We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of JP Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JP Resort
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I was here for 10 days and it was perfect..sea is very near food is good nice an frendly stuff...have to vist bar why not 200 away of resort :) rooms are clean but i do not recomand rooms without ac......try patthai in vombination of singa beer :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VitoSalvore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    46
    31
    19
See reviews for
13
86
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during a 6 months badget trip, so it's not my first hotel in thailand. if you don't mind the hard-as-rock beds, cold shower, noise from the next rooms, expensive restaurant (that we didn't try)- you will defently mind the hit of the fan room. even when it was chilly and windy outside- the room was extremely hot. didn't help to open the doors...
the staff treated us like we were bothering them, we felt unwelcome.

the only good thing is the bar on the beach- very decent prices and nice drinks.

Notice that air-con room is more than double priced, and about the location- it's good if you want to be away from the center, but we liked sai ree beach much better.
it really felt like a cheap choise, next time i will prefer to pay a little more and get a decent room, i felt like this room doesnt worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

If we return back to Koh Tao on a budget we would definitely stay here again as the rooms were decent and clean and with a nice, albeit slightly restricted view of the sea and it is in a great location in Chalok Baan Kao bay.
Lonely Planet said that this beach was a bit muddy for swimming and I have no idea where they got that from as it’s a great beach and the sea bed was just plain sand, no shells or rocks and the water was perfectly clear, it was great.
There are a number places along the beach that serve better and cheaper food than at JP Resort which is why we only ate there on 2 occasions in the 5 days we were there, but the food still nice enough. It was however a good place to get cheap beer as some neighbouring places were selling small bottles for what they were selling big ones for.
There is a great baguette stand just past 7/11 where you can get delicious and good quality baguettes for around 60b.
It is possible to walk to Sairee beach which is the main beach and only took us around 30mins without going at too great a speed.
The resort has wifi, an internet café and also rents scooters for around 200b a day which was a decent price compared to elsewhere.
To get from the boat to the resort it cost us 200b in a taxi which was around a 5min journey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

JPs is in a good location, right on the beach in a quieter area. Seaside bar is pretty nice and chilled as well and there are some great spots nearby for breakfast.

Room we got was pretty basic. Make sure when you're booking you specify that you want wifi access in your room as over half the rooms on the resort are out of wifi range which was a bit annoying.

In terms of value it was only ok. We paid a bit for our room and only had a fan and cold water but to upgrade to air com would have cost us double what we were paying so we just made do. In terms of hostels we've stayed in so far this wasn't great value for money but in terms of koh Tao I think it's as good as you'll get. I recommend venturing out for food though as the restaurant is pretty pricey.

Staff were pretty helpful whenever we had questions

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The JP resort is fairly nice, especially the bungalows on top of the hill offer a great view across the sea bay. Don't expect a lot of luxury, just pretty basic rooms. The staff will help you out with trips across the island.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VandeWilgjesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porec, Croatia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a cabin right on the beach, it was a very good sleep, with the sound of waves, everything was clean, with TV(not that we needed it) and AC, and the location fantastic... It was also cheap with restaurant and bar on the site. Beach was OK. No complaints about this place, I love Koh Tao and that's it.

Room Tip: take a cabin right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadoka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

good choice if you got a low/middle budget! for 500bath you can have a bungalow with a great view on the sea; rooms are basic but clean and very quiet. Restaurant is a bit expensive compared others in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glitterstar1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#29 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#24 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Asia Divers Resort
Asia Divers Resort
#23 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JP Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JP Resort

Property: JP Resort
Address: 18/4 Moo 3, Chalokbaankao Bay, Koh Tao 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — JP Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your JP Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jp Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing