We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more”
Review of Whitening

Whitening
Ranked #20 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went here after seeing the reviews on Trip advisor, and I must say I was a little disappointed. What I liked was it was on the beach. The service was not particularly friendly, and the hostess seemed almost bothered to seat us. The food was ok, not great, but ok. Maybe my expectations were too high from reading some of the other reviews, or we caught them on a bad night.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ylegakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    340
    104
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All Good!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

What can I say that has not been said already? Food is excellent esp the seafood lover BBQ. Good friendly service and a nice location. If friends asked me where to recommend for a nice evening meal in Koh Tao, Whitening would be the place that first springs to mind!

Helpful?
Thank Stumcfoo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food, a step up from anywhere else we ate on the island. Even though you might pay more than other places for some dishes, they warranted the prices. I had the baked garlic giant prawns and my lady friend had the red curry. Very tasty. Would recommend to anyone

Helpful?
Thank seosamh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Tables right on the beach, there is also a lounge area with bean bag chairs by the beach. Amazing fresh fish, cooked beautifully. Best place I went for dinner in Koh Tao!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great drinks great food”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

At Whitening I ate the best sea food during my trip in Thailand. They also make the best mojitos, and the service is good. Only negative thing is the location next to construction of the pier. Whitening is highly recommended, good for all kinds of people!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MatkustajaNizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitening also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Whitening? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing