We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly staff, overpriced and smelling rooms”
Review of Sunset Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Buri Resort
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed September 4, 2008

This was horrible night! The Bungalow in the backside of the garden smell like [---], and was full of mildew and he sells me the room for 1300 Bath, next day i should pay 1500 Bath. Stay away from this place better go somewhere else or sleep on the beach instead.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2008

My husband and I spent a few nights at Sunset Buri and loved it. We had picked another hotel nearby and after a totally sleepless night (because of a neighbouring bar's music) we left and managed to get into Sunset.

The bungalows are clean and spacious with no bugs and it's really quiet (but still in the best bit of Sairee beach). There's a small pool which is nice to cool off in.

There's a real mix of people staying at Sunset, from twenty-something couples (like us) to families with young kids. It manages to cater for them all though. We didn't eat at Sunset's restaurant because there's so much to choose from nearby but the food looked good.

It was 1300 Thai bhat per night (£20) which seemed very reasonable. Very much recommend Sunset!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

On backpacking around Thailand, we arrived at Ko Tao and looked around for a budget room.....what we found was an excellent bungalow at budget prices.
This resort is on Sairee Beach - the best area on Ko Tao.
It is made up of individual bungalows in two rows going down to the beach, with a pool and restaurant actually on the beach.
They are clean spacious one room one bathroom bungalows, with air con, fridge and television with satellite channels.
They were very comfortable and safe, and i would recommend then to all budgets! Even though in peak season we only paid £15 a night for a twin bungalow!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queenfrog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Holde-Isolde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: No caso dos quartos do segundo andar, o wi-fi não funciona em todos os quartos. Mas pega no corredor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarsila7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 50 in Koh Tao
325 reviews
0 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
474 reviews
0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Buri Resort

Address: 14/3 Moo 1Sairee Rd, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $17 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Buri Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Buri Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing