We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money spent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in the superior villa with my boyfriend in October 2012. The location is excellent if you want to be on a quieter beach (yet still within walking distance to Ton Sai) with great snorkelling right off the shore.

Unfortunately the "resort" just doesn't come close to being worth the amount of money we spent. The bathroom could only just fit the sink, toilet and shower - there wasn't even room for a towel rack or toilet roll holder let alone your toiletries and the toiletries they provided where in old scummy bottles. There were stains on the old curtins and wet toilet paper plastered to the roof in the bathroom. At night we could hear rats in the walls. The one good feature was the air conditioning which was powerful. We've stayed in many Asian hotels and resorts and know what we can expect for our money - we would have been happy paying a third or half of the price for the room but at just over $100 AUD per night, it was a joke. The resort itself has a small pool and the bar/restaurant is overpriced - we ate at the other end of the beach which had good cheap food (the only other restaurant open during wet season on Long Beach).

Now to the worst part - while we were there the whole place was a construction site. I understand that resorts need to do work to maintain and upgrade but to start up the power tools, radios and yelling at 6.30am and going until 9.30pm each day right outside our bungalow is not ok! They cut down lots of beautiful trees (probably to create ocean views) and left the branches scattered all over the pathways which was really dangerous. We avoided staying near Ton Sai because we wanted somewhere quiet but I'm sure we would have been better off there.

All in all a massive rip off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Sarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Location is great, 5 min swim from the shark point, rooms are small yet equipped well. Our room was on top of the hill - which was a bit uncomfortable.
There are animals hiding in the walls (probably nice geckos but still...) and occasionally a bed smell is coming out of the bathroom.
On the good side - the staff is very efficient, room getting sparkled clean every day, waitresses at the restaurant always helping, and very nice and helpful guys at the reception.
Now about the restaurant...
Bo-ring menu, and less then average food, there are better options on long beach.
The longtail boat trip offered at the bar is terrific!!! You should defenetly try that... (If you can get the guide named "Lin" you'll not regret)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yair_Levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Need to take a short boat ride to the hotel from long beach, away from the town and shops, the hotel is located at the far end of the long beach. There are flights of stairs you need to walk up to your room.

Hotel staffs were friendly, design was somewhat old and worn. The room needs refurbishments, bathroom area is small, TV is old and bed was uncomfortable. But overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefani_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Located on a quiet stretch of Long Beach, a short boat ride or half hour walk from the main township and wharf. Amazing views from the deluxe bungalows high on the cliff, but be warned you will have to contend with several sets of stairs to get to your bungalow, or wait for the hotel golf cart to take you to your room. Friendly staff at reception, in the restaurant and bar, reasonable prices on food and drinks (which is importanta s there are few options around for food and drink). Rooms are spacious and very clean, with beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms further up the hill for amazing, uninterrupted views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in the beach rsort for 3 night in September After getting off the boat from Railey a longtail boat from the hotel was there waiting for any customers. For 100 baht they took us back to the hotel. As it was low sesaon we got a good offer and stayed 2 nights in the deluxe seaview and then one night in superior. The seaview room was lovely, unfortunately the weather wasnt great all the time when we were there so you could hear the wind at times.

The hotel offers a golf buggy to take you up the hill to your room and you can ask for them to pick you up from your room if your feeling lazy. The pool looked nice (although we didnt sample it!) and the hotel is right on the beach.

The food is reasonably priced. there are no other bars or reastaurants nearby (to my knowledge) you are a fair distance away from the main town.

The hotel offers a free boat to town at 8.30am and 1.30pm but apart from that you have to walk 20-30mins along the beach and at the time we went through a very path. there didnt appear to be any other way of getting to town so not ideal with small children. At low tide the hotel boat can't access the pier by the hotel so they charge 100bart for a lift if your in town around 1.30pm and want to return to the hotel. we did get a longboat taxi back (100baht) at low tide and they dropped us off on the beach by the hotel.

There was building work going on at the time but it may have been as it was low season. Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful throughout the stay so all in all we enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the day snorkel boat trip to 5 different locations...amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Phi Phi The Beach Resort is a gem of a resort. If you are reading this then make sure you book it. Seriously. It has the best views on Phi Phi and is enough distance from the town so not to be bothered by the noise coming from all the party goers.
Rooms: We had Room 2205 however any on this row is fine, 2204, 2203 etc. All the rooms are a separated bungalow style. Thai wood and not thatched. This row of rooms is just enough of a stair climb but the view is superb and represents their advertising perfectly. The room has its own toilet and outside shower (with roof/walls and has open windows for a natural breeze and view. The bed is super comfy and be quick to pick the side with the side table. I lost out to my wife. There are tea/coffee making facilities and an in room safe. Use it for peace of mind, however we had no reason to feel unsafe. The bed looks out onto one of the best views I have ever seen. The balcony doors open up onto a decking that your camera will go wild on. You can see Phi Phi Ley (The Beach Movie) island and all the limestone cliffs of Phi Phi Don. The water is turquoise, the breeze is gentle and sunsets make you glad to be alive. The air conditioner is a little underpowered and the only real complaint I have, but its manageable. Draw the curtains when you leave is a good tip. They have silver foil backing on them. The door to the shower should be locked from the inside when leaving or sleeping, just for added security. DO NOT BOOK A ROOM BELOW this line as the view will be impeded by the line of trees. People in the cheaper rooms are disappointed.
Facilities: There is a beach bar with Happy Hour from 4 - 6 pm. The drinks are all reasonably priced and try the Vanilla Milkshake. OMG its heaven! You can play or chat to the staff at the bar and everyone smiles. In the evening you can sit under the palms at spaced evenly dining tables. The lights above illuminate the area with a relaxing ambience. The menu will suit all tastes and it isn't expensive. On the side there is a fire dance area with beach deck chairs to lay in to watch the show. Through the day this area is available for lunches and has sufficient shade from the sun. Facing the water and to the right is another bar, independently run from the hotel but shared as a service desk for water tours, snorkel equipment etc. I will chat about this later. Breakfast is served near the check in area and it's a buffet style. Comprehensive and will suit most people. There is a separate chef to cook your scrambled eggs etc.
Arrival: To get to this resort is easy. Once you get off the main ferry from Phuket a guy with a sign of the resort will be standing halfway down the pier. He will have your name most likely on a guest list, mine having my First Name! They will put your luggage into a long boat and the trip to the end of the point and the resort is only 10 minutes in fairly calms waters. Have your cameras ready for some photos of the resort, water and boat crew. They will take your bags to the resort check in and will use their golf buggy to get you to the room. Also the trip back is free of charge.
Tours and Taxis: At the front beach bar you can arrange various tours. The one we chose is the cheapest. 1200 Bt. This trip goes to Phi Phi Ley where the movie The Beach was filmed. Make sure you go to this island and go early in the morning. Unfortunately too many tour companies go there from Phuket and is overcrowded but as I currently live in China it's not that overcrowded for me. The tour is 3 hours and you have your own personal skipper and Long Boat. Try to go on a sunny day as the photography is unparalleled. To land on the island beach (and yes do this) it costs 200 Bt. per person. Have this in cash and the ranger patiently waits for you to come ashore. Take a few photos of the long boats as it makes a great wall photo for the future. Walking thru to the other side of Maya Bay you will pass the area which was in the movie. You will recognise the place as where Leonardo was hiding from the bad guys in the large beach flax. Take a few snaps. There is a small wooden depiction of the movie set on one of the tracks otherwise there is nothing else that resembles the movie. It had to reshaped back to its original state and the tsunami made sure there wasn't any resemblance to the movie after it swept through this area. Still it is well worth the visit. Many people clamber the stairs at the end to view the coral and turquoise sea at below. Later your skipper will go there for some snorkelling. After about an hour, maybe a swim take off again to the other side to do some snorkelling. This is fantastic and well worth the effort. I love to snorkel all around the world and this is an above average place. Some coral is damage but there is plenty of fish by your hands and schools of fish dancing a metre from your mask. Magnificent to say the least. Tell your skipper to miss out the next stop and remain in this bay longer. The 3rd stop is not worth the effort and is a bay on the island where all the Phuket tours go for their passengers to swim. Don't snorkel here. The 3 hour journey is enough and we timed it to perfection. 300 Bt extra per hour if you go longer.
Snorkelling: Take your own mask and snorkel. Use the internet to learn how to find the best set to suit your face and just hire the fins (flippers) when you go to the island. We hired the fins for the duration of the stay just to ensure I had the right foot size the whole time. This is a good tip and suggest you do this. its only 50Bt a day. You can hire a vest for those that are a little nervous in the water but try and practice in a pool before you get to the island. The rocks out from the main resort are fine to view fish. On the left side half way down you will see clown fish (Finding Nemo) swimming as a pair in a sea anemone. On the right side it is easier there are less bommies to navigate around. make sure you snorkel at high or middle tide. Low tide is too shallow to get around all the rocks and unless you are experienced you will have difficulty with the swell to prevent coral scratching your belly or leg. My wife had never snorkelled before but I taught her in a pool for 30 minutes ion Phuket. She had no difficulty.
The Town: Don't walk into town. The road can be muddy if it rains and poorly lit at night. Take a boat (taxi) 100 Bt. per person. The town is a typical town that backpackers love. Bars, restaurants and loud music. I used to be one but as I am older this scene is no longer for me. There are some supermarkets in the town for the extra nibbles for your stay. We didn't like the town much but it does have that Caribbean feeling about it. You can also walk to the other side of the island. Lots of souvenir shops and tour operators. I suggest that it's not that important to go there unless you are seeking some of the opposite sex and a revellers evening.
All in all this is one of the best locations I have ever been to. I would suggest any person going to this island to go for at least 3 days and a maximum of 5 like we did. If you stay longer you might forget to go home. A class resort and will outstrip any expensive resorts for location, service and facilities. It is Value for Money.

Room Tip: The last day they will sting you 400 Bt per person as it's not included in the specials packages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikeinmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is unbelievable, which you will immediately realize when your longtail boat pulls up to the front! You literally have your own little bungalow that is surrounded in windows overlooking the most beautiful blue water of the Adaman sea as well as Phi phi ley island (from the movie the beach). Not to mention your own personal balcony!! Having coffee on the bacony overlooking the ocean=amazing. Actually I wake up every morning to the sound of the waves crashing on shore and I literally can't wait to open the curtains! It has awesome outdoor showers too. Don't get me wrong though, it's not fancy but it has everything you need- the best beach on phi phi(great snorkeling), good beach bar, incredible views, cleanliness, good customer service and nice staff!! Breakfast was very good too!

Make sure you book a room with a seaview!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTashr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
861 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
320 reviews
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Krabi | 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $99 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing