We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

After spending ages reading reviews on accomodation on Phi Phi, and reading the same thing on every site (that the quality of rooms wherever you stay on the island is rubbish) I wasn't really expecting much for my £20-a-night-double.
But I was very pleasantly surprised. Reception is very clean, airy, and nicely tiled. We checked in quickly and without hassle (have to pay 500B key deposit) and when we were looking a bit lost finding our room a kind, friendly lady member of staff showed us the way.
The room was spacious, and had a tv and wardrobe. HUGE double bed with lovely clean fresh linen on it and made up to look really nice. Tile floor and ceiling fan, with large windows that could be opened to let in the gorgeous sun and fresh air. The bathroom was the only let down to the room - it looked really old and tired in comparison to the rest of the room. The sink leaked onto the floor (tiled, so no problem really) and the shower wasn't all that great. It was a "natural" shower too, the water was one set temperature (cool) and it was a bit salty. But after a long day in the sun, a cool shower is very refreshing!
Lovely grounds around the rooms and there was a very nice looking (but small) pool too.
Breakfast was included, it was buffet style and had orange/pineapple juice, tea/coffee, corn flakes, museli, fresh fruit, pancakes, and the usual ham, eggs and toast. The restaurant is right on the beach front too so you can enjoy the fabulous view while listening to summer-y music as you eat.
The location was great, just a few minutes walk from the pier (no steps or hills) and not far from anything at all. At night we could hear no music from any of the bars.

Room Tip: Air con is a must, it's SO hot on Phi Phi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssleyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    58
    27
    34
See reviews for
20
75
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

The location is excellent, far enough away from the big bars, 5 minute slow walk from the pier and pretty much on the beach. Not from anything at all.

The hotel itself looked very nice. Clean and smart with a little pool and lots of concrete bungalows. The room itself was a very good size. We got a twin, but we booked a double. Not the hotel's fault. It was very clean. The bathroom was clean too, but neaded a bit more of a scrub, and a bit of an update. We only has a fan, which was ok, and there was no Wi-Fi. You could pay for it if you wanted, B70 for 60 minutes.

The free breakfast was great! A buffet style, with loads to choose from, cereal, toast, juices, fruit, sausages, potatoes, meat, tea and coffee. The resturant is right on the beach, a lovely way to start your day.

The room was quiet at night and it felt very safe and secure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

I've a stayed at the hotel for 3 night on a diving vacation.
The location was great since the diving club was just in front of the hotel. The hotel is situated near the southern beach which is the quieter area, and requires only 10 minutes walk to the nicest and busiest north beach.
The rooms are spacious and clean. The (western) breakfast was fine, and the staff was helpful but not very friendly.
The bathroom was disappointing. I first got a room with a stinky shower, and then switched to a room with a (rusty) tub, which was still smelly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy2guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

This hotel did not live up to my standards at all.
Expensive (twice the price of anywhere else I stayed on this trip) and just plain old.
The bathroom stank (we have no idea why) and the staff on the whole were not very helpful (except for one maintenance man when we had some issues.
The location is the one thing that redeems this hotel, as it is a very short walk from the pier and other amenities.
If I had to say anything else positive about this hotel, it would be that it's a 2 minute walk from Khun Va Restaurant, where Gita and the gang are exceptional, and provide some of the best food, cocktails and hospitality Phi Phi and indeed Thailand have to offer. Gita in particular is wonderful, very attentive and always right on the money when it comes to everything in the restaurant (going so far as going to the market for ingredients when we surprised him with an order one morning).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Bury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

As soon as we arrived on Phi Phi we noticed a difference in the Thai people. We were met off the ferry by a member of the hotel staff, (no friendly greeting) he marched us and a family with a pram towards our hotel. We are fairly fit and so were the other family but he went off at such a speed he left us behind, I had to run to him to let him know he was loosing us. On arrival at the hotel again no greetings from the reception staff (they were almost nasty). We made our own way to our room, which was hidious, we had avacado wallpaper and plastic brightly coloured curtains. The bed was clean, which was the only reason we stayed apart from we had already paid in full about £60 a night for the 2 nights. The bathroom was horrible, we had salt water showers, the salt water had coroded the bath taps which made the bath look dirty, the shower curtain and tiles were mouldy. We were accompanied by trails of ants all round the bedroom. We didnt have a safe in the bedroom, there was a notice to say leave valubles at reception, we chose to leave them in the bedroom as we didnt trust the reception staff. Breakfast was ok. The pool was very small and uncomfortable to sunbathe as no mats on wooden sunbeds. The aircon kept us awake most of the night, but it was too warm to turn it off, it banged and clattered and leaked and spat lumps of ice out of it all night long. Check out was as bad as check in, with iggnorant unfriendly staff, they managed to make us feel like criminals having us wait while they went to check we hadnt stolen anything from our room. Although Phi Phi is a very beautiful island to look at, it is very unfriendly, over populated over expensive and very very over rated, I would never ever go again and only remember the bad things about it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Well located close to any facilties (beach, bars, restaurant, pier,...)
Service Ok
Spacious rooms.

We get the last bungalow, close to a dump. Not the best scenery at the wake-up.
The bathroom wasn't really clean and need to be restored.
Breakfast OK. Not really tasty but OK.
No A/C for 1200 baths/night.

Next time, I would prefer an other place

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#17 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#12 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#25 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#13 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort

Property: Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Address: 157 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing