We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning!”
Review of View Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Point Resort
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What can I say about this place? It was definitely even better than the pictures shown on the website! The Villa's are just wonderful.. clean, comfortable and have everything you may need to fill in the lazy days around your private pool. The room service and food was fantastic and more like something from a 5 star restaurant than a hotel. If you are thinking of spoiling yourself on the island then GO HERE!! The only thing you may need to keep in mind is that the location of the hotel is quite far from the main town. And you will need to use either taxis (which the staff are happy to arrange) or hire a bike to get around. Be aware that there are some very steep hills on the road to the hotel - so keep that in mind when considering how to get around. And be sure to arrange a pick up from the main Pier - to avoid any problems finding View Point.. One last thing was that at the end of our trip - 'The drivers' stayed with our bags and helped us with booking our ferry tickets to depart the island. This was not payed for nor expected. But such a lovely and considerate thing to do. We absolutely adored our stay here - and I am sure that you will too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 7 - which is the last Villa.. Very Private, with a great view all the way along t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 512 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for around a week over the Christmas period and had an amazing time. We loved the location - it was incredibly scenic, secluded, private and at the same time provides easy access to a local beach and a local t village, Chalock Baan Kao. The standard of the accommodation in our villa was first class, stylish and functional. The staff were all very helpful and friendly allowing us to get by without any Thai.

The restaurant is similarly excellent Thai fusion fare (local fresh crab tacos and lobster pad Thai were memorable) and I would say fairly priced for the standard, albeit being at the upper end of the market in Thailand. We ate there roughly half the time, and in Chalok Baan Koa for the remainder (which has plenty of options for all budgets). The restaurant is down close to sea level, most of the accommodation is elevated on the hill side so restaurant access is via a couple of flights of steps through pleasant jungle foliage. The path is illuminated at night but we found a torch (provided in our room) was also sensible.

The local village, is a 10 min stroll along the coast. Part of the walk is across a beach which (like a lot of beaches) is tidal. At high tide it has a fairly idyllic toes-in-the-water aspect but it was always easily passable in my experience.

We will very likely be heading back.

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Amazing as the pictures show .. And we had the best time !! Staff were so nice !!
Only a few bad commits :
For $350 US dollars in Thailand I expected perfection
AC was noisy in the middle of the night
DVD didn't work so they brought a new one
Wi fi didn't work for a few days but they got it in the end ..
The restaurant is beautiful but supper expensive ( $20 mains )

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Yuval A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We only stayed here for 2 nights and wished we had booked longer, we even considered cancelling the rest of our trip just to stay! We stayed in Pool Villa 1 which was absolutely beautiful and very private. A member of the hotel staff was waiting for us at the ferry pier even though our ferry was 2 hours late and our transfer to and from the ferry pier was free with the hotel which was great.

Good points:
- The lush villa, and the view was to die for!
- Beautiful private beach at the bottom of the resort
- Really nice and quiet
- Comfortable bed
- Pool doubles up as a spa
- Breakfast delivered to our room free of charge
- Only a short stroll along the beach into town, and we loved wading through the water when the tide was high
- Lots of lovely beach bars and restaurants on the way into town
- Dozing off on the balcony overlooking the ocean...bliss!!
- Free transfers to and from ferry pier, and they also booked our ferry tickets for us
- Cute little squirrel visitors

Bad points:
- Nobody came to tidy the room the whole time we were there
- Breakfast was nice but not amazing, the shakes were yummy but our croissants were burnt and the overall quality/taste of the food was average
- The hotel staff weren't very helpful, there was a Canadian girl who was really nice but only seemed to be there for check-ins/check-outs. We kept asking for a late checkout and the man at reception wouldn't tell us until actual checkout time
- The urinal in the bathroom took away from the lushness a bit, and the urinal cakes stunk the place out (we ended up wrapping them in a bag and throwing them out)
- Lamps in the loungeroom weren't plugged in and I had to move them to one side and unplug tv and dvd player to plug them in
- Chocolate in mini bar was full of water and tasted off, when we mentioned this to staff they didn't charge us for it which was good

This place wouldn't be very suitable for somebody who struggles with stairs, unless they are planning on staying in the villa the whole time which would be quite easy to do since it's so lush!

Overall the experience was good, the staff there would be lost without the Canadian girl who seemed to hold everything together. I would recommend the rest of the staff have some better training in customer service.

This place would be amazing for a wedding as it has some spectacular views and stunning gardens, we saw a wedding being set up while we were there and it looked beautiful. I think the place will look even better when they finish construction.

Room Tip: Pool villa's are amazing, but if you are looking for an amazing view for a bit less of the cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keirra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 5 nights in the sea view chalet and loved it! It was a little bit out of the way but the walk through the bars and restaurants was always interesting and made for a topic of conversation along the way. We had friends who stayed in the garden chalets which they really didn't enjoy. They found it dark and a little "unfinished". We are from Africa so certainly didn't mind the extra visits by the larger lizards, geckos and squirrels - these all added to the jungle vibe.
The staff were very helpful and any need was obligingly and happily attended to. Our only real suggestion was that their restaurant add a more casual menu which is more realistically priced as we found the fare offered a little fancy and expensive for everyday meal requirements.

Room Tip: Would definitely choose the sea view chalets rather than the garden view chalets- worth the slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at View Point for 4 nights. We arrived at the pier and got a taxi (note you need to explain where you are going as they need a 4x4 drive to take you to the resort). The taxi will cost no more then 100 Baht per person.

Arrival was simple and we were quickly taken to our bungalow. Here are the pros & cons:

PROS
** Being on the south part of the island was lovely, relaxing and beautiful. I am not sure I could stay in Sairee
** It is a 10 min walk around the coast to the little town with bars, restaurants, yoga classes, diving schools and shops
** The bugalow was clean, amazing view and, even though the hotel staff were reluctant, there was enough space for 3 girls
** The bar is lovely for an end of the day drink

CONS
** No hot water (you get over this very quickly as it is hot and you don't really want a hot shower)
** The bathroom is super super dark and the water smells really weird
** They don't change the towels and only make up the room if you give them your keys and request it
** The restaurant is delicious but overpriced (for Thailand)
** The costal pathway from the resort to the town goes under at high tide
** There is no beach! When they say Ocean views that is what you get, an ocean view but not a sandy beach
** Beds at horrible, super uncomfortable
** You get visitors! We had a small tree snake on our balcony and a giant gecko in the bedroom.

OTHER
- Nice place to eat is Yin Yang
- Eat the pancakes with Nutella and Coconut from the man out the front of the 7/11
- Go and visit Haadtien for a drink at the bar
- Walk the coast the other direction towards The Pinnacle Dive Resort and you find lots of lovely little places that remind you of Robinson Crusoe

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohannaWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at View Poitn Resort in early December for 8 nights. We were greeted at the pier by a hotel staff member and paid a discounted price for the trip to our hotel (100 bhat pp from memory). It is definately out of the main town but worth heading to this location. Hotel staff gave us a wet flannel for our faces on arrival which was magnificent as we were so hot, as well as a nice tea. After being directed to our room, we were in awe of our bungalow and the view of Chalok Bay! We were in the first row of bungalows from the sea - high enough to be amongst the forest, but also not too far from the water or restaurant (1 min walk). The view was incredible! It felt private as there was bush between the bungalows. The room had a bed which was quite hard and you could feel the springs, but we slept fairly well. We had a fan - which was definately needed - it got hot, so it cooled us down well! The bathroom was modern with a shower that looked out to the sea - great indoor/outdoor feel. Loved the complimentary shampoo/conditioner and body moisturiser - smelled delciious! The restaurant was amazing! Food was delicious everytime! Such great quality food for decent Western prices (but expensive compared to the cheap Thai restaurants surrounding). But for that quality - it would be wrong to make it cheaper! Chalok Bay is lovely. The resort had its own private beach, which was the best spot by far - but you could walk along to other parts of the bay/restaurants easily. '711' and other shops/mini marts were within a 5-10min walk from hotel. Did get a little noisy from a couple of bars in the bay - but with windows shut you couldn't hear it. It is a little isolated from the rest of the town - need to get a taxi out - but we were happy to be in a not so crowded area. Overall had a great time and loved every minute. Allie (the owner) was lovely - helping us out with restaurant choices and other options. We will be back Allie! Your place was paradise! Very lovely restaurant staff also!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie_3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,559 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Resort

Address: Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $76 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View Point Resort believes that absolute privacy creates the perfect setting for a peaceful and restful environment from which our guests will benefit. View Point Resort is located at the pinnacle of Chalok Baan Kao, cut off from the towns & other resorts, but nonetheless at a pleasant walking distance to all amenities. Here you will find a spiritual kind of quiet. Join us in paying homage to Buddha Rock, who watches over our resort, blesses our days & offers us protection and comfort. This is a place to relax, unwind, contemplate, & re-connect with nature. Sometimes life requires you to break away from routine. View Point Resort is your shelter from the storm of everyday life. This is the place to celebrate what is truly important in life - Serenity and Joy. We believe that all of this makes us the most uniquely situated resort on Koh Tao. We hope that you can take pleasure in our efforts, but moreover that you can also share and embrace our concept. Relax, enjoy, & take pleasure in what has been meticulously crafted for your profound satisfaction and pure delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your View Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Point Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing