We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the crowd”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phi Phi Don
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phi Phi Hill Resort
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Away from the crowd”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are not luxury at all but are spacious and have all the necessary comodities.

Awsome view from the top of the hill and away from the crowded city center.

The food is very good, at least all the dishes we've tryied! There are a few nice places to eat in the center as well but not the ones on the main road, the best places are a little hidden. Still, the food in this resort is pretty good!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    32
    21
    19
See reviews for
14
83
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed here for the last two years in a row. I don't want to write this review because u don't want it to get over crowded.

It is quite with amazing views away from the loud fuss of the main land and very close to everything.

The lady and brother owner are very friendly. There menu is the cheapest on the island and is very good Thai food.

See you at the end of the year as this place is also the cheapest by fare and the best.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Dont normally leave reviews but I feel that I must after staying here, we arrived at the top of the long set of stairs to be welcomed by two rude miserable Thai women, we were put in a bungalow at the back that had not been used for a while, (we wouldn't of minded for a lower price) but we got charged the same amount, the bungalow had rat droppings in and was pretty disgusting.Having traveled around Asia for the past 4 months I'm used to the odd bug or rodent in the room, but you should not have to put up with it for 800 baht a night!! All that concerns the staff at this place is money, no one ever said "thank you" or offered any help with trips or further travel. There are other places to stay for not much more money, please don't make the same mistake as we did by staying here as it ruined our stay on long beach!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
567 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Considering that you're in one of the most expensive islands in Thailand and also in one of the most expensive beaches, Phi Phi Hill is a good choice if you're more on a budget. There's no luxury, but the rooms are large and dry, with plenty space to organize your stuff, including a desk and chair and a luminary that was great for reading. Also, the room has windows that open and the fan was efficient, with 3 speeds.
Fan room is only cold water, but the shower was great and we really didn't need the hot water. No TV, but we never use it anyway. The views of the bungalows are great and the Phi Phi Hill is very well located in Long Beach, just at the end of the beach, in the best snorkeling point. If you want to enjoy some beach days and snorkeling around shark point, it's the only affordable place in the beach if you're in a budget.
They cleaned the room everyday, changed sheets and towels every 4 days (we've stayed 7 nights). The laundry service was good, reception was also good, restaurant has great view, good food, well priced - service is a little slow and sometimes bad mood, but it's as in most restaurants in Phi Phi. The owner, although, could be less lazy and interested in customer's money and more welcoming.
Finally, if you're interested in Phi Phi nightlife, be aware that the resort is about 1 hour walking to the town or 100 bath p/person @ day and 150 @ night by boat - around 10 minutes ride.
I recommend the resort if you're on a budget and want to stay near the beach, in a calm and decent place.
Important: no internet around the place, DTAC 3G worked very bad there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved our stay at Phi Phi Hill Resort. It's in an expensive location on Phi Phi but is the cheapest on Long Beach. Our bungalow was big with air con and breakfast included. Long beach is amazing - it never got ridiculously busy and the sea is gorgeous. Phi Phi Hill is located higher up so you do have to walk up some stairs to get to your bungalow but we liked that is was away higher as the view whilst you eat breakfast was incredible and it was more peaceful than the resorts right on the beach. Breakfast was great and the food at Phi Phi Hill was lovely and great value.

One criticism is that some of the staff were pretty rude and not interested in politeness (although some of them were the opposite!)

They run a day trip on a longtail boat to different beaches - met great people but I think you could get better value by hiring a boat to take you to somewhere specific rather than all of the places they take you too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasajmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The beach is beautiful and one can swim right off the beach and even snorkel with the baby sharks. The rooms are big but most do not have much of a view from inside the room. However, one can sit on the little deck outside and enjoy the lovely views of the sea. We didn't find the walk up to the hotel very tiring and it id well worth the views from the hotel and restaurant.

Although its a bit of a walk from Tonsai, we did climb up the cliff towards the main pier everyday and did not mind it. The path is well lit.

The rooms are basic but clean and quite huge. We found it a bit tough to keep the cats out of the room but all in all, a great choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diya_Kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in a fan bungalow on the sunrise side of the resort. The room was larger than we expected with an average bathroom. The bathroom was clean (bin emptied every day) and the shower was pretty good, even if it was cold! Places to stay on Phi Phi are expensive and for the money on a different island you can get quite a bit nicer...but options are limited here!

The bungalow was built at a slight angle which meant every time you sat on the toilet you felt as if you were going to fall over slighty...but this really wasn't a problem for us.

The staff were really helpful when we had a insect/animal bite incident one evening (just don't wander in the long grass with bare feet!) helping take myboyfriend down to a boat by scooter and arranging for a boat to take us into town.

A few reviews have mentioned the 'mammoth trek' to reach the resort at the top of the hill. There are a few steps, but its really nothing that should put you off...unless you have problems walking, in which case its probably not the best choice. The view from the restaurant should compensate for the minimal effort required to get there.

We took the around island snorkeling trip with the resort on a boat with about 12 other people. This was good fun and worth the money, although the snorkeling spots aren't necessarily the best.

It costs 100Baht/150Baht to get over the main town depending on the time of day, but this is easily walkable as well - we only did this during the day time but i'm sure with a torch it wouldn't be too hard at night either.

Overall i'd recommend here to someone who wants to be out of the town, but not too far away from the action.

Room Tip: view from sunrise fan bungalows is still great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Long Beach Resort & Villa
Phi Phi Long Beach Resort & Vill...
#22 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
HIP Seaview Resort @ Phi Phi
HIP Seaview Resort @ Phi Phi
#8 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
P.P. Blue Sky Resort
P.P. Blue Sky Resort
#4 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Island
Arayaburi Resort - Phi Phi Islan...
#17 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Hill Resort

Property: Phi Phi Hill Resort
Address: Long Beach | Phi Phi Islands, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Hill Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Hill Hotel
Phi Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing