We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, quiet and relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, it was relaxing, the beach restaurant at night was great. The bungalows were good quality, mosquito proof, and rooms were fitted with A/C (our main requirement). The only down side was the cold showers, but to be honest it was so damn hot it didn't really matter. Service was pretty good, the restaurant cocktails were great but avoid cocktails with brown sugar unless you want small black ants floating in your drink. All in all a nice little joint well away from the late night Phi Phi doof doof, with a nice little beach to go with it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Phi Phi relax for 3 nights and LOVED it, some reviews on here made me unsure of what to expect as someone who hates bugs and likes clean toilets but this place is amazing. The wooden bungalows are just lovely if you embrace the environment you will enjoy being more at one with nature! Cold showers are lovely once you get used to it and only got a few mosquito bites (which considering the environment was great) food DELICIOUS, staff lovely, scenery BREATHTAKING. Lovely being away from the hustle and bustle and we had a brilliant time :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The best hotel i could ever been.
At first, you stay near the beach... and the hotel has its own beach. The water is good, there is no noise and the calm is unbelievable. The rooms (bungalows) are always clean... The staff is friendly.

If you want to go to the city, because the hotel is far, far away from the city you have two options. Going by boat, more quick but more expense (200THB), or going by foot, less expense(20THB) but more funnier because you see the landscape. And if you pretend to walk only to the city, without seeing anything you will have a 1h walk, climbing stairs or wathever your feet land on.

But honestly, i would return there as soon as possible...

Room Tip: Try the bungalows near the beach, they worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudefernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights with husband 23-26, january. If you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the island it is the perfect location but that's about it. Staff were generally ok, however customer service was appaling at reception, they saw me waiting by the desk, then someone turned up and just walked past me, how rude... Not helpful at all...
They call themselves a resort, however they didnt include nothing in the price, not even a transfer from/to the ferry pier, they charged extra for everything, they rip you off wherever they can. Breakfast was not included either, money pit... When we checked out nobody said thank you or hope you enjoyed your stay, lady on the beach seeing us off was only interested in our room number and if we paid for the long tail boat. Restaurant was expensive since they know that you will have to eat there unless you're prepared to pay 600bhat for two for a return trip..
Portions were tiny, once we laughed when they served us with a tiny kiddie portion.... Laughable... The beach was very nice and quiet, however we found lots of broken glass scattered around in the sand...
Room was basic, our fan didnt work, so didnt sleep much.. We also woke up one morning to a couple of cockroaches in the room... No kettle, no fridge..
We traveled around the country, stayed at different accomodations and I was most looking forward to this one but for us it was a big let down.Considering how much we paid per night we were expecting a lot more.. Shame since the location was nice....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

In all honesty I kinda knew what I was getting into: no hot water and no electricity during the day in exchange of a distant, relaxing and beautiful beach. However, I felt like the price I thought was going to pay was completely off, since they charge you for every "extra".

Beach: very nice, but don't think about snorkeling or swimming there, sort of dirty and full of rocks. You'll have to take one of the tours they offer to other beaches.

Facilities: the restaurant is very nice but the prices are high (and you have no other alternative), their staff is great and friendly (not so much at reception). There are showers to clean your feet before going to the bungalows, which is good, but there are not enough chairs on the beach for everyone, first come first serve, and just one hammock. Massages are cheap, but need to book in advanced or get the 9pm appointment. We did laundry with them but the clothes came back as dirty with the same stains as they left.

Bungalows: Very disappointing. No blinds, just some dirty curtains that won't cover the entire window. No door between the bathroom and bedroom, just a shower curtain. There are holes all over the bungalow for insects and other creatures to get in. We lit a coil every night and spread repellent on the net that covers (barely) the bed. Don't turn the lights on at night since that will attract insects as well. The water in the toilet came out brown so use the bottled water for everything even brushing your teeth.

In&Out: we knew from reviews that the boat (30 min) in and out of the resort was not included so add that to the bill (B150 per person per trip, not expensive, but keep adding, it'd just be nice if they included most of this stuff in the rate). They offer 2 tours, half or full day to nearby beaches. If you don't take one of those, they won't help you call a taxi boat to get elsewhere, very unhelpful.

Activities: there's nothing going on during or after dinner. You'd think they put music at the bar for drinks after dinner, maybe some show, dancing? forget it...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nusenovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Relax Beach Resort is decent. The bungalow we stayed in was clean and comfortable. Mosquito nets over double and single beds (apparently they charge if you soil your sheets?!?!). The power points/fan, etc are turned on at night only (fair enough, saving power). The beach itself has a bit of a reef infront to snorkel around (you can hire snorkels for 50BHT at the hotel restaurant). The food wasn't bad. The bar at the beach seemed to only play The Eagles greatest hits and Gangaman Style (loudly). The staff put on a fire twirling show. Definitely take the time to hike up the trail at the end of the beach to see sunset from the top of the island. As mentioned in other reviews the Thai staff are friendly and helpful but the French guy at reception didn't have the best attitude. Tours can be easily arranged/booked at reception. Overall, not a bad stay for a decent chunk of change.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hectorial85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

When we arrived I went up to the reception desk and was immediately demanded a payment of 300 baht from the sullen, arrogant French Westerner behind the counter. What a charming welcome.
At this I was very disappointed because our guide book said that resorts tend to charge a fee for transport to leave a resort, but include transport to the resort as part of the price. Given the huge cost we forked out for the stay, this could have been included as a courtesy (even by upping the daily rate slightly!)
This resort appears to have been taken over by the French man (recently rapidly expanded and trashily westernised - women soliciting massages, bad soft rock booming from the bar every night etc) as he spent a lot of time stalking around the beach and the restaurant glaring at his staff. He clearly is grubbing for money at every opportunity. He's in the wrong job: surely someone who runs a resort needs to like people? Needs to smile occasionally? Needs to be friendly and chatty?
It is like a school or a prison with rules and regulations everywhere. Our first experience of this was when we were told at the reception desk it was forbidden to go to our room by ourselves. We needed to be escorted, even though we only had light little backpacks. We had to stand around and wait for ages for a Thai worker to become available.
When we got to our room we were greeted by a set of rules which included details of how we would be fined if we soiled the sheets. I wonder how many people soil the sheets to the extent that we all need to be warned about this!
In the restaurant (which is exorbitant and where local Thai food is the same cost as Western dishes - surely they should be encouraging more sustainable local food options?), there is a tiny notice about daily snorkel hire (60 baht) and then a notice three times its size warning you that you will be fined 600 baht if you return the snorkel after 6pm. There is an even larger notice detailing all of the damage that can be done to different parts of the snorkel and how much the fines are for each bit.
Even more disappointing was the lack of information of how the resort is helping care for the reef. Virtually all of the coral is dead and in the evenings you can sit on the beach watching the staff fish on the reef. Usually resort coral reefs forbid fishing. Perhaps the French man keeps most of the profits for himself and staff are forced to subsist on the reef. There was not enough information about the damage caused by tourists standing on the coral.
Also we did not want our room cleaned each day. Our instruction booklet informed us the room would be cleaned every second day. We are happy to make our own beds and sweep out ourselves (we don't need servants for this), but obviously staff are under orders to clean rooms everyday. We had the 'do not disturb' notice up all day on one day to avoid the cleaning, and then popped down to the restaurant for a coffee at 4:30. While we were gone our room was made up. Obviously it is forbidden to refuse to have your room cleaned.
The frothy mosquito net is made of thick cheesecloth so the fan doesn't penetrate into the bed. Given a fan is a highly effective way of repelling mosquitos, and the net had holes in it and couldn't be sealed easily, this was problematic. The low wattage bulbs mean you can't read in bed, even though there is a bedside light (with the switch about five feet up!). They give you a torch so I read with this but I was worried that it might be forbidden to use up the batteries. Perhaps there was a 600 baht fine I didn't know about?
The local Thai staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very high up on the cliff with tenuous steps. If you are an old person you will need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.7 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#2 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,670 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
1.8 mi away
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
#7 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort

Address: Phak Nam Bay, Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $51 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Relax Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing