We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It's no doubt that Phi Phi Island is beautiful, with the torquoise beaches, powder-fine sands, it is also no doubt that Phi Phi is flooded with tourists and tourist-touts. The hotel is away from Tonsai pier. Unlike the other hotels, it does not provide a free pick-up long tail boat from the pier to the hotel. All tourists will have to find their own way to the resort. The jungle trail is tough to navigate with luggage and most of us will have to find our own long tail to the resort. With all the haggling with the touts, the first impression is really no good.

All the rooms are beach front villas, cabanas or bungalows. Internet connection and WIFI are only available in the office area and a fairly complex set of log-in details and password will be required.

The rooms are simple and in my view too simple for the price. The aircon is rather loud, light sleepers please beware. The bathroom is simple with a shower, water pressure is not great. The hotel does not have a restaurant but the surrounding hotels have 2-3 restaurants where guests can stock up and load up.

I personally find the price on the high side given the quality we are in, I guess all goes to being in Phi Phi which is now increasingly over-rated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
There are newer reviews for Phi Phi The Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Phi Phi the beach for 3 nights in Jan 2014. Overall, a very nice place to stay with courteous, responsive staff.

Pros:
- excellent views as their bungalows are built into the hill
- good selection for breakfast. Be warned, selection doesn't vary greatly day by day.
- staff are always willing to drive you up since the stairs are quite steep and numerous to get back to your room
- Fresh fish grill, while significantly expensive, offers unbelievably fresh seafood. We had 2 tiger prawns, 1 blue crab and 1 red snapper and the bill was about $55. (Sold by weight)
- the resort offers a private trip to Maya bay, which is definitely worth it. Don't expect to do much snorkelling, just enjoy the beach.
- regardless of what you read, there is free wifi and it spans the whole area including rooms and beach very well.
- completely complimentary mini-bar that is restocked daily.

Cons:
- the beach itself isn't much. There is about 30 - 40 feet of water before coral and rocks take over and you need water shoes. Bring water shoes!!
- air conditioning in our bungalow takes several hours to cool the place down.
- stairs are quite steep and not very well lit in the night
- safe in the room comes with no instructions. After 3 failed attempts, I called the front desk. They sent someone over within minutes.

Altogether, an excellent place to stay for a few nights.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MrMrsGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights (we were originally booked for 5 but stayed longer due to political unrest in Bangkok. We stayed here with our 2 teenaged children. travelling with teenagers is a trial which I will not bother to go into but our kids had a room that was lower down the hill and we had the deluxe suites high on the hill- it felt safe. Our room had views which were simply breathtaking. The rooms looked exactly as on the website. The kids rooms ('superior villa') were a little 'tired' but had excellent views from the balcony. I followed previous TA advice and splashed out on the Grand Deluxe villa with sea view room for my husband and myself which was good advice- very hard on the thigh muscles but SO worth the effort when you get there! This resort is not 5 star but so close to it- a little way away from the busyness of Tonsai village which frankly - in my mind- is a relief unless you are a 20 something party animal! You can apparently walk to the village in about 40 mins but due to illness unfortunately I never got to it- we always took the boat which cost about 100 baht each person each time.
My advice is - take insect repellent as mosquitoes can get into the room.
Ladies- do not bother taking any strappy high heeled shoes to Phi Phi as you will feel overdressed. Do snorkel outside the boundaries out the front of the resort- which is allowed- the snorkelling there is really great! Do go and visit Maya- the Beach- it is worth it! Read up on the history of Phi Phi as it is interesting. Visiting the very small Tsunami memorial at Tonsai village was moving. Do try the Thai massages at the resort which (like all Thai massages) are very different but oh so good. Staff at this resort may struggle with English but overall were very helpful. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Splash out- you may only ever come here once in a life time!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the grand sea view deluxe villa and booked through Agoda.
Positives- Close to Tonsai pier
Excellent beach and lots of sun loungers.
A few different beach bars around the resort.
You can get a long tail boat to Tonsai at night for the nightlife.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Our villa was was excellent, clean, big balcony with ocean view, the room was perfect.

Negatives- The resort is set on a really steep hill so if that would be a problem for you make sure when booking your room its at the bottom of the hill. Although the hotel does offer a free minibus service which takes you from reception to your room, if you phone reception from your room they'll pick you up as well which is really handy.
Pool is tiny.

I would recommend phi phi beach resort and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. I was a bit nervous given some of the reviews. We booked the Grand Sea View Superior room, which was close to the top of the hill. The walk took us 5 minutes, so I wasn't sure why some people have complained. Even when we were offered a ride, we happily walked. The location is perfect. It's practically on one end of Phi Phi (at the end of a small row of resorts) and is just the right distance from everything. It's close enough that you have a small selection of restaurants and massage places nearby, but is definitely quieter than the main town. The views are amazing from the rooms and face Phi Phi Leh too. Beautiful sunsets. The view is gorgeous and worth the walk. The resort also includes free breakfast, as well as long tail boat rides to/from the ferry when you arrive and depart. Otherwise, it's a 100 baht boat ride per ride on your own if you want to check out the town. The bar also does bookings for private long tail boat trips going to various nearby locations. We booked one for 6 hours and it was definitely worth it. The pool is small, and completely unnecessary because the beach is just steps away. The resort also has lounge chairs for guests, which was also a bonus. We never ate in the restaurant as we kept trying different ones on the strip, so can't comment on the food. The free breakfast was decent and another good perk too. We found the staff lovely and helpful too. The room itself was okay. We got our own hut/building and didn't have to share any walls, so that was nice. Our friends ended up in a 2-room hut/building, and they said that they could hear the neighbors the whole time. So if you can, ask for a room with no shared walls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no shared walls
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Only stayed for a couple of nights just before New Year 2013. Staff great, private beach with beds right on the beach and beachside restaurant and bar all very nice. Our room was a little high up the hill, try and get on one the lower ones in you can as it was a bit of a climb. But a minor point. Would love to go back. Water and snorkelling, the best I have very seen anywhere in the world. A short trip into the main town on a long tail that costs a couple of quid each. Deff recommend a stay at this place. Top notch. Favourite place we stayed in Thailand during our recent trip.

Room Tip: Try and get one lower down the hill with a sea view if you can
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Phi Phi the Beach for 3 nights. It is on the far south side of the island and very quiet. Clean and no bugs. They provide a free water taxi ride when you arrive/depart and breakfast was included. We used the free shuttle service quite a bit to get up to our room since it's on a big hill. The view is really good from the resort and OK from the room we had in the 4000's.

The room itself had everything we needed but the bed was very hard. I am 6'3" and my feet and ankles were hanging off. Same with the beach chairs, they didn't have any cushions so something to keep in mind if you plan to lounge around the resort all day. You are better off on the sand.

The food is about double the price in town and not too bad. I feel like the service is slow everywhere on the island so no big deal.

We hiked up to the viewpoint from the resort, which was challenging and took about 3 hours in total. Seeing the resorts on the sandbar in between the two bays was breathtaking and made me wish we had stayed on that side. But it would have been tougher to get to Tonsai at night and for activities that leave from the main pier. We also did a booze cruise which was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
0.7 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: | 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $77 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing