We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel I Stayed in While in Thailand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I Stayed in While in Thailand!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here after staying at the Banyan Hotel close by for a couple of days. This was our only bad decision while visiting Thailand. The rooms were filthy. The water in the bathroom smelled like sewer water. The smell of this water alone made me feel sick. Stay anywhere on Phi Phi but here. Also, horrible breakfast food selection. The hotel pictures I saw on the hotel's website make this place look half decent. This is totally inaccurate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaM0nicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    78
    59
    125
See reviews for
30
137
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Not private beach as expected, dirty sheets on the bed, shower is just a pipe on the wall next to the wc- I booked the most expensive room available and got a small dark not comfortable one + door with very weak loker. Disappointed. Left earlier then planned!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenaMorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

This place is OK, we enjoyed it. Dont be fooled by the pretense of a swimming pool though, literally ive seen puddles bigger! Also, the breakfast is pathetic! Literally its toast and black coffee or tea, the milk sits out on the side all morning and gets very warm and curdled. However, the location of this place is absolutely fantastic! We stayed in a bungalow for 1500THB per night right on the beach - not the nicest of the Phi Phi beaches, views are good but Ton Sai Beach which is lovely is within a 5 minute walk away. The room was small and resembled a caravan inside. The shops and restaurants are literally just around the corner. Nightlife is at the other side of the island but by the other side I mean 5 minutes walk away. The main downside to this hotel was the staff. They were rude and if they smiled there face would literally crack. They were repeatadly rude to us and acted like they couldnt care less about anything. One day we went to put something in our locker (no safe in the room) and saw that our lock had been tampered with. So we went to buy a new one. The keys were still attached and as both my partner and I had problems taking the keys off the lock the lady behind the desk offered to help. As she did so she took one of the keys off for herself and then even though we saw her do it with our own eyes she refused to admit it. So once again we went to the shop, this time we got a number combination lock. We put it on and walked away. Next day we went to open it and our number wasn't working. We tried and tried and got to admit my suspicions were up that they had swapped our lock - we did only buy the lock from a shop 5 minutes away - its easy enough. Anyway, we asked for help from one of the maintenece guys, who took our lock in his hands wiggled it round for a minute or so and then lo and behold it opened. So to make this clear - this guy just showed us that he can open a lock without even knowing the number! We bought another lock as this one was faulty. We put it on but took our money out just to see if any tampering would happen. And sure enough - the number we left the lock on had changed! All I can say is that if you do stay here, dont leave anything valuable in the 'safe lockers' behind the reception desk - and as much as I hate saying this do not trust any of the staff - they're all in it together.

Having said that though, apart from the problems with our many many locks and also the mozzies we had a good time and the room is fine. Nothing amazing but fine.

Room Tip: Go for a AC bungalow not the main hotel part
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed here after checking out of another place after being there for all of 3 minutes.

Don Chukit is average in every way, the very definition of average in fact. I got the impression that great accommodation, close to the beach was very difficult to come by on Phi Phi and it was certainly an improvement on the place i had been to for 3 mins earlier!

i didn't try breakfast so can't comment. You have to know to ask them to clean your room and take your towels to reception to get clean ones. No wifi was a disappointment too.

I was satisfied though not exactly 'happy'. But the same could be said for Phi Phi on the whole in my opinion. Do yourself a favour and visit Ko Lanta, it's AWESOME.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeriOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We arrived in phi phi not having booked any accommodation only to discover there was virtually nowhere with availability. We had no option but to take this hotel from the touts at 1700 bahts per room. I have to agree with the majority of reviews that this place was an absolute disgrace. Some attempts had been made to paint the rooms, the mattresses seemed new and the air con units were new and very effective. But that is all you could say in its favour. The room was very small and oppressive with dark old furniture and was full of mosquitoes. The gaps around the windows meant it was difficult to keep them out. The bedding was dirty and full of hairs. The bathroom was a nightmare - dirty washbasin and toilet and came complete with cockroach. The pathways around the rooms were broken and dangerous. They had their own bonfire going burning all their rubbish. Breakfast was inedible. This hotel was a terrible introduction to Phi Phi and to be avoided at all costs. I would strongly recommend pre- booking hotel before arrival on this island and to carefully research where you choose to stay on review sites. Needless to say we only stayed here for one night and did the rounds of the other hotels the next morning to find somewhere better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank llm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Broken showerheads and yellowish stained tiles are definitely not = US$130 per night!
Very near the sea...near where longtail boats stop for tourists to alight? hmm..not exactly what i want the view to be..

MY ADVICE, DON'T STAY AT ANY HOTELS HERE..IT'S JUST WAY TOO NOISY..ON A SMALL ISLAND, WITH THE SAME NUMBER OF TOURISTS AS PATONG? THAT'S CRAZY.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falala_farahain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Ok, upon arriving it was great because they met us at the pier and were able to take us straight to the hotel. Completely unexpected and a great relief.
However, pretty much ended there. The first room they gave us had only dry wall for a ceiling, the paint was peeling all over the walls and it was dark and really run down. We thought that that may be what they were all like and soon learnt otherwise. Upon changing rooms our new room had no mosquito net, we opted for the fan room (HUGE mistake) the room got so so so hot because we couldn't open the windows at all and the shower head would spin around and around soaking everything and I found a massive cockroach on the ground. A pity because the location is great but I'd never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#24 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#27 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Natacha Hotel
Natacha Hotel
#29 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#18 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#20 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort

Property: Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort
Address: 1 Moo 7, Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phi Phi Don Chukit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Don Chukit Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Don Chukit Hotel
Phi Don Chukit Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing