We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
2 reviews
“Good Experience, nice staff”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a good experience at this hotel and found the beach huts were good value for money. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to get away from the main Sairee beach, but still had decent bars and restaurants. Perfect place to stay and complete a PADI course.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiRhiMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    118
    82
    42
    36
See reviews for
24
121
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

+ Clean room, nice deco, fridge, big balcony, modern toilet, location, good beds.
- Very noisy, first floor right at the 711 junction, hot shower didn't work; had to ask repeatedly and wait til the next day to get it fixed, some of the staff if not all were rude, very high extra cost for aircon (600b, dlx room without 900b).

So, ok for the price but don't take a room next door to 7/11 unless you like noise at night.

Room Tip: don't take a room next door to 7/11 junction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villes751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Me and my partner spent two nights at the Tropicana Resort at the end of August. We didn't have a booking and as it was a bit late in the day we were in a bit of a rush looking for accommodation. There were only two type of room available, basic - cold shower, small fan and non flushing toilet, or deluxe - hot water, a flushing toilet and a ceiling fan. We chose the later, for which we were asked to pay in advance. The room was ok, very basic but clean. What we didn't notice until we had already paid is that the resort is located next to a road and most of the rooms have either the door or the balcony facing on that direction. The road has traffic all day and night long and the noise bounces of the hill on the other side you could as well be sleeping next to a truck garage. We asked to be moved but we were told they didn't have any other room available. If I had to go back I would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolavulkano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zug
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are little bit old fashioned but ok. The cheapest rooms do not include warm water shower an toilet flush. The deluxe double room was bigger and included warm water shower and a working toilet. There was also a TV and DVD player in the room. You can borrow DVDs foe free. The location on koh tao is in my opionion great. You can reach all you need within a few steps including a beach. The value you get for the price is good!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean but very basic for what you pay for. Staff was nice but a few were rude. Pregnant staff member threw a fit about us using their USB connector. Then the staff of the restaurant accused us of not paying for a beer, when we never ordered one. If the island wasn't super booked we would have stayed somewhere else. Unfortunately we didn't get what we paid for. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Check reviews before booking. Other places are cheaper and nicer depending on how far you book in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very well located, right on the beach at Chalok Baan Kaow, a calm place with fun restaurants and bars at nights. Not very party place though. The bungalows are clean and cozy, as well as the restaurant. People at reception does not make justice to thai people... they are not very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunoscolari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in a budget room costing us 400THB a night. The room wasn't too small and had a double bed and dresser. There is no air con in the room only a fan which could be a bit uncomfortable at times to sleep in, especially when it had been a really hot day. There was a fairly spacious balcony and you could receive wifi from there and in the room albeit a bit slow. The bathroom was quite small and you had to use a bucket and water to flush the toilets. You get one lot of toilet roll once thats gone you have to pay 50THB a roll and the bins never got emptied whilst we were there.

Good location right on the beach and right next to a seven eleven. The food at the resort is fairly cheap and also quite nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach rather than on the road as can get a big noisy at night with c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Beach Resort
Sunshine Beach Resort
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Tropicana Resort

Property: Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Address: 22/9 Moo 3, Chalok Bankao Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koh Tao Tropicana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort is located on the south part of the island at Chalok Bann Kao Bay with private and peaceful atmosphere. We offer a friendly service and reasonable price of accommodations both air-conditioned and fan rooms with private bathroom and balcony near by the beach and at our lovely and quiet garden. A very relax beach front Restaurant offer reasonable prices for all dishes with cushion and table area. Free Wi-Fi access in restaurant and at the garden. Front desk staffs can assist you all tickets to travel around Thailand. Let make a lovely stay at Tropicana Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Koh Tao Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Tropicana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing