We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to dot the 'I's and cross the 'T's” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phi Phi Andaman Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phi Phi Andaman Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Need to dot the 'I's and cross the 'T's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at the Andaman for 10 days during the Christmas and New Year period. Overall the hotel was of a good standard, however for the amount we paid we expected more.
One of the key issues we had with the hotel is that they did not have free Wifi and we were expected to pay 450 baht a day for one login, which could only be used by one person at a time. This was particularly unusual as Wifi is free all over the island and the cheapest hostels provide this service for no extra charge. After some negotiation they agreed to give it to us free as we were there for a long stay, however everytime our 3 day login ran out and we asked for another one we were met with a certain amount of hostility from the reception staff.
There were also some other things that although not particularly important, we would have expected based on the price of this hotel - more than one towel, a hairdryer in the room, soap provided. There was also building work still going on when we arrived and it had not been completed by the time we left - although this did not affect us too much, it would have been nice to have not seen piles of rubble when looking over our balcony.
The positive things about this hotel is that it is clean, good sized rooms, in a nice location (short walk to the main action, but far enough away so you feel relaxed), provide transfers from the pier and has a good pool.
This hotel could have been rated Excellent, it is a shame that the little things have let it down and unfortunately I would look for somewhere else to stay next time I visit Phi Phi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    165
    176
    91
    103
See reviews for
109
244
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

booked in thailand as a tour and when we arrived we were disapointed.
looks nothing like the pictures. 1st off free transfer which was walking lol!
we stayed in a bungalow thing which was in a poor state worn furniture uncomfortable bed dodgy wiring cracked sink holes in bathroom tiles. front door barely locked and door handle was hanging off. pool is tiny
dont stay here there is nicer hotels for less good job we only stayed for 1 night only sleep well coz i was drunk!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmtd4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Okay, so I read a few bad reviews about this place and I just don't get them.

The staff at this place are amazing, so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast is tasty and gives you everything you need (they have amazing banana bread mini muffins), they also make you fresh omlettes. You get to eat breakfast with a view over the sea which is second to none. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from all the action and maybe 15 minutes walk to the other side of the island where all the mental bars are such as Slinkys. The hotel is in a nice quiet area but as I mentioned everything is within a 5 minute walk. The pier is a maximum of ten minutes but don't worry someone will meet you at the pier to help with the bags. The beach is right out side and longtail boat taxis can be find within a minute to take you to other beaches such as Maya Bay on Phi Phi Ley. The pool is also clean and over looks the beach. There is also a little shop literally a minute from the main reception.

Our room was great, clean and modern with a massive bathroom. We also had a balcony and comes with complimentary water. We stayed in the new hotel wing. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, it helped make our stay their perfect and if (when) we go back to Phi Phi we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the new hotel wing rather than a bungalow, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this place in Thailand & didnt get chance to check on TRIPADVISER as we normally do ! OHHH DEAR ....It was the most expensive in Phi Phi..God knows why ..It was A DUMP! The doors were stuck with cellotape...The wet room ..HA..was the size of a toilet.. The shower had only 3 holes in it...the rest were covered in mold, as was the1 tap ! cockroches & millipeads everywhere as the floor never dried..NOT 1 PLUG IN THE PLACE...iF YOU WANTED TO CHARGE ANYTHING YOU HAD TO UNPLUG THE TV!!! Disgusting !!This was a DELUX BUNGALOW......When asking to move the staff were really RUDE!!!!( obviously heard this a million times) couldnt care less..When asking for a hairdryer was told nastilly...NO HAIRDRYER!!!got hold of manager..hairdryer there in 2mins!!!lots of rubbish left to rot next to restaurant....Food left uncovered all the time...millions of flies all over ..The plates & mugs were PLASTIC?? all dirty, cracked .It was like a prison....dont waste your money !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pammy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

this hotel was one of the most expensive at £60 a night. We were met off the pier by a member of staff who took our bags and we walked to the hotel which was about 15 mins through the bay, The hotel itself is old, tired, run down. It is very basic. The taps were broekn in our room. We stayed for five nights which was too long. The room was dated. Most days we weren't even left loo roll. The towels would often have holes in!! The hotel is used to feed boat trips, during the day the hotel was inundated by tourists coming to the island. It was very hectic and not relaxing. The pool area was also dirty and the furniture was old and filthy, all of the umbrellas were broken. Breakfast was basic, worst we found. You were given plastic plates and cups which were all stained, and cracked and there were flies over everything which made me feel ill. In the morning at 6.30am we were also woken by the guides waking them by banging on their doors and ours shouting as they walked down the corridor. You had pay 450 Bart a day for WIFI but we were given it for free, but you could only use one device at a time on it and kept cutting out. The only thing good about the hotel is the location . Would not stay there again even for free. We paid in full in cash on our arrival but when we got home there was an unauthorised amount on the credit card with which we paid the initial deposit. There was nothing to buy as you could not even buy a drink.

Room Tip: Had heard that the bungalows were run down so we opted for a deluxe room in the new building but tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casafiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Rude staff, I booked this off booking.com, thank goodness -would highly recommend them as they are helping us out as they charged bank card in error for things, said we were refunded and still waitings so the websites helping us sort out.

I have travelled to Thailand 3 times so am well aware of their service standards and lack of English, thats all fair enough, but when you are paying over 3000 bhat a night you expect at least a bit of higher service.we asked to speak to a manager when we had the credit card issue as we could see thy hadnt refunded it from the slip and they pointed to another guy and they laughed as it was more like the cleaner. Just frustrating and pathetic. Stay away! We did and moved to place right next door which had better pool (theirs looks like a pond) and rooms and cheaper! I will put up a review of that when I check name as they are all very similar but think its the phi phi villa.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linzi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We travelled (flashpacking) round Thailand for four weeks, this hotel was one of the most expensive at £60 a night.

We were met off the pier by a member of staff who took our bags and we walked to the hotel which was about 15 mins through the bay, for this service it was 50 Baht per person which was well worth it.

The hotel itself is old, tired, run down and dirty. It is very basic. We stayed for five nights which was to long.

The room was dated and the cleaner would only come if you hung the sign on the door, Even then she only made the bed but left the decorative cushions laying on the floor. There was no other cleaning done, our bathroom sink was never cleaned, we spilt make up on it and it was there the whole time, the soap residue was also not wiped away. (The hotel did not provide SOAP so we had to buy it)

Our room was the first along the corridor where the cleaner kept their trolley, we were woken up each morning by their radio. Most days we weren't even left loo roll. The bed sheets and towels would often have holes in!!

The hotel is used to feed boat trips, during the day the hotel was inundated by tourists coming to the island. It was very hectic and not relaxing. There were tour guides shouting and the tourists would invade the pool. Occasionally the pool man would shoo them away and show a sigh saying they couldn't use the pool. The pool area was also dirty and the furniture was old and filthy, all of the umbrellas were broken. When we complained we got a nervous giggle from the young receptionist who said she didn't understand!

Breakfast was basic, worst we found. You were given plastic plates and cups which were all stained, made me feel ill. There was also lots of staff which congregated in the toilet waiting for tour boats, this made us feel a bit awkward about using them.they would sit on the sink area chatting.

The hotel was also used for over night trips so it had a high turn over of guests. In the morning at 6.30am we were also woken by the guides waking them by banging on their doors shouting as they walked down the corridor.

You had pay 450 Bart a day for WIFI but we were given it for free, but you could only use one device at a time on it!!

The only thing good about the hotel is the location and the constant hot for a good shower.

Would not stay there again even for free!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#10 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#13 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Andaman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Andaman Beach Resort

Property: Phi Phi Andaman Beach Resort
Address: 65 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay, Ko Phi Phi Don 81210, Thailand (Formerly Andaman Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Andaman Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Phi Phi Andaman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Andaman Beach Phitsanulok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing