We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcharged etc.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AC Resort
Ranked #48 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overcharged etc.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were poor, there were hundreds of LOUD toads mating in the resort canals, the beds were hard, bugs and cockroaches, they overcharged us 200 baht per night compared to what we initially agreed on. Overall, we were not impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank STIANofNORWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    38
    54
    96
See reviews for
21
82
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

In our room (cottage garden), there was mould in the bathroom walls, dirty windows, mirrors, walls, and the bathroom was so tiny that we almost had to sit on the toilet while showering. We asked to switch rooms the first day of our stay, but they said that "all rooms are same". We stayed for three nights (out of 5 as planned), but barely got any sleep because of noise, especially from a bullfrog-choir in under our cottage-it sounded like 10 cows were standing around our cottage-moaning all night. Then there were construction-workers in the cottage next door, hammering away from 07 am. As mentioned, we checked out and booked another hotel after 3 days. All in all - the experience was not pleasant, and I would advise everyone-especially those traveling with children from staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank MaiHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We paid £28 a night to stay at AC resort (we ended up only staying for one night). The room was basic with unclean towels and bed sheets. Extremely overpriced, this room should of only cost £10 a night at most. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nrp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good value for money. The entrance is amazing. The rooms are small hut like. Cleanliness is average. Very, very close to the Sairee beach. Pool is good fun, get a small ball and black some hand ball in the waters. Too many lady boys at the counters though

Room Tip: Its close to the beach, they have good snorkeling trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night last week and quite frankly I wouldn't have stayed any more even if we had booked it!! The hotel is deceiving from the road as it looks inviting with stepping stones to the appartments, but don't let this fool you. We stayed in one of the AC apartment blocks which were fairly spacious but had no other positive elements. The bathroom was infested with fly's and ants - even though the room was 'cleaned' there was no attempt to kill the nest. Mosquitos came through the bathroom into the bedroom, as the bathroom door did not fit the frame. They also came through the gap under the room door. We must have killed at least 30 mosquitos before going to bed that night. Other smaller problems included; the curtains couldn't shut as they were broken, there were wires hanging out of broken light sockets and there was a nasty looking stray dog that sat outside the room at night and barked at you. Please read this review and learn from our experience, do not ruin your trip to koh tao in this rubbish resort. The other four nights we stayed here we were in big blue 2 which was much better (I'd also recommend checking out sairee cottages).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked online and paid £30 for a nights stay in a standard room but it was only a twin which we didnt mind! The room had aircon, fridge and tv and a fan! The room was mouldy and the beds were damp we ended yp pulling the covers back with the fan and aircon on full whack to dry them out! The beds were hight and not comfy at all! The shower was rubbish and not very warm water. The front door had a huge gap in the bottom and let mosqutios in and due to being in the back of the resort and in the jungle it made them doubly worse! Pool was nice but once again in the jungle so constant dive bombing and biting from mozzys! Wifi poor only in public areas but never worked! We stayed one night and moved on to siree cottages

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stacey8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights because my fiance was diving with Phoenix divers and then immediately moved out. The room we had was small and dirty. The fan was disgusting and needed to be cleaned. The bathroom stunk and the door didn't shut properly - we had to fashion something to keep it closed. The sink constantly ran and the bathroom was always wet, attracting mosquitos.

It was hard to sleep at night because of the loud music coming from the beach. The base was so loud I could feel it in the bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Clear View Resort
Clear View Resort
#33 of 74 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Resort

Property: AC Resort
Address: 1 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing