We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$111
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
International Foodie
New York City, New York

Beautiful Pool Villa

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 2, 2012
My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon for three nights in Pool Villa 6. We were picked up by the hotel at the pier (complimentary).

Though I'd mentioned to the hotel several times via email that we would be on our honeymoon, they did nothing special and in fact did not even mention our honeymoon.

We were taken to our pool villa, which was amazing. Very creative architecture, which integrated the natural rock and elements and was quite luxurious. It's an open design to allow you to experience as much nature as you'd like.

Our first night we thought we would go sans air conditioner so we might here the waves crashing below, but quickly changed our minds in the middle of the night after being attacked by mosquitos. However, after closing all the doors and turning on the A/C we were very comfortable and had a great sleep the other two nights.

We ate at the restaurant the first night and were sorely disappointed. The restaurant does not in any way reflect a luxury resort where you pay 10,000 THB a night for the room. We thought we would try it for dinner since the prices were fairly reasonable and it had a rustic look to it. After sitting there for a while though, it looked more dirty than rustic. The portions were very small and when we didn't eat our squid and asked for a new menu to order something more palatable the staff didn't bother asking once if we liked the dish or not. We complained to the lady who runs the resort, but she did not bother taking the 300 THB dish off our bill. Bottom line- stay away from the restaurant!!

It's a real shame this place doesn't have good food. The pool villas were so well thought out, and are so romantic, but even the included breakfast in our villa wasn't very good.

We would strongly recommend the pool villas for a honeymoon or romantic escape, just bring your own food or plan on eating elsewhere.
Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$123
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $123
1.2 miles from View Point Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $81
  • Hotels.com
    $119
0.8 miles from View Point Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Cape Shark
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Agoda.com
    $131
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from View Point Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View
Booking.com
$274
$96
  • Hotels.com
    $274
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $274
0.6 miles from View Point Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool & beach
Booking.com
$47
$46
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $47
2.3 miles from View Point Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $60
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from View Point Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $75
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from View Point Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $96
  • Priceline
2.8 miles from View Point Resort
Free parking
Pool
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $76
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from View Point Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • eDreams
3.7 miles from View Point Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveler rating
480
174
45
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
480
174
45
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool villa garden view cottage chalok bay sea view our honeymoon surrounded by nature the hotel offers taxi service shark bay viewpoint paradise island luxury jungle thai ferry spiders
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 746 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed 11 days in the View Point and we were supposed to stay 5... Still, it's not all thanks to the resort because we just felt in love with Ko Tao like many others but we have to say that this place is just great anyway !
For 1200 bahts per night (discount calculated for the 5 initials days, could have more for 11 !), you get a "cottage" in the moutains away from everything with a such perfect view! The moment you wake up and open the blinders of the huge window/door you have in front of your bed is awesome !
The cottages are brand new and you can really smell the wood inside, very pleasant.
I've heard many times by locals it was one of the best value for a luxury resort in Ko Tao.
I think the bad part would be the location, as it's in the mountain, the access might be very difficult by motorbike (with an atv, it's ok) so you have to park near chalok bay and walk. But still the walk is great to do (except at night with all the crabs on the way to your room, they are really everywhere!)

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BastienS534
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I live in BKK and have made many 3 day weekend trips to Koh Tao. We have stayed at View Point many times. We have also stayed at some of the other resorts on the south side of the island when the VP resort is fully booked. There are cheaper and more convieneint resorts but the VP is very unique and we love it. We have witnessed all of the changes in recent years and are awe struck every time we go back. It keeps getting better. Their staff is the best. The same people that greeted us years ago are still there and remember us. Even the ones that don't speak good english or thai, their smile tells you they remember. It is isolated, each villa, bungalow is very private, far away from the party beaches and backpacker bar scene. If that's what you want, this is not the place. Nature and solitude...this is the place.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjl_aeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The good: staff is very friendly. Bay views are nice. It's quiet and relaxing. Restaurant is good and not too expensive.
Bad: there isn't much of a beach here and the tiny stretch of sand they have is full of trash- I wouldn't even swim in it. Unless you go for a villa with your own private pool, youll need to swim elsewhere. While the staff are nice, you'll need to ask for things that seem obvious- when we arrived, our sink was stopped up full of brown water & we couldn't get the drain open; there were no chairs on our balcony so we begged them to bring us 2 chairs so we could enjoy the ocean view; there was never toilet paper in the restaurant bathrooms; etc. This didn't bother us too much, but if you hate to ask for stuff, then you'll be annoyed.
Overall it's fine for a few days but the website oversells it a bit and if you like to swim near where you stay then good luck!

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank butforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I would like to give 4½ stars for View Point. My first impression is staffs. Even thought they can't speak 100% Thai or English, but they're truly polite. We lived in V cottage, no air-condition or refrigerator. But we happy with that cottage, 2 fans did their jobs very well. There is a nice restaurant with sea view, but I ordered only Thai food (3-5 USD per dish.) The beach is small but private. There are a lot of corals. I didn't have any problems with insect.
(ps. you can buy an ice bucket to your room if you have your own drink. a small bucket is 20 baht, big bucket 50 baht.)

Cons:
It is so deep. If you want to go outside, you have to walk 10-15mins to get a taxi. Light is not enough on the walk way and also in my room.

Room tip: it you need TV, do not choose V cottage. we bring our own laptop.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shawn_ntth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed at the Cottage V which has a large balcony and facing the sea. The room didn't have a TV and a fridge but it's ok for me. The beach in front of the resort is clear and calm. The restaurant is good quality with reasonable price. And the staffs are very very nice. Thank you all again for such good customer service.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhattraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews