We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of View Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Point Resort
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Been here with my girlfriend over the weekend got pick up at the pier check in in the villa and belive me our villa was just stunning outdoor bath seperate villa for living room sunset sala and infinity pool absoulout privat space no one can look inside. Littel craps visiting in the evening spectacular sunset and breakfast in ur villa.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 508 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a stay! We booked into one of the cheaper pool villas, although perhaps more reasonable than some of the other villas on property, our villa was amazing.

The breakfasts here at the Viewpoint are no joke, do your best to book in with the breakfast option included. We did lunch a few times, once down at the restaurant and once at the villa. Really good food here, too bad we never enjoyed a Viewpoint dinner.

The design and decor of this hotel property are wonderful. Blending nature and bali stylings on the beautiful cliff overlooking the sea. The staff were very helpful and friendly, quiet yet attentive. They were great, accenting the hotel's vibe and energy.

The location here is perfect. A quick 10 minute taxi to Sairee Beach is easy enough if you want to go into town for shopping or party. It's also a quick 10 minute walk to the beach at Chalok Bay. This is another good area with a variety of restaurants, bars and dive shops.

This place makes life easy at Koh Tao. The best place we've stayed in Thailand.

Room Tip: Do the right thing and spring for a pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cally-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for one night and moved out as this place is in a terrible location accessed via goat track. Upon arrival we had to step trough a construction site to get to the hut which was the reception. Villas where with seawater shower only and we got ask to put our used toilet paper in a bucket next to the toilet. When questioning this we were told that they will clean this once a day. Bathroom has that much mothballs to cover the "crap" smell that you can only stay in there for a few minutes. The restaurant has a German chef and the menu is largely German. (In Thailand?) Food was terrible as we tried one of only a few Thai dishes on the menu. Pork nuckles and appfelstrudel and no thai food?
Staff all tried hard and were friendly but none are Thai. Location is that far removed from everything that you need a taxi to go anywhere. Don't waste you time walking down to the beach, not a swimming beach and no decent restaurants anywhere near.
We have been on Koh Tao before and love the island but this location and resort is just wrong. No notice of construction was given either so totally unexpected to this when arriving. Worst value for money, should be 1 star not 3 totally overpriced.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a trip touring Thailand. The resort was ideally located for us; out of the village centre but only a 10 minute walk to its shops and restaurants. We stayed in a Sea View Cottage, paying £27 per night room only for a couple. The room was an average size and comprised of a large comfortable bed, mosquito net and 2 fans. Other that that, it is fairly basic with raised areas off the floor where you can put your belongings. To be clear, this is all that the room comprises of; there is no safety deposit box, telephone, TV etc. You receive 1 complimentary bottle of water per day per person which is good but having no fridge means it can't be chilled.

The shower room is a wet room set up and is complete with complimentary toiletries. However, ours was a little on the small side so after showering almost the entire floor and the WC itself was soaking wet. Externally, we had a large covered veranda area with a table, floor cushions, chair, a towel rack and a beautiful view across the bay. The large doors leading from the room to the veranda only have thin cream curtains over them so we needed our eyemasks. However, we would have needed them anyway as none of the windows have curtains over them, including those in the shower room. People walking past could only see our heads but we found this a little unnerving when showering. We slept with the windows and doors open and the fans running to keep the room as cool as possible during the night. Because of the fans, we wore earplugs but if we hadn't we don't think we would have had any noise issues whatsoever.

There was no Wi-Fi in the room but there was Wi-Fi in reception and at the seafront bar and restaurant. It was slow but functional. On the 2 occasions we ate at the resort restaurant, the food was good and reasonably priced for the quality (higher end than the average Thai restaurant). However, on both occasions it took over 30 minutes from ordering to serving even though we were the only people in the restaurant. All the staff we encountered were friendly and eager to help.

From the reception to the restaurant there are over 80 steps which was manageable for us but could be a hindrance for people with restricted mobility.

Overall, we feel that the resort is charging the right amount for the room – any more though and it would be overpriced.

Room Tip: Try and arrive before dark so that you can a) walk into town whilst it is still light (narrow walkwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cetra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in Sairee so the free pick up and return to our accommodation was a bonus. We had been told at our resort the previous chef had left that had gained so much positive feedback, however we decided to give it whirl regardless. It did not disappoint although are most expensive meal at 2600 thai baht this was 3 courses, glasses of wine and cocktails a beautiful view and cool location. The menu is fusion and each course was beautifully presented and well balanced with flavours. We would recommend this restaurant as treat whilst on the island.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LAKECOMO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

View Point Resort is a really nice place. The bungalows are quite comfortable, we had everything we needed and the views are amazing. Staff were friendly, too, food was delicious and the cold shower didn't bother us. Unfortunately, Chalok Baan Kao and the whole island bay were full of hordes of French proles so next time when we will go to Ko Tao we will try to avoid French vacation periods.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is amazing. If you're looking for an authentic island experience and like well-appointed private rooms and living areas, this is the spot. I stayed in Pool Villa 1. The property has 6 or 7 villas that are unique and appropriately separated for max privacy. The resort is perched on a bluff directly above the water. Villa 1 is situated in a central position within the resort.

The villa was very well-appointed with premium wood and stone throughout. These villas are designed for an outdoor, open, airy experience. You can close the bedroom(s) off and use the A/C but impeding that view in any way is a crime. Living area is open-air only, mosquito punk incense is provided. You will need bug repellent! (They supply a can or two). Bathroom is open air. New toilets/fixtures. For some reason, they didn't provide more than 2 towels. Its a pool villa so more towels are in order. Privacy isn't an issue.

Living/sitting areas are clean, airy, thoughtfully furnished. They even had some small board games by the minibar. TV with cable channels, (even HBO), DVD player (movies at front desk), Bed was really comfortable with bug net. Minibar has a nice selection. You have to order ice from room service though. Room service selection is nice, varied w western food available. Food was good quality, delivered fresh and nicely presented. No 24-hr room service.

Since this place is up on a hill, you have to get anything you might need from a 7-11 down the hill. Bars/stores/vendors are not far away at all but you have to deal with the climb up the stairs to the villa area. The beach below the resort isn't very big as far as sandy area. They're building something at the road entrance to the hotel (maybe a new reception area?). Noise was not an issue for us at all. Not even from our neighbors whom we didn't hear either. All staff encountered were very helpful, pleasant, nice. All don't speak English but there's always someone on staff who does.

This is one of the pricier options in a place where there are so many other much cheaper options. You get more than what you pay for here and for the pool villas price, the value was great. Every place in your room from your private infinity pool to living to bedroom area, has unimpeded ocean views that go far as you can see. The pictures can't capture the place at all, you have to see it. Its amazing!

Room Tip: Each Pool Villa is unique. You need to check the resort website to find the layout, view, size, tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGE5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,549 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,287 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Resort

Address: Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $74 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View Point Resort believes that absolute privacy creates the perfect setting for a peaceful and restful environment from which our guests will benefit. View Point Resort is located at the pinnacle of Chalok Baan Kao, cut off from the towns & other resorts, but nonetheless at a pleasant walking distance to all amenities. Here you will find a spiritual kind of quiet. Join us in paying homage to Buddha Rock, who watches over our resort, blesses our days & offers us protection and comfort. This is a place to relax, unwind, contemplate, & re-connect with nature. Sometimes life requires you to break away from routine. View Point Resort is your shelter from the storm of everyday life. This is the place to celebrate what is truly important in life - Serenity and Joy. We believe that all of this makes us the most uniquely situated resort on Koh Tao. We hope that you can take pleasure in our efforts, but moreover that you can also share and embrace our concept. Relax, enjoy, & take pleasure in what has been meticulously crafted for your profound satisfaction and pure delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your View Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Point Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing