We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Similan Island Tours start again October 2013”

Similan Islands National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.93*
and up
Full-Day Similan Island by Speed Boat from Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Similan Island Tours start again October 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Similan Islands is definitely worth the long day trip tour, every year the Similan Islands opens up from mid October till Mid April allow Tourist visiting Thailand access to the Similan islands which are located in the Similans National Marine Park of Thailand. Similans has some of the best scenery and nature in Thailand and are located 48 Km from there resort town of Khao Lak you can visit the islands as a day trip or on our overnight tour from Phuket. Getting there by speedboat is our best choice.

Snorkel Thailand’s best, then the Similan Islands are the place go. Taking a Daily mini van trips run from Phuket to Khao Lak took us just over 1 hour the starting departure point where our speedboat took us on a fantastic life time snorkelling and Sightseeing overnight experience to these fantastic islands.

The clear blue waters and protected of Island #8 Donald Duck Bay bay provide excellent, safe condition for our snorkelers, from the sandy bay shallow coral reefs slowly descending into the colourful corals.

Koh Similan National Park Rangers provided us with large tents on the park HQ at Koh Miang (Island number 4) there are no real resorts shops or stores on the islands, so if you stay overnight this will be in a tent or bungalow. This small island takes only a few minutes to walk from one side to the other, the small trail takes you past large tree home to many large fruit bats also known as flying foxes who soar overhead. Some great sunsets can be viewd from the West coast on top of sail rock.

Our overnight snorkeling tour was a Tent accommdation (camping) come with a floor mat, sheets, pillows and a mosquito nets, Facilities are basic with a shower and toilet block and a restaurant. All meals,fruit, drinking water, coffee, tea, Insurance, tour guide, snorkeling quipment,(mask, snorkel, life jacket) Camping is very basic and allows 3 people per tent.

What to take with you: sunglasses, sun cap, sun block lotion, camera with film and batteries, beach towel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PhuketSnorkelingtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    213
    114
    60
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was no of the trips that I took when in Patong it was an early start but worth it paid 2000 bath
and was worth every penny. The trip included a free meal at lunchtime and the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the Similan Islands and definitely worth ..... is so beautiful! We stay there 3 days... the most beautiful days in Thailanda! The beach is perfect! :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DragulinDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarup, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Similan Islands by speedboat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Not worth the money nor the trip.
We ordered the tour through asia webdirect.
The day started with the driver being late. To catch up time he drove like crazy and we feared for our lives severel times.
It was a very long drive and when we finally arrived we had to eat our breakfast standing and very quickly.
The powerboat was primitive with an almost non-existing interior. It had a roof cover and the seats were at the bottom of the hull making it impossible to see anything. Most of the other passengers were sick and there was womit everywere including between our toes and in our bags.
Similan Islands are beatiful but not worth the efforts. Don't book the trip. Spend your money and time on other trips.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank donie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Snorkelling among sea turtles with "Fantastic Similan"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went to Khao Lak only to go snorkelling in the Similan Islands, and after a wide research I went with a company called "Fantastic Similan". They are the best in town. Forget about booking weeks in advance at full price: take a walk in Khao Lak and book at one of the many agencies along the main road. They should have discounts according to the availability left on a given date. Fantastic Similan will pick you up at the hotel and transfer you to the pier, where you can have a quick breakfast and get the snorkelling equipment. Then it's a good 1 and 1/2 hrs to the first stop (4 in total). I was there in April and unluckily the rainy season had started in advance, which meant very rough sea and snorkelling under the rain. However, this didn't deter anyone from enjoying the day, especially exciting due to our encounter with some sea turtles! Fantastic provides a buffet lunch with drinks (a bit tricky to have it under the rain, but it was ok). Our guide on the day was Nancy: fun and attentive, she invited us to go see her cabaret show at Moo Moo in the evening. The only disappointing note is that the video camera they use to record guests snorkelling throughout the day was broken, so thank God I took a few pics of the turtles with my camera!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kiarak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Similan Islands National Park also viewed

Phang Nga, Phang Nga Province
Ko Similan, Similan Islands
 
Takua Pa, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Similan Islands National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing