We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Thai Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We rented a deluxe villa and it was great. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioning worked great (once we figured out how to leave it on full time). The deck was fabulous and the view was unforgettable.

Long Beach was my favorite part of the island. A bit more secluded, clean and private than some other spots: slightly less of the bohemian, backpacker crowd. Our arrival was a little haphazard. Apparently, the hotel's longtail was not available, so they sent someone else to fetch us. It started pouring rain and the boat dropped us on the beach off about 500 yards from the hotel. Carrying our luggage ourselves on the beach, in the rain, got us off to a bad start, but they quickly made up for it with warm towels, and friendly, polite, unintrusive service throughout the remainder of our stay. The walk to our villa was a bit of a hike up the hill, but the rest of the stay was so relaxing we didn't mind the "exercise." They also have a golf cart to bring you to and fro, and with a couple dollars in tips, they were at the ready any time we hinted at wanting a ride. The food at the restaurant was pretty good. The little beach restaurant next door was much better, however, and cheap to boot.

The walk to town was a fairly easy 15 minute jaunt. The pool was warm and clean. The beach was fantastic - the nicest we saw on the island - with less broken coral and rocks than most. The beach chairs were plentiful. The staff was very accommodating - quickly learning that beachside beers served in a bucket of ice were a big hit with us. The included breakfast was nice. Plenty of variety, some local tastes and some European/American fare to appease tourists. Other reviewers criticized the lack of choices, but I thought it was a pretty big spread considering the size of the hotel and the fact that everything has to be brought to the island by boat.

Tips for Phi Phi: Tipping hotel staff goes a long way, but is not required. It gets you quicker service, stronger drinks and a ready smile. The mosquitos are a real bi*ch. They were especially prevalent near the restaurant area at breakfast and sundown, but it was a near constant battle. As for purchases, EVERYthing is negotiable. If you can't get it for at least half of the first asking price, you're just not trying. Hit Maya Bay either early in the morning or late in the afternoon, to avoid the mass of Phuket tourist boats.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

I had my honeymoon there and i had the wonderful time ever !!!!! rooms clean, food and drinks prices was far cheaper then Bangkok. beach very close by. Monkeys are near by but they stay away from guests....was happy to see. staff was very friendly. I would encourage people to stay there it is an Island paradise !!!!! lovers delight place of stay.

Room Tip: High floor better because night life goes on past midnight. but music puts you to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I, like many others on this site, was a little aprehensive after booking the hotel and then reading the reviews, but there was no need for any worries (as usual!). We booked 2 deluxe rooms, my parents in one and myself, husband and 2 small daughters in the other. The views were absolutely, amazingly beautiful!
The first night there was a party in the bar on the beach, and yes, it was extremely noisy. I did contemplate giving up on sleep and joining in, but by the time I had worked out what I might wear to it, it was over (2am). The following night, there was no noise and no problem.
There is a bit of building 'rubble' around, but really, who cares? It is such a beautiful place, the staff were lovely, the food delicious and the rooms were clean, very comfortable and I would go back tomorrow!
Don't be put off by the bad reviews, it's not perfect, but it's close enough!

Room Tip: Book deluxe rooms, if you can, it's further up the hill..less noise, better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KW1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We just returned from 5 days at The Beach Resort and I can't think of a single complaint. We didn't want to stay in town because it is pretty overrun. Long Beach seemed like the best beach on the island, and it didn't disappoint. On Long Beach, The Beach Resort is the niceset option by a long shot. It has the best rooms. We stayed in 2102 on the top row and the view alone was worth it. We never had trouble getting a ride up the hill if we wanted one, but we also walked it half the time and it wasn't bad.

The staff was awesome. They were all super helpful. Granted, we did notice that there were usually a group of guys in resort shirts standing around the bar area doing nothing while one or two women did the work, but I don't think they actually worked in the bar and were instead just kind of hanging out there on their breaks and so weren't as inclinded to jump up and do something that wasn't their job. That said, I beleive you get what you give. If you are rude and expect people to be your servant you will get pushback. If you are friendly and offer a smile, that is what you get back. We made friends with many of the resort staff and they, in turn, were always there to help us.

If you want to stay on Long Beach, spend the extra money and stay here.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Ocean View rooms on the top two rows 2100 and 2200 are the best. 2100 is the highest row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeljaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Me and my girlfriends spent 3 night at the beach resort, very excited to go there as we thought it would have been the best spot in our trip.
We were a bit disappointed as, even though the location is just amazing (fantastic small beach far away from the touristic chaos of Ton Sai) the hotel wasn't exactly as we expected: the room was too small for 3 people, they added an extra bed but too small and definitely uncomfortable, cleanliness very poor (they never changed our towels in 3 days!!!), breakfast not too bad but the restaurant is not worth it.
Also the gave us a room very close to the beach, which was good of course, but we couldn't sleep as every night the bar next to the main reception put house music till late...
Otherwise, the diving centre staff is very nice and helpful, and, again, the beach is awesome!
The price is perhaps a bit too high for the poor service.
A small tip: on the other end of the same beach there's another resort with a lovely restaurant which seemed to us a better option...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in December 2011 - January 2012. This included having our wedding reception here as well as the NYE gala dinner. About 24 of our wedding guests stayed at this hotel too.

We chose this hotel on our wedding planner’s recommendation. But after we had chosen it we discovered trip advisor and we were a little worried at some of the bad reviews here. However, our stay has made me realise that trip advisor has some petty, whinging people on it and in this case all the bad things I read were completely inaccurate. (although to be fair construction noise is obviously going to be a temporary thing but there was none on our trip, also I think there has been a management change at some point before we got there since a lot of these reviews were written) This was our favourite hotel out of all that we stayed at in Thailand, including a couple of international ones such as the Sofitel and Intercontinental.

We were in a Grand Sea View Deluxe room, right at the top of the hill. The view across to Monkey beach and Ko Phi Phi Ley was just brilliant. The room its self was fantastic. It was finished in nice timber throughout. It also has lots of windows to maximize the view. The large shower was out doors (still has roof and walls, only way to access it is via the room) it also has high windows and fantastic views. There was a nice big balcony with chairs and table on it. The room had all the usual amenities, safety box, large LCD TV, good aircon, fridge etc. The beach (long beach) that the hotel is located on is much cleaner and nicer than the beaches in the town. Here you can wade in to the water and experience some of the better snorkelling the Phi Phi has to offer with hundreds of tropical fish at your feet.

Throughout our stay all of the staff were exceptionally nice and friendly. And not just in a “doing their job” type of way, they came across as genuinely friends taking time to have a chat with you. They all had a good sense of humour and made our stay lots of fun.
Our wedding reception there was beautiful. The hotel did a fantastic job and all of our guests complimented us on how well it went. The food was amazing! There were so many different dishes you were doing well if you managed to try them all. The resort manager Miio (sorry if spelt wrong!) even organised a live band and a fire dancer for our wedding. We were not expecting those and it was a very cool surprise.

TL:DR, this hotel was paradise!

Room Tip: Top of the hill have best view, but more excercise to get to via the steps. (you can get the golfcar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim_McF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great location with a small beach and coral reef. Excellent snorkel trip with the most beatiful sites for coral reef and variety of fishes. What a shame the bungalows (dirty and not so carefull) and normal restaurant...
We recomended it but with another extra location in Phi Phi or Phuket to spend your holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javidelaguardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#17 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
845 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
0.7 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Krabi | 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $102 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing