We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I'm really surprised at people who complain about lack of air conditioning and hot water at this resort - don't they read about the place before they go? The Relax Resort is a charming tropical paradise and I found it even more enjoyable because we had to "rough it a little" - just getting there in a long tail boat is great fun but don't wear your Prada shoes!. Yes there's no hot water but the shower water isn't exactly freezing and in the tropics who needs a hot shower? And yes there is no air conditioning but this place is running on generators only so what should we expect? The rooms have fans and, fortunately, when we were there there was a sea breeze most of the time so it was very comfortable. The staff were super friendly, playful and accommodating. The 2 ladies who gave massages were lovely and their massages were fantastic. The beach is a bit rocky at low tide - in fact there isn't a beach in Thailand, in my opinion, that can compare with any beach on the east coast of Australia - but the water is warm and calm and the resort is truly relaxing. And the cocktails are awesome!

Room Tip: We stayed in beach-side bungalows which are probably best for view and breeze. The ones right at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydneysider30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

There are many bad things to say about this place but the worst was when suddenly they kicked us out of our room, and put other tourists instead! The receptionist was ULTRA rude, threatening to throw our clothes on the path when we objected! Apparently, when you don't pay your whole stay in advance, they can kick you out at any day. I cannot recommend to stay at this place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Life on the island is heavy. The road only by sea. Therefore, staff dull. There is no joy like on the mainland. The restaurant is 2 times more expensive than in Phuket. Excursions are expensive. There is no air conditioning. The houses are small. Only cold water. Poor...

Room Tip: Take a hotel on Phuket and make a one-day trip to Phi Phi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the relax resort for 3 nights on 24 June in a beach hut. It cost €105 for the 3 nights with a 3 for price of 2 offer. Our 3 nights here were the best of our entire trip owing to the natural beauty and serenity the resort provides. I don't think it's worth going for any of the huts not on the beach front as they are such good value and at high tide the water is about 10 foot from the veranda. We trecked to the view point which is a much tougher journey than if you were to go from Tonsai but it was worth it. Plenty of monkeys, bugs etc along the way and I had dozens of mosquitp bited afterwards. The food in the restaurant was lovely and drinks were reasonable. I didn't thihnk it was excessive that they charge for transfer as it is about 30 mins in the longtail and you really do benefit from staying in Phak Nam Bay and not in the main reosrt of the island. Would love to return again some day.

Room Tip: Go for beach front for the view and proximity to sun lounger etc and much less critters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunrayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you love camping as I do you'll love this place. First each day at ferry arrivals the staff is at the pier to pick you up. The resort is only reachable by longboat, by the jungle there's venom snakes, very active at night. At the resort you'll find the best snorkeling spot just in front of the beach, bring water shoes or fins to past the dead corals.
The restaurant, alcohol, transportation fees will cost you an average of 5000bth for 2 days.
The lodging have a mosquito net, no a/c.
You'll find in and out of your room : bats, geckos, cockroach , so always close your luggage's.
There was cockroach because our first lodge was behind the kitchen. But we changed room and there was no more of them, there was one in my batting suit and it climbed my arm, so don't leave it close to ground during the night.
But I'm not complaining, I knew that it's in jungle.

Room Tip: Don't book close to the kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpgrenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

To start with the positives, the hotel is set on a great beach (note a little far from the centre with infrequent shuttles) with clear seas and a decent restaurant but this is where the positives stopped for our stay.
We had it in our minds that it is a resort set within the jungle so we not expecting full luxury facilities with it to be a bit rough around the edges. For instance we didn’t care about the local bats, the electricity only being on between 6pm and 6am and pretty slow wifi. However the room was dirty on a basic level, with sweaty sheets and mattresses, the bathroom full of cobwebs and dirt. In addition the cabins were poorly constructed allowing any animal to get inside and this is where the problems really started. We had thought that there would be the occasional insect in the room but we were inundated with dozens of cockroaches on a nightly basis which we had to run round the bathroom to catch. The staff at this point were at best incompetent and worst downright rude, not wanting to come and help and when we were offered another cabin further away from the jungle they demanded that we pay extra despite all the agro we had gone through. The guys that were supposed to help us move our luggage to the new room were clearly hacked off because they were watching TV and we interrupted them. The hurried us up whilst we were packing our bags so that they could return to watch the football game on TV.
If the staff, and particularly the main receptionist, had treated our issue with real concern and understanding we would not have been so annoyed or even been prepared to stay the full seven days. They even refused to allow us to speak with the management, so we had no option but to leave early, in the end three days earlier than planned. They could have helped in a number of other ways to facilitate our stay and eventual move, but they were reticent to do anything to help, they refused any refunds, complimentary shuttles, or even a local call to arrange our change of hotels. This is a place to avoid in our opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MareneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were heading for Koh Lanta to discover Thailand off the main tourist track. But since most things were closed in low season, slightly hesitating we shipped ourselves to Koh Phi Phi and the very nice Bayview hotel. During a long tail boat trip, we had lunch at Relax beach hotel and completely fell in love with the place, staff and beach with wonderfuk coral reefs 5 meters outside. Now, this is not your luxurious city hotel. You live in traditional huts with bathroom without hot water and aircondition, but with a fan, mosquito net, veranda and the sounds from the rain forrest just outside. There is really nothing to do here except from enjoying nature and the restaurant and snorkling the corals and chatting with the friendly staff and others seeking a piece of a Thailand without shopping and backpacker pubs and the noice you get plenty of in Koh Phi Phi "city" (nothing wrong with that, but this place is a choice of something else).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norchristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.7 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#2 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,687 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.8 mi away
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
#8 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort

Address: Phak Nam Bay, Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $49 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Relax Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing