We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Resort on Chalok Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I've been staying on Chalok Bay for about 8 years now and the area has undergone big changes. Many of the budget places in the area get worse and worse every year, with unfriendly management.

Tropicana is an exception. Recently booked a stay at Tropicana online. The manager was really helpful and friendly in all responses. For budget prices, you get a clean and basic bungalow practically on the beach. The restaurant is also good and well priced. I would recommend it for a budget stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 324 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place is the worst hotel I have ever experienced the people working are downright hateful. If you like WiFi they don't allow you to use it. They advertise free wifi but the staff has an ongoing game they play with their furang guests the Wi-Fi signal is strong but will not connect and the game is they come up with a new excuse why it doesn't work every time u ask. They also don't care if they are obvious about this and laugh in your face right away mocking you completely. For the first 3 days it did not work at all for me but I didn't say anything. Them my 2 year old wanted to watch sesame street so I started asking what was up and the game began. All day they made up stories about it, some technical most not about why no wifi.First it was the technician is on his way, next he was just there then he left it worked fifteen minutes and quit and technician is coming back be here soon. Then they told me to use another signal that was there as it had same pass word. They would mostly just stare blankly and act dumb. this stupid game went back and fourth and so far no internet for me. They laugh cruelly in my face. Really aweful people .they for sure are not Buddhists! STEER CLEAR THEY ruined my stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahchristy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have some mixed feelings about Tropicana - there were good and bad things about it.

Location is very good - close to the beach, seven eleven and some good restaurants.The place itself is very pleasant - wooden bungalows situated in some sort of a "little parc". But it's quite far away from the centre of Koh Tao and you need to rent a scooter or a taxi to get there.

I'd say that the price was low as for Koh Tao and despite few problems it was still a good value for money.

What I did not like was that the bathroom was dirty - dusty and with some spider nets. First thing I did while entering my bungalow was cleaning the sink... Room itself was nice and clean, with fan and a balcony.

Staff was rather nice and helpful, but some of them were unpleasant. Also, I asked them to buy a flight ticket for me, but they were insisting on one specific company. When I suggested another one (because the first one was more expensive and the schedule did not suit me), they started to convince me it was a bad company, that the price indicated on their website was not the final amount and I'll have to pay taxes, luggage and so on at the airport (of course I did not have to pay anything more). in the end they did not agree to buy a ticket of suggested by me company.

The place was also rather quiet with one exception - a big and loud party until very late - I dont know whether it was in Tropicana or elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nati_2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

For the money you can't go wrong. The staff are very nice. There is one girl waitress who was a little preoccupied with her boyfriend on her phone then getting orders right. I did see a couple of customer not happy with her but really people should chill out this is budget accomadation not the Hilton. Location in perfect , we had the frount beach bungalow. It's a bit load at night as you hear the beach bar so would suggest getting a hut further back. But for the money it's great.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed in this resort for two month durin my divemaster course. We were staying in a daily rental area and not the long term, because thoose were up in the hill and we wanted to be at the beach. The rooms are very basic but cheap, we payed around 10 euros per night, you have a double bed, a desk and cold shower for this price, they change the bedlinen every 4 days and do a 3 min cleaning. The location is very nice, close to the 7/11 and there are very nice restaurants around, but if you want to go to the center you will need a scooter which is 5 euros a day. Try the scooter rental next to the Ying Yang restaurat. He is an English guy, very friendly and the scooters are very good maintained. I hope my review was helpful and get some necessary info about the place.
Have fun in Koh Tao

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in one the cheapest bungalow of the resort (450 Bath per night) and I found it great for the price.

Of course it's not luxury, but everything was clean, the location is nice, staff was nice too.

There is wifi for free everywhere. Unfortunately when I was there, it seemed internet was down on the whole island (that's what I've been said).

If you have a bungalow next too the road it can be a bit noisy because there is lots of bicycles going there.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow which is not close to the road, it's a bit loudy
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameslafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The place is ok but a little noisy at night. The problem is tha the staff treats very bad the costumers. The restaurant is bad and portions are small. They are little lucky to appear on lonely planet.

Room Tip: Rooms are ok but, cheap ones have fan and cold water.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
468 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#35 of 49 in Koh Tao
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Tropicana Resort

Address: 22/9 Moo 3, Chalok Bankao Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: $24 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koh Tao Tropicana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort is located on the south part of the island at Chalok Bann Kao Bay with private and peaceful atmosphere. We offer a friendly service and reasonable price of accommodations both air-conditioned and fan rooms with private bathroom and balcony near by the beach and at our lovely and quiet garden. A very relax beach front Restaurant offer reasonable prices for all dishes with cushion and table area. Free Wi-Fi access in restaurant and at the garden. Front desk staffs can assist you all tickets to travel around Thailand. Let make a lovely stay at Tropicana Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Koh Tao Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Tropicana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing