We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price-quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good price-quality ratio”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 6nights, the price was good, and we had an ok, clean room for that. Unfortunately our room was next to the road, and the walls are very thin, so it was a bit noisy. We could also here anything, what our neighbours were talking. Apart from this inconvience, it's a nice spot, especially with the nice garden.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathogzoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    118
    79
    41
    33
See reviews for
24
118
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I took a drink at the bar over there and we sat on the traditional thai pillow. The view was stunning and the service was great.
I recommend people to go there to do the same thing.

The piscine looked great also

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotteurtoutcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were recommended to stay here and we wanted to be in the quieter area of koh Tao, on first impression the resort looked good, great location on the beach with a handy 7/11 on the corner. The resort is surrounded by dive schools too (new heaven dive school) the area has a great vibe (especially the rasta bar a few doors down).
Unfortunately the room is cheap 450baht twin, fan. The fan was terrible it was cooler on the balcony than the room. The toilet was Thai style but smelt rotten. I refused to run the sink tap due to the sewage smell. Our room only had cold water, which was welcomed due to the heat of the room. The room was clean, our bedding and towels were never changed. Staff were friendly to us. I would recommend here if you are not bothered by noise, (dogs barking all night) Thai toilets and hot rooms!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms are horrible, cockroach and lizard infested cesspit. The state of the rooms are only surpassed by the rude, racist and unhelpful staff. No where else in Thailand was I made to feel this uncomfortable or unwelcome. Honestly it's cheap but not worth it. To top it off I actually walked in on a member of their staff going through my possesions when I popped back to my room after saying I was off to go out diving. The lady even had the cheek to argue with me even when caught red handed and when I complained further I was called every name under the sun and being a female travelling alone I was so intimidated I had to check out.

So in summary, rude dishonest racist staff, filthy rooms, roaches, noisy, even though it's cheap there are far better places for the same money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dinah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in one of the basic fan rooms for 4 nights while diving with Buddha View. The room was fairly basic and quite dark. The fan wasn't great and the toilet was Thai style. We were told on check in that sheets & towels were only changed every 4 days, so we didn't get a change while we were there. On the plus side it was fairly good value (around 450 BHT per night in February) and had free wifi included (wifi was a little patchy). The location was good, right on the beach with lots of decent bars and restaurants close by. The beach isn't great, but we spent most of our days diving so it didn't bother us too much. Not a bad option overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My second visit to this hotel. My room was basic but clean, they clean every two days and change towels.
Gardens are clean and very nice. Great location near the beach, which is a typical Thai beach.
Some good places to eat ,drink and socialise within walking distance but not walking distance from the main Koh Tao beach.

I found staff helpful and there are always pleny of them about

Food was OK, again typical thai food; a huge selection and tasty but not posh

I think this hotel is great value; a great base for diving and to visit the Koh Tao animal clinic who do a wonderful job for the islands animals

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine007190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my 10yr old daughter whilst we did our padi next door at buddhaview. Bungalows were basic, but pretty clean. Had to ask for a linen and towel change midway through. Nice relaxing balcony. The walls are paper thin and the guys next door were pretty noisy, so i wore earplugs (my daughter can sleep on a washing line during a riot so was unaffected!). Unfortunately, during our stay there was a dengue outbreak, so definitely recommend taking deet/burning mozzie coils if staying during wet or shoulder seasons.
The rooms were convenient for the diving otherwiwe we would have stayed nearer sairee, as it was a bit out of the way. That said, we hired a ped and got out n about.

Room Tip: Hire a ped so you can get into town without forking out on taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planetwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
645 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Beach Resort
Sunshine Beach Resort
#44 of 49 in Koh Tao
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Tropicana Resort

Property: Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Address: 22/9 Moo 3, Chalok Bankao Beach | Suratthani, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koh Tao Tropicana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Koh Tao Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Tropicana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing