We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were heading for Koh Lanta to discover Thailand off the main tourist track. But since most things were closed in low season, slightly hesitating we shipped ourselves to Koh Phi Phi and the very nice Bayview hotel. During a long tail boat trip, we had lunch at Relax beach hotel and completely fell in love with the place, staff and beach with wonderfuk coral reefs 5 meters outside. Now, this is not your luxurious city hotel. You live in traditional huts with bathroom without hot water and aircondition, but with a fan, mosquito net, veranda and the sounds from the rain forrest just outside. There is really nothing to do here except from enjoying nature and the restaurant and snorkling the corals and chatting with the friendly staff and others seeking a piece of a Thailand without shopping and backpacker pubs and the noice you get plenty of in Koh Phi Phi "city" (nothing wrong with that, but this place is a choice of something else).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norchristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Awful service for the price!! Bitten by a spider in my sleep, because the bathroom isolation is so poor any kind of insects can come into your room! Not electricity during the day,you have to pay for wifi, impossible to sleep as the isolation is so poor you hear everything. No air con!
Very poor welcome from the 2ladies at the front desk, one could speak french but only decided to let us know at the end of the conversation!!

The times when the boat is leaving to phi phi pier doesnt suit anyone obviously so you have to pay more if you need to go at another time.

Dirty and not well kept inside the bungalow, cleaned only every 2 days. And they dare threatening you to pay fir any dirt in the sheets!!!
A total rip off

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

So relaxing, rooms are rustic like little tree houses. Beach is absolutely fantastic, water is clear and at high tide you can spend hours in the water! Food was good, although my partner got sick (but that could have been anything) we took a tour to Maya bay by longtail and that was fantastic. Not dirt cheap by Thai standards, but I believe the location is more than worth it and not at all expensive. The only thing to be aware of is it's not close to town (150b boat ride away). If you love nature,you will love this place! Staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Garden view bungalows are like tree houses - loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a lovely resort on the other side of the island, however the first thing we noticed was that we were charged an extra 150 Bht per person, each way, for the transfer (most other places do this for free if you have booked to stay), adding an extra 600 Bht to our price. We stayed here for three nights, and was a lovely place to relax - but with limited things on offer (as it is such a small island) we probably wouldn't have stayed much longer.

We stayed in a Coral Beach bungalow (as the Paradise bungalows were full, but when we got there we couldn't see the point in paying extra for the Paradise ones as the coral ones are on the beachfront too!). There was a lovely veranda over looking the beach, with two sun loungers on - a great place to stay out of the sun. Inside, the bed was comfy, however there was no A/C so it got very hot at night. There was a mosquito net, which was good though! What we didn't realise before was that there is no electricity between 6am and 6pm every day, so if you need to charge anything, this has to be done overnight (although with limite sockets it was sometimes tricky) - but this was not too bad.

There was onsite massaged you could book - about average price, and very good - on the beach. There was also a restaurant on site, however the prices were higher than elsewhere due to lack of competition - there was no where else you could eat! They also charged you for breakfast, which other places tend not to do. Having said that - the restaurant catered for all diets/cuisines, and was really good - and all the staff were very friendly and helpful, always smiling.

In our beach bungalow we had an en suite, however there was no bathroom door! Just a shower curtain to pull across - so not the most private. Also, the bungalow was not sealed under the roof so bugs could come in (and they did!) so might not be the best for people who hate ants/creepy crawlies!

There was not a pool, but the beach had great snorkelling with lots of coral and fish to see, and the place offered diving/fishing trips for the day, although we did not do these.

We did hoever climb up to the viewpoint, which is a signed route from the resort, and gives you great views over the island - takes a few hours in total.

Overall, this was a lovely place to stay - mainly because the staff were so smiley and friendly, however it was not ideal with no pool or selection of restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for the Coral Beach bungalows - on the beachfront but cheaper than the paradise ones. Get A/C if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireaustin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Fire dancing at night. No tv,radio or electricity during the day. Perfect for adventure or to just lay in the sun on a ham. Its a must to stay for two - three days.its so safe. With 45min jungle hikes to the main land and private long boat hire available to travel to maya bay and the rest of the other smaller phi phi islands or spots. No need to arrange with group tours that are so expensive and structured. I shall be staying again this year and have booked for a week this time. Maps of the island are available online(hiking trails). Its what u make of it and who u go with. The perfect place for a weekend away with your friends and fam. Much better to stay here than camp out in the wild. I have traveled from phuket, phi phi,kabi, samui,bangkok all over thailand and my stay at relax beach was the best. Happy travels. 8 out 10 in my books.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownSA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The whole experience of taking a water taxi from Tonsai to arrive at this resort was so memorable. As we approached the small isolated beach with its bamboo bungalows and welcoming bar we felt that we truly arrived in paradise. The resort is very isolated. The only way to reach Tonsai is a 30 minute trip by longtail boat / water taxi which will cost you 150 baht per head each time. We chose to explore the island by foot on one of our 3 days there and walked through the jungle to the famous 'pee pee' view point and then down a few very steep steps to the town area where we had lunch. We love camping and this resort offered a similar outdoor experience. The room facilities are very basic (no hot water although this did not bother us because it is always humid in Thailand) and the bed was very comfortable. It was refreshing to hear the waves lapping so close to our window as opposed to hearing the drumming sound of an aircon in the luxury hotel we stayed in prior to Phi Phi. We did find a cockroach in our room once but this is not the end of the world. Since the resort is so isolated you will most probably eat at the resort every evening. Prices were quite reasonable and the food were mostly great. The cocktails at the bar area was awesome. Their mango and strawberry lassi's (smoothies) are a hit! The bar man was so friendly and full of jokes. In general the staff was very friendly (except for one of the younger waitresses and unfortunately the resort manager is not a very approachable kind of person). The only big draw back of our visit was not the resort itself but the WEATHER. Although always humid we had rain and overcast weather on all 3 of our days there (picture gloomy London weather with a massive heater on!). When we hiked through the jungle it was in pouring rain although I told myself to count my blessings as it is quite a memorable experience walking in a real jungle. We went out to scuba on one of the days and the visibility was terrible but I know it will be awesome if the sea is calmer and the sun is shining. I will never make the mistake of visiting Thailand again in the rainy season because that beautiful picture you have of turquoise water and cloudless skies are far from a reality in June (maybe we just hit a bad patch!). Will definitely recommend Phi Phi Relax resort if you love the outdoors and a bit of adventure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkikapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we weren't able to see the best of koh phi phi because of the weather however we have a few points to make about the hotel.

The location is amazing but I assume that everywhere else on koh phi phi is the same.

The staff were mainly friendly apart from one receptionist who was particularly stubborn and inconsistent. The lack of an offering of late check out even though the rooms were available was appalling. The fact that wifi 50 baht is a bit stupid. It's 50 baht why not give it for free. Every other hotel we've stayed at so far, the majority of which are cheape, offer free wifi. Our mosquito net was substandard and I was bitten a fair few times.

To the member of staff that falsely accused us of losing our key, it would be good if you could sort issues out with your staff before accusing your customers as it does not come across well. It's just common sense to ensure you have all the facts before basically having a go at us.

All in all there are probably better places to stay at for the same price

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSRNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.7 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#2 of 91 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,577 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.8 mi away
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
#8 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort

Address: Phak Nam Bay, Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $49 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Relax Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing