We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food intoxication after having dinner”
Review of AC Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AC Resort
Ranked #48 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food intoxication after having dinner”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to AC for dinner because the location and the BBQ looked nice... Wrong descision!
It might had been the ice or the omelette, because I was the only one having a shake and thai omelette. However the coming night and day I spent on toilet (diarrhea, throwing up and so on) until my girlfriend got all the medicine (for 750THB) in the pharmacy.
Thanks AC; was a expensive evening ;)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Claudito-Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    39
    54
    97
See reviews for
21
83
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We had booked this hotel for 2 nights but checked out after 1 and wouldn't have even stayed the night had we not arrived late in koh Tao.

The bungalow we were given was dirty and the general grounds were dirty having to walk past a big pile of smelly rubbish to get to our room (see photo).

However, the biggest issue we had with this resort was the pools of stagnant water everywhere. Between each 2 bungalows is a old pond with what once upon a time was a waterfall but now it's just disgusting filth. The pond under our bungalow had a condom wrapper and beer bottles floating in it that had clearly been there a long time.

The worst part is the bathroom tap feeds into this open pond. One can only imagine the bacteria growing.

The sheets were stained but clean. The air con worked and wasn't loud and there was no mini fridge in the room.

The pool area and front restaurant looked nice.

We paid $50 per night and given the outbreak of dengue in Thailand the conditions of this place was really not acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank makeup_ladyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with 3 of my other friends. The bungalows where cute with a nice little deck. Plasma tv and 2 large double beds. The air con didn't work and neither did our fan but we didn't complain. We wernt in the room that much. The bathrooms are like any other Thai bathroom. Shower toilet sink. Wet room basically. The food and drink bar was really cheap and the view spectacular. I would definitely recommend to a friend or go again :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

i stayed here for 5 days, after moving out from jp resort, as i dived with phoenix divers.
everything you can read before my post can be true. i stayed exactly in the same room what user camilah- you can see her photos.
luckly i had no bed bugs (!)
room is very dark, smells with fungus and humidity, not very clean. shower just reminds of a shower. hot water though- nice to have warm shower after the dives.
bed very uncomfortable! hated it really, not even good to sit on.
definitely can find better places for same price or lower, at koh tao.
pool is relativly new- renewed like 2-3 months ago, jump in if you can :)
and stuff was pretty friendly, had problem with card payment, so they didn't make a problem out of it, waited till i sorted my situation out. always smiling and kind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank technodeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about AC resort is the pool. The room was dark, small and had not been cleaned since the last century. The sheets was not changed from the guest before.

The "garden" that surrounds the bungalows is a djungle full of mosquitos. The lady at the reception was rude when we told her that we wanted cleaning and even more rude when we checked out the next day.

Don't stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank LisaMarieLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights while doing our diving course with Phoenix as it was included. It was pretty good and food in bar was ok. We request to stay for a couple more nights but we thought it was a bit overpriced for what it was, and could get cheaper elsewhere on koh tao

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkEmily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

very dirty, worn out place. Seems like we were the only people staying there. They view on both sides was constriction, but pretty good location, close to everything.
we were taking open water with
Phoenix divers, and, therefore got a comp stay at one of the rooms, which is a sweet deal. however, if you are looking for a nice , quiet, clean place ... look elsewhere!
giant ( ive travelled a lot and ive had insects in my room before, and trust me, theyre huuuge) cockroches started coming up the drain, we counted 8. eventually we had to go and buy stuff to kill them and block the drain).
this resort got a lot of potential, just needs cleaning and major repairs

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank keitysja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Resort

Property: AC Resort
Address: 1 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your AC Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing