We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
378
151
40
25
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
151
40
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool villa sea view cottages lemongrass tea pirate bar our honeymoon chalok bay garden cottage alvaro diving mosquito net cold towels outdoor shower surrounded by nature walk along the beach the cottages high tide stayed here for nights private beach
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 610 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a stay! We booked into one of the cheaper pool villas, although perhaps more reasonable than some of the other villas on property, our villa was amazing.

The breakfasts here at the Viewpoint are no joke, do your best to book in with the breakfast option included. We did lunch a few times, once down at the restaurant and once at the villa. Really good food here, too bad we never enjoyed a Viewpoint dinner.

The design and decor of this hotel property are wonderful. Blending nature and bali stylings on the beautiful cliff overlooking the sea. The staff were very helpful and friendly, quiet yet attentive. They were great, accenting the hotel's vibe and energy.

The location here is perfect. A quick 10 minute taxi to Sairee Beach is easy enough if you want to go into town for shopping or party. It's also a quick 10 minute walk to the beach at Chalok Bay. This is another good area with a variety of restaurants, bars and dive shops.

This place makes life easy at Koh Tao. The best place we've stayed in Thailand.

Room tip: Do the right thing and spring for a pool villa.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cally-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for one night and moved out as this place is in a terrible location accessed via goat track. Upon arrival we had to step trough a construction site to get to the hut which was the reception. Villas where with seawater shower only and we got ask to put our used toilet paper in a bucket next to the toilet. When questioning this we were told that they will clean this once a day. Bathroom has that much mothballs to cover the "crap" smell that you can only stay in there for a few minutes. The restaurant has a German chef and the menu is largely German. (In Thailand?) Food was terrible as we tried one of only a few Thai dishes on the menu. Pork nuckles and appfelstrudel and no thai food?
Staff all tried hard and were friendly but none are Thai. Location is that far removed from everything that you need a taxi to go anywhere. Don't waste you time walking down to the beach, not a swimming beach and no decent restaurants anywhere near.
We have been on Koh Tao before and love the island but this location and resort is just wrong. No notice of construction was given either so totally unexpected to this when arriving. Worst value for money, should be 1 star not 3 totally overpriced.

Room tip: choose a different hotel
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a trip touring Thailand. The resort was ideally located for us; out of the village centre but only a 10 minute walk to its shops and restaurants. We stayed in a Sea View Cottage, paying £27 per night room only for a couple. The room was an average size and comprised of a large comfortable bed, mosquito net and 2 fans. Other that that, it is fairly basic with raised areas off the floor where you can put your belongings. To be clear, this is all that the room comprises of; there is no safety deposit box, telephone, TV etc. You receive 1 complimentary bottle of water per day per person which is good but having no fridge means it can't be chilled.

The shower room is a wet room set up and is complete with complimentary toiletries. However, ours was a little on the small side so after showering almost the entire floor and the WC itself was soaking wet. Externally, we had a large covered veranda area with a table, floor cushions, chair, a towel rack and a beautiful view across the bay. The large doors leading from the room to the veranda only have thin cream curtains over them so we needed our eyemasks. However, we would have needed them anyway as none of the windows have curtains over them, including those in the shower room. People walking past could only see our heads but we found this a little unnerving when showering. We slept with the windows and doors open and the fans running to keep the room as cool as possible during the night. Because of the fans, we wore earplugs but if we hadn't we don't think we would have had any noise issues whatsoever.

There was no Wi-Fi in the room but there was Wi-Fi in reception and at the seafront bar and restaurant. It was slow but functional. On the 2 occasions we ate at the resort restaurant, the food was good and reasonably priced for the quality (higher end than the average Thai restaurant). However, on both occasions it took over 30 minutes from ordering to serving even though we were the only people in the restaurant. All the staff we encountered were friendly and eager to help.

From the reception to the restaurant there are over 80 steps which was manageable for us but could be a hindrance for people with restricted mobility.

Overall, we feel that the resort is charging the right amount for the room – any more though and it would be overpriced.

Room tip: Try and arrive before dark so that you can a) walk into town whilst it is still light (narrow walkway along the seashore) and b) you can open the windows and doors to let some of the heat out before going to bed.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cetra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in Sairee so the free pick up and return to our accommodation was a bonus. We had been told at our resort the previous chef had left that had gained so much positive feedback, however we decided to give it whirl regardless. It did not disappoint although are most expensive meal at 2600 thai baht this was 3 courses, glasses of wine and cocktails a beautiful view and cool location. The menu is fusion and each course was beautifully presented and well balanced with flavours. We would recommend this restaurant as treat whilst on the island.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank LAKECOMO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

View Point Resort is a really nice place. The bungalows are quite comfortable, we had everything we needed and the views are amazing. Staff were friendly, too, food was delicious and the cold shower didn't bother us. Unfortunately, Chalok Baan Kao and the whole island bay were full of hordes of French proles so next time when we will go to Ko Tao we will try to avoid French vacation periods.

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews