall, the experience was great! Not easy to get there, expect to spend some money in the pickup taxis! If you want a scooter, make sure you feel comfortable doing hardcore off-road! The price is fair for the resort quality, and I think you will feel special with the staff approach!! Must try! I would totally recommend! I loved the week we spent at view point!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

best resort on the island! beautiful location, great snorkling and view s of Buddha Rock! we stayed in the Deluxe beach cottages! brand new, and absolutely beautiful, with all the luxuries you could imagine of a 5 star hotel, while still being nestled and surrounded by nature! the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We had the massages which were incredible, and a full day excursion on a private long tail boat around the island for snorkeling. After seeing the entire island, we both agreed that we had found the best location and hotel to stay at in Koh Tao. The hotel is situated 10 mins from the pier, 15 mins from Sairee Beach, and a 5 min walk into the town itself. The town is quaint and charming with enough restaurants and bars to keep you entertained, without feeling too commercialized. Highly recommend this hotel for those who are searching for a natural and peaceful getaway in a beautiful area!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shortychacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

So, we've stayed at the resort for a couple of nights and that came after 4 nights in Koh Phangan and afterwards we stayed 4 nights in Bangkok. First things first, we loved the view from our room, it was the most amazing one we had in our entire trip. The room looked wonderful and having a shower that is basically outside was a really nice addition.
However, the main thing that we've noticed compared to the other places we've been to, is how less friendly the staff was. We arrived at the resort around 3pm, and while the lady at the reception was very professional, it felt like she just wanted us to be away from her. On the second night we also had a less pleasant interaction with her. One more thing we had a little problem with, it felt like whoever designed the place thought about almost everything, but skipped the little details. for example, since the pool villa is exposed to the winds, it's necessary to close all the doors, but if there are 2 of you, whoever locks the door on his side, prevents the other from entering the room (can only be locked from one side, no key or something like that) and a few more examples that slip my mind at the moment. And lastly, on our last day, we decided to take the breakfast from the restaurant, since we needed to get to the 9:30 ferry, that was a mistake. While the breakfast we had on the previous day (in the room) was very nice and tasty, the one in the restaurant felt like a waste of time. The food was pretty tasteless and the staff at the restaurant was very inhospitable.

So taking into factor that this was the most expensive place we've been to in our 10 nights trip, I wouldn't recommend it for the price we paid, especially after meeting the staff at the other places we've been to, and how nice and friendly they we're..

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Ram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

A five-night twenty-fifth anniversary stay in Pool Villa #7 turned into a nightmare that we are still attempting to put behind us.

Upon arrival home, not only have we been under medical care which presently includes ongoing testing for gastro intestinal issues.

We have also discovered additional damage to our possessions in the hundreds of dollars. which has left us upset to the point that we are unable to sleep properly and still have visions of rats running about and even biting us in our bed as we slept!

In addition, on arrival home, we received an email from PayPal confirming a money transfer from Viewpoint Resort – Apparently, the resort has voluntarily sent us a token money payment. No email, no apology, no explanation, just a token amount of money in a purported feeble attempt to placate us!

The amount of money forwarded via PayPall will in no way cover the rat damage to our luggage, leather attaché, clothes, shoes etc. There was no compensation for moving to a cheaper room the last night. In fact, the manner of receiving a random amount of money from the resort though PayPal was not only insulting, it also cemented our experience that the resort operates under a “disconnected avoidance style management!”

We had planned a very special anniversary stay in the resorts best Villa # 7. The villa is a beautiful villa, far from perfect, with small issues like sun chairs that do not lie flat and when it rains everything including the toilet and toilet paper is soaked through. There is also the slight inconvenience of only solar hot water, which means on a rainy or cloudy day plan on having a cold shower. The rooms are also not very secure, the gates to the villas lock, however it would be a very easy to enter the living space when guests are out of the villa, meaning our expensive camera equipment was not very secure. We also never did feel safe sleeping at night even with all the doors to the interior sleeping villa firmly shut and secured from the inside.

The view from the villa is impeccable, the villa is private and quiet and the farthest from the other villas, providing a perfect honeymoon hide out. There is a private entrance down to the water from the villa pathway for some private sunbathing and swimming (the entrance in to the water is a bit dicey, being slippery).

There is no doubt this is a premium villa and would well have been worth the cost and climb to reach except for the rats!

The first day we noticed soap and small items disappear and noises inside the villa bedroom. Staffs dismissed it as a gecko or perhaps we were just hearing squirrels from the outside washroom attached area.

The second night, we were again awakened, by something in the room. Using the flashlight we quickly found a rat, which scurried off once hit by light. We would later that night see another rat in the outdoor washroom shower area. The next morning we reported the rat(s) to reception, and received a “sorry, very sorry” response. We were assured that they would immediately take care of such a serious issue.

That night a rat again awakened us in our room as it was gnawing on our belongings. We again chased it off with the light, but stayed up most of the remaining night unable to sleep, fearing a return visit.

In the morning, we noted rat droppings around our pillow and on the white sheets near where our heads rested – we were now horrified and absolutely livid with anger and fear. We again went up to the reception, reported the rat, and got a “sorry, sorry” from the Burmese receptionist. We made it clear that something needed to be done, and requested to see the resort manager, the reception staffs agreed to pass on the message when the manager arrived for work.

All day we heard nothing – in the evening we went to reception only to be told that all the management had gone home for the day and could not be reached, but we should send an email.

That night we had expensive luggage chewed through by another visit from the rat(s), as well as an expensive leather attaché destroyed, some clothes chewed and the rat(s) also gnawed on various personal items which included clothing and beach wear. Still there was no requested contact from management the following day.

The day before departure when we went to reception to pay our bill as required by the resort. The manager Sabina was standoffish, rude and tossed the bill at us, and then walked away saying absolutely nothing to us in an apparent avoidance, ignore the issues passive management style.

Not wishing to spoil our last day we thought we could suck it up and survive one more night at the resort so we chose not to engage in her apparent passive avoidance rude behavior.

However later in the day we panicked at the thought of spending another and our last night with rat(s). Before dinner, we went to reception and indicated we would move to a place in town at our expense. Immediately the assistant manager Isabel suddenly claimed to know nothing of the rat issue and questioned if we had reported it, and with whom we had spoken with.

We would surely not stay in a very expensive villa with rats leaving rat dropping on the sheets as we slept, along with rats damaging our expensive possessions to the tune of hundreds of dollars and say absolutely nothing to the resort. We cannot even remotely envision such a scenario!

As a special favor Isabel would move us to villa #5 for the last night. Resort staff would help us move our things after dinner. Isabel informed us that she was unable to reach the resort manager for further guidance.

After dinner we requested help to move our luggage – all staff would do is bring us the key to Villa #5. They refused to help move our luggage. We asked to speak with the manager, which was refused. After much argument the same person who had given us the key to # 5 showed up, grabbed the camera case with our expensive camera gear, carried it over to villa # 5 and threw it on the floor and left.

We were then left with no choice but to move all our heavy luggage uphill to villa # 5 on our own and then move all the feather free bedding on our own – we were livid. This was not how we envisioned spending the last night of our anniversary stay. Fortunately, there was no damage done to the camera equipment, however we were so upset, that we did not sleep all night and were only too happy to leave the resort first thing in the morning.

Staffs at the resort instructed us to send emails to Sabina the manager. All our emails sent went un-responded to.

The restaurant is another hygienic disaster.

On two mornings we arrived at the restaurant around 8:00 AM, only to be told “no orange juice”, as the staffs had not gotten around to make any yet. The plates were noted to be filthy and wet with water and dirt. Finding clean, dry plates was a challenge.

Staffs do not practice a protocol of cutting up breakfast fruit for consumption. Guests are required to slice pineapple from a whole pineapple, mango etc. In the process, guests were observed touching all the fruit. There were no bread tongs, guests were observed cutting bread and picking up baked goodies with their hands, thereby touching all the baked goods around them!

Most disturbing and absolutely sickening, was the staff habit of collecting guests dishes some of which contained unfinished food, the dishes would be kept behind the restaurant reception counter. We observed staffs from all over the resort dropping by and proceeding to feed off the unfinished guest portions before the dishes would be returned to the kitchen for cleaning.

Not only is this disgusting to have witnessed on more than one occasion, it also raises the concern as to why the Burmese workers are resorting to feeding on left over guests uneaten foods. We refused to dine at the restaurant based on principal and disgust. Never once did we see a food and beverage manager, which may contribute to the unhygienic unaccountable staff practices!

The massages are another apparent fraud perpetrated on resort guests.

We booked a resort two hour Thai Massage that included a thirty-minute foot reflexology treatment. The massage therapists are not resort employees and are sub contracted from the local villages.

The Thai massage was basically a tiger balm rub down and did not include Thai massage yoga or pressure point work which is part of all Thai massages. However, the use of the Thai Tok Sen wooden sticks was quite painful. We now know that they are not supposed to be painful.

The next day we decided on another massage as it was raining and we did not feel like getting wet venturing into the village. On our way back to the villa to change we observed clients going to the massage hut some forty-five minutes late and fifteen minutes before our appointment.

On arrival at the hut for our appointments, the therapists who had to interrupt the ongoing massage, proceeded to come out side and inform us that we were to come back in over an hours time for our pre-booked appointment as the clients had arrived late

We went to reception to ask why guests would be permitted to show up forty-five minutes late for an appointment and thereby inconvenience guests who had an appointment and showed up on time.

The front desk receptionist minimized the complaint completely and proceeded to blatantly lie to us indicating that our appointment would only be 15 minutes late, and not one hour late as the therapist(s) actually performing the massages had told us.

We were to also learn the resort does not schedule any time between appointments, such as a the necessary fifteen minutes needed for guests to change clothes, and therapists to change bedding and then set up for the next appointment.

We cancelled the massage appointment.

The manager Sabina was sitting next to us in reception at the time and observed the entire conversation but avoided interacting with the situation.

Later that same evening we were in the village returning from dinner when both the massage girls from the resort approached us and apologized. We received profuse apologies for our being severely inconvenienced today as they tried to explain that they felt terrible and it was not their fault. We concurred and tipped them graciously for their lost wages.

We then were invited to tour their hair salon where we learned that they were in fact hair stylists by trade. We were given a tour of their salon and shown their price list, which did not include massage prices. We further learned that the hair stylists were not qualified to perform massages.

We informed assistant manager Isabel at the resort that we knew of this purported massage fraud – Isabel dismissed it all as we must be mistaken. We felt further insulted by the disingenuous response

On the very first day when we arrived at the resort to check in around 12:00 noon we were informed of three different reasons for delayed check in. Reason one, was we could not check in as the guests in the room had been given until 12:00 Noon late check out. Strangely something that we have never experienced, with guests being given extended check out when new guests are arriving early. Later a new reason given was that the guests were not checking out until 12:30 PM now as they had friends who were also staying late. Later the assistant manager Isabel now offered yet another reason in that, they had been attempting to get the guests out, however they were not answering the phone in the room and they could not reach the guests… !

We expressed annoyance and exasperation and were told that check in was 2:00 PM so too bad.

Seeing as we were the only guests checking in early and the resort had guests purportedly refusing to leave, we inquired how it was ok for us to be inconvenienced. Eventually we were put in Pool Villa # 3 to wait for the room to be ready and checked into our room late at 3:30 PM!

One of our best experiences, had nothing to do with the resort. We booked a half-day private snorkel with Extreme Sports. The owner took us to out of the way snorkel spots that provided excellent virgin snorkeling far away from the masses. The boat was clean and the owner very accommodating and extremely helpful. We had a thoroughly enjoyable experience, and would highly recommend the “Extreme Sports” half-day private snorkel tour booked through the resort.

We also visited the little village close by the resort daily – it is a bit of a tricky walk through shops, along the beach, through a “wood fired pizza” restaurant, then along a narrow concrete pier. In the village we found friendly people, fresh seafood, great massages, and shops for beers etc...

In order to save making two short trips to the ferry dock, the manager Sabrina told us we had to go early in the morning with the first couple departing for the earlier ferry from another ferry company.

We would need to spend an hour and a half waiting on the ferry dock in the dark of the pre-dawn early morning – what sham service. Our pool villa included ferry transfers, the other couples room did not. The resort had found another way to inconvenience us on the way out!

We do not consider writing reviews a waste of our free time and we make every effort to provide accurate honest descriptions of our experiences supported by our photo’s

Sadly picking “View Point Resort” Pool Villa # 7 as the spot for our special anniversary was a mistake and we have not recovered emotionally, medically or financially from our short stay, as such we cannot in all sincerity recommend the Resort in any way shape or form.

We also recognize the property has huge potential that is apparently sadly eroded by disconnected management.

Sadly, that potential is far from being realized and staying at View Point Resort is a regret we will not soon forget.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
48  Thank Roam802810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewPointResort, General Manager at View Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Karla & Andy, firstly thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

It is almost unbelievable that after Tripadvisor has removed your review once you have re-submitted it and actually made your lies colorful than before.

We would really like to say that the numerous lies in your review are very offensive actually.

We always appreciate comments from our customers so we can serve you better. The input and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.

We believe that all Tripadvisor reviewers will read all the others reviews and make their decisions based on their own good judgement.

For those who read your 6 page review and are interested in knowing the other side of the story here is our answer.

Let me start with your statement that you have received money via paypal without any explanation. Yes, we did transfer money through paypal and at the same time sent you an email giving you all the details. As you have requested to move rooms on your last night stay, the only available villa was indeed pool villa 5, which is cheaper that pool villa 7. We have decided to give a full refund of your last night. We do not think that changing rooms late at night is a good experience for anybody so a full refund of your last night would have had been a nice gesture.

You have sent us pictures of your luggage which was damaged after your checkout. You have never reported any damaged luggage upon your check out or during your stay with us. However we did add an additional 2’000 baht for the alleged damage to your bags as a gesture of good will.

We are very surprised that you have only discovered now - 1 year later that the “rats” have also damaged your clothes, shoes etc. …

We are so sorry that you have felt insulted that your last night has been refunded.
It is also very surprising how you have replied to all our emails but it seems that you can’t remember it.

We would like to highlight you comment of “disconnected avoidance style management!” To be very honest with you, Karla & Andy, you have been in touch with me (Sabina) on various occasions and you have never mentioned any of the “issues” written in this review. You have even done your check out with me and when I asked if everything was okay your answer was “YES”.

We would like to advise you as well all our guests to read about our resort before booking. Yes, we are very secluded and we are built into nature. If you do not like open air spaces, harmless animals and the sound of the tropical jungle, well we are afraid this is not your place.

We are trying to be as environmentally friendly as possible. This is very important living on such a small island. The island resources are very limited unfortunately. Yes every room has its own solar panel in order to heat the hot water. In a cloudy day the water is heated by an electrical water heater in order to avoid cold water showers.
If you were worried for your expensive items you could have left them in the big safety box at the reception. This is well explained in each guest information pack. Every room has its own safety deposit box and the villa gates can be locked. We also have a night duty guard who is walking around the resort every single night.

Pool villa bathrooms are open air. They are beautifully built into nature – trees, rocks, etc. Yes the jungle inhabitants may come for a visit – squirrels, land crabs, tree snakes, gekos etc. This is their home. We have 24h reception duty and we can always come to remove any animal, insect etc from your room or bathroom.

The squirrels do take the hand soap if you leave your soap holder open. This is of course explained to you in the guest information pack.
No, there is not a private entrance to the sea below pool villa 7. There is also a sign saying that “you enter at your own risk”.

After having a meeting with the reception staff, I am afraid but no one at the reception have ever received any complain from you regarding the “rats situation” in you villa. The only time this has been highlighted was at your last night.

We can guarantee you that an action and investigation would have taken place because we only want the best for our guests.

Isabelle did make the right decision by moving you to another pool villa for the last night of your stay, this was for your comfort and peace of mind. It has been reported to me that 2 maintenance staff have helped you with moving your luggage. It would have been impossible really for you to go back and carry your own luggage for the simple reason that Pool villa 7 would have been locked.

Yes indeed you made your check out with me - Sabina. Not only that you didn’t mention any problem but you also said how good everything was. We spoke about your travels all the places you have visited prior Koh Tao (Vietnam - Hanoi and Myanmar – Bagan). I also gave you all the information regarding the ferries and the free transfer service available FOR ALL OUR GUESTS from the resort to the pier daily. Yes we have set hours for the free transfer service depending to the ferry schedules and ferry operators time requirements (check-in, boarding). This is how I really don’t see how you dare to say that I have ignored you and “walked away saying absolutely nothing to us in an apparent avoidance, ignore the issues passive management style”.???

Of course I would react and take action if I was only aware of that you are not enjoying your stay with us.
You did send me an email, later after your check out, saying that it was not such a good experience and that you want to take the first ferry out of Koh Tao. When I responded back asking what the problem was and if there is anything I can do to make your last day special you simply did not reply to me.

In response of your comment regarding the restaurant service.
We do have a supervisor who is in charge of the staff daily. The daily fresh juice served in the restaurant is changed every day. Maybe that day was just a different fruit juice. However you as pool villa guests are entitled to a large list of fresh juices, smoothies and boosts.

It is very difficult to trace back what exactly has happened that morning in the restaurant as your stay with us was almost one year ago.

There is a waiter who is in charge of cutting fresh fruits every morning. So upon your request a fresh fruit plates is prepared and brought to your table. Tongs or spoons where needed are provided at the breakfast buffet.

I can assure you and all Tripadvisor readers that our staff are very well fed and looked after. We provide to everybody accommodation and meals daily free of charge. We already raised these point with the restaurant supervisor.

We are very surprised to hear that you actually didn’t like the massage service. You were the one who chose rebook another session saying how good the massage was!
There is a booking list and massage appointments. Sometimes some customers take slightly longer time or there are delays but this has never been a problem to any other customer. But nonetheless we would like to apologise for this.

Yes, I was at the reception when you complained that your massage was moved back 20 min.

No I did not react but in my opinion our reception staff are competent enough to manage such situations. Sometimes it is simply out of our control. You did not seem to be upset at the time.

The hairdresser salon is located right next to the resort. Our massage therapists are Thai nationals with all certified, and with years of experience. Please note that they do not work in a hairdresser salon. They work strictly as therapists for View Point Resort. There is no fraud whatsoever. Of course you can try and ask in the hairdresser salon for a massage but it will be refused.

The resort check in time is 2.00pm. Yes you can arrive earlier and we will welcome you but your luggage will be stored at the reception and moved to your room once ready, which in any case will never be after 2.00pm. In your case you have arrived and proceed to check in before 12.00pm. Isabelle who did your check in has offered to keep your luggage at reception until your villa gets free and ready. You have refused and actually insulted her saying how incompetent she is. You requested a room immediately and she offered you Pool villa 3. This is not a regular procedure I assure you. I believe all your needs were met and you could enjoy the private pool of pool villa 3 without any additional charge.

In any case thank you for writing your review!

We would like to inform you that you are not welcome anymore at View Point Resort.
You have insulted and offended all our staff by leaving such a review full of lies.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the view point. We were here for my sisters wedding and stayed in pool villa 2. Our room was luxurious and the view was amazing. Definitely a romantic retreat for couples. The provided breakfast was delicious. As was the rest of the food from the restaurant.

The crew who work at view point were excellent and very attentive. A bartender called Tun wowed us with his magic tricks while serving us copious cocktails. What a guy!

The wedding was absolutely beautiful. The bridesmaids got ready in the pool villa which was the perfect backdrop for bridal photos. The wedding planner from view point organised everything from makeup to decorations without a hitch.

Thanks for an awesome stay, we loved this place!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews