We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never know what to expect”
Review of Ko Tachai Island - CLOSED

Ko Tachai Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Songkhla, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never know what to expect”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

3 years ago there was garantee to see Lepard sharks here.
But the demand for shark fins have made the sights of sharks very unusal.
The dive site is still ok and you never know what to expect of dive here.
Look for the big school of barracuda. And Oceanic trigger fish wich is possibly to spot here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyk_Micke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    83
    15
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise preserved to Perfection”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow... This is easily the most magical island I have ever been too... SeaStar Tour Guide 'Way' was the most helpful, friendly, funny, caring person you could ever meet. Constant food, drink, ice cream, full 3 course lunch, 2 places to snorkel to spot Nemo & mini Sharks, crystal clear water, white sands... Transfer to & from your place of stay. Absolutely unspoilt, quiet heaven

Helpful?
1 Thank unlove69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SUPER WONDERFUL ISLAND WITH BLUE CLEAR WATERS JUST LIKE MALDIVES!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

It was an amazing tour trip with Love Andaman and i highly recommend Love Andaman if you were to go for a day trip to Tachai Island as their staffs are well trained, friendly and speak good english and they attended well to our needs. They even have sea sick pills on board for everyone to take it if you did not feel well. Lunch was wonderful with BBQ Seafood and the coconut ice cream is just simply AMAZING! Snorkelling was also very nice. We enjoyed most of our time swimming and lazing around in the clear blue sea. HIGHLY RECOMMEND TACHAI ISLAND! Cost for our tour is 2800THB and we booked through Brothers Trip Tour Agency just opposite Sea Sun Sand Resort and Spa in Patong Beach. Highly recommend this tour agency too as we booked a few tours under them and they were all very enjoyable, with quality service.

Overall, Phuket is just A M A Z I N G :D

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fake paradise”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

.....so crowded you can barely find a place to put your towel on the beach...way too touristic,a great disapointment!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mariecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Our verdict: not worth it.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

From our hotel in Bang Niang (Khao Lak) it took just over 3 hours to get to Tachai, roughly half of it by road, the other half by speedboat. The boat was full to capacity, as has been our experience with most of these seafaring outings, and on arrival, we found the place very crowded. Not sure if being a Sunday affected that, but we were slightly surprised that of the 28 or so passengers, only 2 couples were European, the rest Thai.
The fairly thin strip of beach is composed of beautifully fine white sand, but the area cannot be said to be particularly scenic. To appreciate the snorkelling, you have to get at least 50 metres from the beach because boats churn up the sand, preventing visibility. A second dive area in a sheltered spot is much clearer and there are plenty of fish to see. Lunch was adequate, but no more. A nature trail parallels the beach and gives you the opportunity of seeing some chicken crabs, snakes (!) and hermit crabs.
Although the sea was no worse than moderate, fully 25% of the passengers were sick, and judging by the facial expressions and heads buried in towels, most people considered the boat journey a test of endurance. Anyone with a back problem would have been in real trouble, from the jarring as the keel slammed at high speed into the waves.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dilbertfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko Tachai Island also viewed

Similan Islands, Phang Nga Province
Khuraburi, Phang Nga Province
 
Ko Similan, Similan Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing