We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near the beach.”
Review of Saireehut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saireehut Resort
Ranked #73 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location near the beach.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed in a two floor suite close to the pool and yet far enough away from the noise at the bar next door for 4 days at the end of February (number 8). The room was beautiful and the bed on the main level was very comfortable. My son slept in the loft upstairs and said the bed was quite hard and unfortunately the air conditioning didn't quite make it that far up. Sadly the buffet breakfast left something to be desired and I chose to eat elsewhere after two days of attempting it. Another mark against it was the inability to get wifi in the room. That said TV reception was good and I enjoyed the DIVA station probably because I don't have TV at home and it was a novelty. The pool was also lovely and had a great view of the ocean! I also enjoyed their smoothies and curries. Altogether it was a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojostravels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    84
    87
    46
    49
See reviews for
52
111
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great hotel with friendly staff. You can choose between upscale accommodations right next to the pool/beach or cheaper rooms/bungalows a short walking distance away. Lunch/dinner was decent, but breakfast buffet was average.

The only downside is the CanCun bar right next door. They play the same tedious music until 2 AM. Not a problem if you are a heavy sleeper like me, or like to join the "fun".

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was nice, with a tub on the terrace overlooking the beach. But I preferred room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenwimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I'd booked a room, for one night, at Sairee Hut Resort several months in advance of going to Koh Tao. On booking, through their website, I had to pay the full amount (1800 baht). Our travel plans changed which meant we could no longer stay at Sairee Hut so I got in touch with them to request a refund. After not receiving any reply, I emailed again. They came up with every excuse why they couldn't make a refund, and eventually they went silent on me. Their cancellation policy is: 'Any cancellation received within 1 day prior to arrival will incur a full night's charge. Any no-show will not be refunded'. I notified them a month in advance yet they would not make a refund.

Be very aware before booking at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falmouth-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This property seems to have very mixed reviews. We recently stayed for 3 nights and there are definitely some pros and cons.

The location on Sairee beach is absolutely perfect. The hotel is set up on a side street off the main road that leads to the beach and then the rooms are all along the walkway. We were closer to the road and it was still only a 2-3 minute walk to the beach. The reception desk is off the main road and a bit of a walk, but like I said not that far. The woman who checked us in and I think runs the property as she was there all the time is so friendly and helpful. She speaks very good English and gave us a ton of useful information. She also later helped us set up a ferry to Samui. We were able to buy tickets right from her and they were the same price as everywhere else on the island. The front desk is only open between certain hours but we needed to depart very early on our last morning. She offered to have someone there at 5:30 am so we could check out and then allowed us to leave our bags in our room and have the maids remove them so we could come back later and retrieve them. Such a huge help for us as we had scheduled a day of scuba diving and didn't want to take all of our bags with us.

The restaurant and bar literally sit on the beach so you can have your toes in the sand as you eat. Breakfast was included and was a very nice spread. All the staff and attendants were polite and friendly. Both were very reasonably priced. The pool is also right there, which is gorgeous.

The location is perfect. Yes Khao Tao is a party island with a lot of tourists. Many of our neighbors were loud and we got some noise from the street and the beach, but it was at reasonable times, not late into the night. The bars on the beach are loud all the time as they are more like clubs with loud music. Ask to be closer to the street as things there died off pretty early. That being said, we never had a problem with noise when we were trying to go to sleep.

The room itself was where most of the issues were I thought. It is definitely an older property with a lot of visible wear and tear. The beds were okay comfort wise but that close to the beach, I feel like there is always sand on everything-this property was no exception. The rooms are fairly standard size. We felt we had plenty of room for 3 of us to be comfortable. The A/C worked perfectly. The overall cleanliness was the biggest issue I had with the place. The walls, beds, bathroom, etc. looked like they could use a deep clean. There was hair in the bathroom and in the sheets. Stains on the bedspread and the shower tiles. Nothing too terrible or anything, but that's why this property gets an average from me. It's Thailand so ideally you're not in the room that much, but it's nice to come back to a clean place after a long day.

Overall, this place worked nicely for us. You cannot beat the location and pretty much everything else was fine. If cleanliness is overly important to you, maybe pick another place, but we got a great deal and it worked well for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked two double rooms in this hotel for 2 nights. If it weren't for the fact that we were on an island we would have checked out halfway through the first night.

The reception is at the bottom of a sandy track and there is no one to help you take your bags down. We even persuaded the taxi driver to take us half way which he complained about and the rest of the way was an effort dragging the bags in the heat.

They take 1000 BAHT off you as a deposit for the key as soon as you arrive. The pool is not as big as it looks on the pictures. The pool side rooms have really awful decoration (like unfinished cement) and the cleaning staff leave all of the doors and windows open when they clean so they fill up with lots and lots of mosquitos. I asked for mosquito spray and they willingly gave me a full can which got rid of them. The bathroom was dark and gloomy and the water from the shower leaked absolutely everywhere. On a plus note the room did have a bath but the bathroom was so uninviting you would be reluctant to sit in it.

A positive - the restaurant on the beach is really nice and serves good quality Thai food, its a load of white plastic garden furniture with candles on it. The staff however have really bad attitude and don't really care about you being there or not as you are a captive audience I suppose. The hotel is literally on the beach and I enjoyed sunbathing for the day that we were there. There are no beds on the beach and there was some rubbish in the sea. Breakfast is really poor and I heard lots of people complaining about how poor it as they went round. The staff were filling up the trays using their bare hands!

My partner did not sleep a wink either night as the hotel is two doors away from the loudest nightclub you've ever heard. It sounded like the speakers were on the balcony and they set really loud fireworks off ALL NIGHT which you find in the sea the next day. It goes on until around 4am. On the first night after the nightclub had finished there was a fight that broke out between some Thai people underneath the room beside the pool which was really noisy and disruptive. The curtains are not blackout and let in masses of light at sunrise.

When we checked out we told the receptionist about the problems and she said "you should have said" then she put her hands straight on a complaints form and offered us 1000 Baht per room compensation. We did not think this was enough and argued the case but that was all she would give us and we had a ferry to catch so had to go. It looked like it was something they were used to doing every day.

We paid about £90 GBP (4500 BAHT) per night. Total rip off.

Room Tip: I cannot tell you a good room but I can tell you which ones to avoid. Our rooms were up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

After staying in a few average places on the other islands it was a refreshing change to have this beautiful room

Modern, spacious clean & funky we had the poolside deluxe rooms with the large plasma TV & huge shower. maybe the cheaper rooms aren't that good but ours was lovely.

King size comfortable bed downstairs & comfy single upstairs. We had our own party on the roof terrace which was nice.

Good location & best mango daiquiris on Koh Tao. Liked it so much in here stayed extra nights reception & bar staff very friendly & pool area is great.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BUT ONLY PERHAPS THE POOLSIDE DUPLEX ROOMS :) we stayed in 4 & 10


Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunseekers2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stay away, a long way away, if your're not a backpacker with no basic needs other than party all night. If photos lie? This is the real proof, photos looks nice, but this place is not. It's a dirty dump and the staff must be the most ufriendly people living in Asia. The food is, at its best, under average. The neighbour bar is Sairee Bech' late night disco. Closes down beteween 04:30 and 07:00. If you have the "best rooms" that is with air con, you will not be able to sleep at all. If you stay at the dorms you might, but then again you would be a backpacker with no demands at all.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 139 in Koh Tao
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#51 of 139 in Koh Tao
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wind Beach Resort
Wind Beach Resort
#45 of 77 in Koh Tao
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saireehut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saireehut Resort

Property: Saireehut Resort
Address: 14/45 Moo.1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saireehut Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sairee Hut Resort is one of the best choice for spending vacation with the elegance local and boutique architecture in the tranquil setting of Sai Ree Beach Koh Tao, ThailandSairee Beach, Koh Tao, Suratthani ThailandThe Sairee Hut Resort is one of the best choice for spending vacation with the elegance local and boutique architecture in the tranquil setting of Sai Ree Beach. Lots of activities, learning PADI dive courses with our experienced PADI instructors, enjoying the tour to exploring surrounding the Island where is the most famous in Thailand.Some suggestion to make your stay at Sairee Hut Resort enjoyable, Visit our open air restaurant in the most romantic dinner with the best beautiful sunset of Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saireehut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sairee Hut Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing