We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Koh Tao”
Review of Saireehut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saireehut Resort
Ranked #88 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Saireehut Resort for nearly a week during end August 2012. I was initially concerned upon reading some reviews however, in retrospect, think it was a great choice.

We had originally booked two Family Rooms (which I didn't like much, the bathrooms in particular were not very clean) and then upgraded into the Pool Villa with the plunge pool (which was certainly brilliant). The water pressure was somewhat of an issue and despite several complaints, the hot water was not resolved in the upstairs bedroom throughout our 6 day stay. Things worked fine in the downstairs room. I am not sure if this was oversight or something that just could not be or was not fixed.

The resort is right on the beach and one spends most of the time in the beach/pool areas. Breakfast was okay, the bartender NAM was brilliant, and spent lots of time around the beach area ordering food and drinks. MOJO (from Myanmar) was full of humor.

Noteworthy, there are construction works going on within the site but that doesn't interfere with the day-to-day living of the guests. There are rooms of various types to suit different budgets, and I cannot comment on them. The resort also arranges free pick-up and drop-off from hotel premise to-from the Ferry pier at Mae Haad.

I will stay at Saireehut Resort again during future trips to Koh Tao, although will be picky about rooms because GBP 30-40 per night difference makes a huge difference in quality in Thailand.

Room Tip: The villas are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerThruTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saireehut_Resort, Manager at Saireehut Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

DEAR GUEST

Thanks a lot to give me information and wellcome for next time but so sorry about missing I will check with maid soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 339 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are coming to Koh Tao you really only need the beach, food, and maybe a swimming pool. Luckily, this hotel has all three at an affordable price! We recently stayed here for three nights and had just about everything we needed. The room was spacious and just steps from the pool and restaurant area. I was a little surprised that there was no hot water in the shower considering most nearby guesthouses all advertise hot water for lower rates. The bathroom also had a strong urine smell to it when we arrived which was less than pleasant. Most people won't be spending a lot of time in the room, and the pool was clean and overlooking the beach. The included breakfast was also delicious and had many different options. They don't really restock the breakfast items, so don't sleep in if you want the best choice of food. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service to the ferry dock two times a day-- at 9am and 2pm. While the food at the restaurant it a little expensive than most, the food and shakes were good and you can't beat the beachfront view. I wish motorbikes weren't allowed on the path up to the rooms, so be careful when walking- especially at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was my 2nd visit staying at sairee hits, I came last year for a few weeks spread out and stayed here both times in one of the cheaper wooden huts towards the back, which was cheap budget accom and good for what we paid, my sister and I Luved our little bungalow :) we also did our padi here which was amazing, probably the best thing I have ever done, our teacher was Steve and he was great!
The 2nd visit though me and my boyfriend had booked to stay in one of the new rooms after I had seen them getting built last year (they do look fab on the outside!) but to be honest I wasn't to impressed in the inside, yeh there nice, but there not very spacious once insider it looks ash tough you have the whole villa but we didn't as the door for upstairs was locked and other rented the room upstairs, the sofas were rock hard and it just wasn't very comfy..and after a night out we we woken early by builders across the road. Paying 85 pound per night you was expect more anyway we only stayed one night and went into somewhere else id been before, much cheaper luxury!
I would stay here again though if backpacking like my first time as its very central to Koh Tao for nights out etc, and cheap, but wouldn't recommend the new builds!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missmerryweather87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Saireehut resort is a beautiful well kept, friendly and relaxed place to stay. They have a wide variety of rooms and bungalows to suit everyone. All the rooms are kept to an exceptional standard, and offer daily fresh linen, towels and cleaning of the room. The staff are always friendly and can offer great advice on exploring the island including fair prices and where to go. The restaurant opens out on to the beach and offers brilliant views of Sairee beach. The restaurant offers an extensive menu including Thai, Western, Chinese, Italian, and many more varieties of food, all at affordable prices. There is a wonderful cocktail bar next to the restaurant which serves up some of the best cocktails on the island! Overall Sairee Hut is without fail the best place I have ever stayed in on Koh Tao, I have been visiting with my family for over 10 years and would not stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roisin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is in the main area of koh Tao and is right on the beach, I stayed in the bungalow which was good, the island is a lot more expensive that others I visited and even tho I payed a fair amount for the room I have stayed in nicer in koh Samui and Bangkok.
The staff are lovely and very helpful, the food was tasty and the pool was brill, they have a dive school also that has great rates and English tutors. The hotel did have a beach bar and also brand new villas (expensive but amazing). Its worth a stay for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This resort is indeed a great value for money.
We booked a standard triple room at ~1000 Bahts. I would call it a very fair price considering good research I made on the various resorts available in Koh tao. The premises looks very new and very well kept.
Positives:
Cleanliness, Location & Amazing Pool.
Negatives - Language barrier with staff, no hot water.

Room Tip: Even though the resort is on the beach side, no rooms are beach facing since only restaurant faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yssunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

HI GUEST

Thanks eor review us we will do better next time and sorry about unconvience about langauge ,anyway standard room is only one type without hot shower because is bugget room other type all with hot water sir
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Sareehut Resort just has it all. I have been been visiting Ko Tao since 1999 and just keep coming back to Saireehut every time. Great standard of accomodation with rooms spotless and throughly cleaned daily. Staff are lovely, and food is as always fantastic. The pool is right next to the beach-that is a great for me as I like to see that wonderful beach as much as possible. The restaurant is both inside and actually on the beach-just perfect for the evening breeze. At about five pm nothing beats a big margarita at the cocktail bar to watch the sun going down. All hotels will give advice but at Saireehut, owner/manager Mon has always given me the very best careful and reliable advice on anything I was thinking about doing on the island. You are definitely much more than just a customer at Saireehut so, many people like me, just keep coming back year after year for that perfect experience! Dont go anywhere else!

Room Tip: I am avery light sleeper but have never had trouble sleeping at Saireehut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.7 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 147 in Koh Tao
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#66 of 147 in Koh Tao
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saireehut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saireehut Resort

Address: 14/45 Moo.1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $31 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saireehut Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sairee Hut Resort is one of the best choice for spending vacation with the elegance local and boutique architecture in the tranquil setting of Sai Ree Beach Koh Tao, ThailandSairee Beach, Koh Tao, Suratthani ThailandThe Sairee Hut Resort is one of the best choice for spending vacation with the elegance local and boutique architecture in the tranquil setting of Sai Ree Beach. Lots of activities, learning PADI dive courses with our experienced PADI instructors, enjoying the tour to exploring surrounding the Island where is the most famous in Thailand.Some suggestion to make your stay at Sairee Hut Resort enjoyable, Visit our open air restaurant in the most romantic dinner with the best beautiful sunset of Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saireehut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sairee Hut Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing