We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel iv ever stayed in.. EVER- words cant explain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Having travelled around thailand for three weeks and stayed in LOTS of different hotels this was by far the worst hotel... not only in thailand , the worst hotel iv ever seen in my life- we couldnt actually bring ourselves to stay for one night here!!!

When we arrived to our beach front bungalow there was coke cans left on the table and chairs and old bits of food left over.. obviously they hadnt actually cleaned the room properly.
Going in side the sort of window (which u couldnt actually see out of) was COVERD in insects- mosquitos spiders all sorts. The room was tiny, not even enough space to put ur suitcases on the floor. The fridge had dirt all down it.... and then the worst was in the bathroom- RED STAINS all over the toilet seat- once i saw this we packed our bags and moved to a cheaper hotel that was a million times nicer down the road called andaman beach resort and we also stayed in phi phi villa resort - both were beautiful hotels that i would reallyyy recomend!
In the brochure this hotel had a pool which looked like a reasonable size ... it was about 2 metres wide and closed at 5 oclock!!!

On the plus side the hotel included free dinnner- which was quite generous portions and tasty thai food- BUT IT WASNT GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME TO EVERRRRR RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!!

THIS IS THE WORST HOTEL iv ever stayed in.. AVOID it as much as you can! No one ever ends up staying there all move to one of phi phis nicer hotels- theres lots and this is not one of them!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calc_2009_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 306 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2010

I went to an agent to book a hotel over there as our ideal resort PP Princess is under renovation....so by only "Photos browsing", we chosen Phi Phi Don Chukit ...hmm....its was a teriible mistake and it spolit my whole entire holiday.....Firstly by looking at the photos...wa!! there was a pool but yet it turn out to be a "POND" to me.... 2ndly, the staff there was rude....very very very rude...without any smile...com'on a smile doesnt cost a cents...3rdly we paid 2800 per nite and guess wat we haf to change our rooms 3times as it wasnt the room we wanted and its not wat we paid for....and oh well....the room keys was given to us by throwing.....hmm 4thly... they provided dinner and breakfast for us....the food was .....OH MY GOD.....you can get a better room a better service for the same pricing or maybe even cheaper....so dont go there if u don't wanna spolit your holiday......

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magdalene84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

well i'll keep this short as every other reviewer condemns it and no-one who has read a review will go there. avoid this place like the plague - everything is wrong with it.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LondonLeedsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

This hotel was disgusting!! We booked at the airport after the recommendation of the travel agent there, we left the hotel 10 mins after checking in. The door didn't lock, had no air con which we has paid extra for, blood on the toilet seat, stained sheets, shower was just a hose, i could go on but i wont. We paid £80 a night but you couldn't pay me to stay there!! We walked out after 10mins there after speaking to the rudest staff, finally managed to get a refund and checked into the holiday inn which was lovely!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I wouldn't recommend this place, apart from its location. We booked rooms here unseen (note to self, don't do that again) and originally picked the fan-only room which was 1500 baht, around £30.

Hotel is on the beach front and clearly visible from the pier. We walked through some nice looking villas, then a dramatic change as we were led past what looked like a mini dump with cracked pavements to the fan only rooms. The room was like prison, it smelt damp, it was hot as hell (even the tiled floors were hot - why?!). Fan made no difference. The shower room was horrible. I think we stayed 30 mins before we decided we would have to upgrade to the nicer villas with a/c, for more double the price.

Once upgraded, things were fine, room still smelt a little damp but everything cool, clean and comfortable if not that roomy. However, I don't think those other rooms are in an acceptable state.

Breakfast was included with our more expensive room - it was rubbish. There are ants everywhere in the restaurant, they don't clean the tables promptly (no wonder it's anty). Staff hung around chatting and failed to notice when cups, cutlery or dishes from breakfast buffet ran out until told.

Pool was nice for the odd dip, small but horizon line to the sea. Although it had too much chlorine in and gave me a bit of afterburn! Location was the best bit, we loved walking straight out to long boats to restaurants / bars along the front.

All in all, this hotel needs an overhaul: repair, repaint, train your staff better and do something about the rooms at the back of the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemlefab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Worst "Resort" EVER!! Never stay here - I hope you get to read these reviews before you get roped in to staying at Phi Phi Don Chukit. A list of don'ts:

1. Don't book accommodation through a Tour Operator
2. Don't book accommodation before you arrive and actually see the room and it's location
3. Don't pay the asking price

We met this "nice" Tour Operator Lady in Koh Lanta whilst hiring Scooters and she asked where we were off to next. Phi Phi being the answer. She then gave us a whole long speech how it will be Full Moon Party and we won't find any airconditioned accommodation if we don't book before we arrive and that we wouldn't find anything cheaper than 3,000 Baht. She gave us a "deal" and said we could get a sea view aircon room for 2,800 Baht including breakfast. She showed us the pamphlet which it looked ok - not 5* but decent and location seemed good. We booked with her for 2 nights!

When my husband and I arrived on Phi Phi our first perception was ruined by staying at this "Resort". THE WORST PLACE EVER!! Rude staff members, awful bathrooms, small hobbit rooms, old furniture, dirty walls and I am not sure how long the woollen blanket hand't been washed for. The only blessing was the location. The breakfast was inedible and the pool was a joke (I specifically asked the Tour Operator if it has a pool, as then you know that it is a decent Resort - she said, it has a lovely big pool with a great view)...mmm...it was tiny and manky and deserted - never saw anyone swim there once!! NO ONE eats or visits the restaurant unless it is pre-paid or they are going to die of starvation.

After not sleeping at all the 1st night - even after countless buckets and Changs - we went the next day and demanded our money back as we had visited a few other Resorts (that could actually call them self Resorts) that were cheaper and 1,000 000 times nicer. Subsequently it was a quiet period as everyone goes to Koh Pangang for Full Moon so after the 20th of each month it is quieter in Phi Phi. We didn't get all our money back as we were ripped off in the first place, but enough to make it worth it.

We were both happy to have a clean, spacious room with a nice bathroom, aircon, great location, good restaurant and friendly staff :o) Phi Phi was then a great place to be!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chatty_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We didn't have anywhere booked before we went to phi phi, so when we got there we booked phi phi don chukit based on photos at the pier....big mistake.

We originally booked a fan room for 5 nights at 1500 baht/night (3ppl). Someone from the hotel came to collect our bags and we thought all was going well...until we were taken right to the back of the property into a stinking hot room.

The bathroom was pretty dirty and the toilets didn't flush. The beds were ok, but it was constantly hotter inside the room than outside...even at night! The fan did nothing. We tried to stick it out because it was such a good rate (only 500 baht each/night) but after the second night we couldn't handle it and upgraded to an air-conditioned room in a block up near the reception - for 2500 baht/night!

The airconditioned rooms were much nicer, with a flushing toilet, clean bathroom and working tv...but I'm sure we should have had nicer accommodation for 2500 baht.

We never ate or swam at the hotel - who needs to when there are amazing beaches and the best (and cheapest) Thai food only a 5 minute walk away?! Location was good - not on the party side of the island, but everything is in walking distance on phi phi.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel...not worth what they're charging, you can definitely get much nicer accommodation for a better price!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShezGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
Natacha Hotel
Natacha Hotel
#31 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#25 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#26 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
868 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#21 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort

Address: 1 Moo 7, Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $20 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Don Chukit Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Don Chukit Hotel
Phi Don Chukit Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing