We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money - flaws included”
Review of AC Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AC Resort
Ranked #48 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great value for money - flaws included”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

AC Resort is centrally localted at the main beach of Koh Tao - it operates several bungalows ranging from fan to A/C situated in a green, tropical environment. The resort futures a pool, a restaurant, a bar and discounted rooms in case you book dive lessons with one of the local schools (Phoenix divers - highly recommended).

The central location makes it a perfect homebase for diving, eating, accessing the beach and exploring the island. So far, so perfect. Unfortunately the overweight guy at the reception is so unfriendly that he not only deserves to be mentioned here but that it also leaves you sometimes just speechless. He might have had a bad day or whatever kind of problems, but in this case he had the same problems several times with different people.

The attached restaurant and bar overlooking the beach offer stunning views at sunset and reasonable food at decent prices - the service especially in the restaurant is totally dependent of your waiter. Some are just too busy chatting that they just can't take your order within 15 min while others will be fast and friendly.

The second thing to point out is the totally disatrous state in which the bathrooms of some of the fan-bungalows are. Mouldy walls, uncleaned, no real ventilation, no flush toilets - we are surely not picky but here a stroke of work wasn't done in years. If you don't believe it just have a look by by yourself. During one weeks we only got new towels after asking for them at the reception, the rooms weren't cleaned in this period.

Long story short told this resort offers great value for your money and we would have given the full rating but the above mentioned points are so prominent, that they are just not acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    39
    54
    97
See reviews for
21
83
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I am absolutely staggered by the rudeness with which I was treated at this place. They drew us in with the sell that all the rooms had free WIFI (which we needed for work purposes), but we had to stay for a minimum of 2 nights, which had to pay in advance including a 300Baht deposit. The WIFI barely worked even at the front desk, and when my wife politely asked the front desk person to help he was extremely rude to her. I then told them that we wanted to leave since they were unable to hold up their end of the deal, and they refused and told me to 'f**k off' and were incredibly insulting towards us both. And all this from a polite inquiry as to why the internet service we were promised with our rooms wasn't working.

This place actually looks ok on the surface - great location, and the rooms aren't too bad (though 500 Baht for a sweltering insect infested bungalow is a little steep by most people's estimation). However, the incredible rudeness of the front desk person here was frankly disgusting. His attitude was the worst I've ever come across in all my travels around the world, and I couldn't warn people off staying here enough. I agree with everyone else who has given this place terrible reviews - they simply shouldn't be allowed to be in business.

I say it again - the people here were as rude to me as anyone has ever been in my whole life. Stay here only if you want to give your money to money grabbing, honourless, rude and horrible people.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AEWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Koh Samui
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were two nights on family bungalow and it was ok. Very good location and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveandletdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Cons: Extremely loud frogs at night, rude front desk staff, and ac did not work in my room. Pros: good food at the restaurant, nice location, decent price (if the ac had worked, otherwise it was overpriced).
I would not stay here again based on the service alone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spydrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Amazing accommodations and great location! There are two style of rooms, the older "bungalows" and the newer remodeled versions. If you can, obviously get the newer ones, they're great. The rooms and bathrooms are modern, they come with a big front porch and the places are tucked back from the street so you get privacy. The staff are not the friendliest but then again I wasn't trying to make best friends with 'em. If you're looking for a good room at a good price, bang! You got it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Woke up in the middle of the night, itch all over ur body, found tens of thousands of small and big bed bugs on ur pillow and on the bed. If that's what u dream for holiday. Welcome to ac resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicky_Jenslein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Wanted to stay there and was interested in a room but as I was waiting forever to be acknowledged at the front desk the person working there started arguing with a girl infront of me and threatened to hit her at the end. If they can beat you up at the front desk in this hotel I can imagine what will happen if you get a room there. I just left right away. I thought it was therably rood to threat costumer that way and especially offensive with prices like that. DONT EVER STAY IN AC RESORT!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Coffecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.1 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Resort

Property: AC Resort
Address: 1 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your AC Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing