We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fake paradise”
Review of Ko Tachai Island - CLOSED

Ko Tachai Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fake paradise”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

.....so crowded you can barely find a place to put your towel on the beach...way too touristic,a great disapointment!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mariecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    83
    15
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Our verdict: not worth it.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

From our hotel in Bang Niang (Khao Lak) it took just over 3 hours to get to Tachai, roughly half of it by road, the other half by speedboat. The boat was full to capacity, as has been our experience with most of these seafaring outings, and on arrival, we found the place very crowded. Not sure if being a Sunday affected that, but we were slightly surprised that of the 28 or so passengers, only 2 couples were European, the rest Thai.
The fairly thin strip of beach is composed of beautifully fine white sand, but the area cannot be said to be particularly scenic. To appreciate the snorkelling, you have to get at least 50 metres from the beach because boats churn up the sand, preventing visibility. A second dive area in a sheltered spot is much clearer and there are plenty of fish to see. Lunch was adequate, but no more. A nature trail parallels the beach and gives you the opportunity of seeing some chicken crabs, snakes (!) and hermit crabs.
Although the sea was no worse than moderate, fully 25% of the passengers were sick, and judging by the facial expressions and heads buried in towels, most people considered the boat journey a test of endurance. Anyone with a back problem would have been in real trouble, from the jarring as the keel slammed at high speed into the waves.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dilbertfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Expensive adventure and Mass Tourism”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked a tour with Love Andaman while we stayed in Puket. The official price for an adult was 3900 THB per person. A minibus picked us up around 6:30 A.M. and we drove more than one hour to the pier in Phan Nga. Everthing was well organized and they served free breakfast. They also served seasick pills which I strongly recommend to everyone before taking this trip.

The speedboat to the island took off around 9 A.M. and was loaded with more than 30 passengers. We didn't have luck with the weather, so the sky was cloudy and the ocean was a bit rough on that day. Also on the way to the island the boat had to go against the stream and hit the waves quite strong. Half of our boat got seasick and had to vomit.

When we arrived on the island we made a short excursion to another bay for snorkeling. After that they served lunch which was a buffet of thai food including ice cream.

After lunch we had a short walk through the island's jungle to find the famous chicken crab. Then we had some free time to spend on the beach which we used to relax and take some photos.

The beach wasn't really that big and there were about 8 speedboats bringing tourists to this island. As you can expect the beach was full of people and it wasn't easy to take a good photo.

Overall we were about 3,5 hours on the island and the whole trip felt a bit in a hurry. I recommend to go to another island with a similar beach and stay there over night.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HWPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sun, Sand and Sea”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As with the most tourist places, the Tachai Island is overcrowded with boats and tourists but the island itself is very nice. All tourists are barefooted, the sand is so white and so fine! The waves is a little rough but it's still very nice to swim. We stayed here for a few hours and went to snorkeling and a little trekking to look for "chicken crab" which in we didn't find one. I just hope they will continue to maintain the cleanliness of this place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frostini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great daytrip with Seastar”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Tachai island is well worth a visit. We went with Seastar who looked after us very well. Our guide Sam was wonderful, he took great care to look after us all and fixed my snorkel when I had problems. The snorkelling was surprisingly good. We had two sessions and saw masses of colourful fish. We had been warned that the Similan islands had been affected by the Tsunami but the snorkelling was as good as most places in the Caribbean for example. We travelled on a medium sized speedboat and were not too crowded. although it was quite a long trip and rather rough the day we went. The island was beautiful with white sand beaches and crystal clear water. The lunch was surprisingly tasty too. It is a popular trip so inevitable a bit touristy but much better than the other Similan island trips.

A big disappointment despite all the guides' best efforts was the rubbish people left behind. It is quite unbelievable that people would choose to pollute such a beautiful place just for the sake of a small amount of effort. People left their drinks cans where they were sitting on the beach for example.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank siobhanmuskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko Tachai Island also viewed

Similan Islands, Phang Nga Province
Khuraburi, Phang Nga Province
 
Ko Similan, Similan Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing