We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Overpriced, and Stingy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Terrible, Overpriced, and Stingy Hotel”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I got bamboozled into renting a room here when I realized everything in PhiPhi was booked, and a "helper" walked me up to the hotel. The view is nice, but this place was frustrating beyond belief. The staff were ridiculously rude and ignorant, especially the "concierge" who insisted I pay her for her phone calls about a travel question - phone calls I didn't ask she made. I didn't pay her. They charge to use an external safe - not one in the room, and you need to pay every time you need something. The wireless access is shotty, and not really accessible from the room. All of the beds in Thailand are as hard as the ground, and this one wasn't any better.

I rented an "ocean view" room - the most expensive room they have, and OMG it was a dump for the money. The room cost close to $130, or more - can't remember. The furniture was old and beaten up. The shower was dirty and hardly functioning - in fact I don't even think I got hot water. The sink had the kind of faucet you find in a public park, only allowing a little water out at a time...can you imagine continuously pushing down the handle in order to get enough water to brush your teeth. It was clearly they were trying to save every penny they could and at the expense of their guests. There were almost no plugs in the room to charge anything. You couldn't leave a single light on in the room, unless you had the key in the AC receiver thing. I was surprised the AC even worked.

The clubs at the beach below also make this hotel a terrible experience. The flashing lights and noise are pretty hard to deal with, especially as they last until 4 in the morning. Also, this location is definitely not ideal for PhiPhi - it is an extremely long walk down to the ferry building.

Overall, this place was a dump and it literally made me angry. I was so happy to leave it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    92
    58
    54
    73
See reviews for
15
130
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

To set the context, we arrived in Phi-Phi with the intention of finding a nicely located, quiet hotel where we could relax ourselves but at the same time walk to the beach and different restaurants. We decided to walk towards the beach from the pier and saw an isolated hotel with bungalows at the East-end of the beach, towards which we decided to walk.

When we arrived at the reception, the front desk manager communicated us the price and after visiting the rooms, we eventually chose the cheapest option (1700 Bhats) as the mark-up for other rooms was mostly based on how good the view was (and we were not expecting to spend a lot of time in the room). The price was quite expensive for how the bungalow looked like, but we were tired of walking with our backpacks and decided to stay there anyway as the location was nice. Probably the biggest mistake of our entire stay in Thailand.

There were a lot of negative experience during our stay and I cannot afford to spend the time to list them all but here are a few ones:

1) Although a sign in the room stated that the hotel would happily provide us with beach towel at the reception, when we asked for one on our way to the beach, we were told that there were none and that we should walk back to our bungalow and get our shower towel, which was a good 10min walk both way, and up-hill. They mentioned they would then give us a new shower towel for the evening once we come back, which we only got after asking three times and walking twice to the reception (at least we had our daily training with that up/down hill walks). Of course,

2) Breakfast is included but the quality is low (there was not even a Thai option) and make sure you arrived before 10am. We once got there 5-10min later and were not given breakfast, which was fine because we were not really hungry, but it felt sort of unfair not even to get offer a coffee while the pot was standing there and we asked for it.

3) Although quiet during the day, due to the shape of the beach, it becomes a disco at night as the loud (and really bad) music from the beach clubs rises to the hotel and only stops between 3-4am. I can usually sleep anywhere, at any time, whatever loud it is, but this was more than I could take. The second night, we decided to get hammered ourselves that we could sleep!

3) Do not book a trip or a room to your next destination in the hotel as they will charge you between 50-100% more than street prices. A real rip-off, just adding to the overall negative experience.

In short, good location in terms of scenic view, but really really really (and I cannot emphasise it enough) loud. Worst service ever, treating customers like they were walking-dollar-notes and not focused on guest experience but squeezing the last dollar out of you. If you nevertheless decide to go, remember that you have been warned.

Room Tip: Don't book there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

There is no denying that the view is amazing.. but that's probably the only positive about this place. Our aircon doesn't cool the whole room so we had to put our mattress on the floor infront of the aircon as it was just too hot. The door to the outside shower wouldnt lock either so we had to get them to fix it as anyone could walk in! The breakfast is so small that you aren't even full and the noise at night goes till at least 4am. We were at reception and the staff were denying a man another towel as he was only allowed 1 per day!!!! It is a nice view but so expensive for what you get.. I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The title says it all, you can hear a mish mash of rave music until the early hours every night. We had to buy ear plugs from reception the first night. I will be glad to get of the island it's turned into a mini Ibiza.
The rooms were nice but I would seriously think about booking this hotel if you are coming to phi phi for some r&r

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

So we probably paid over the odds if you get bogged down with the relatively unfriendly reception staff and basic rooms. Having said that...we were right on the edge of the beach in an infinity pool, this is what we were paying for. We had a bungalow with a/c, the shower pressure is great but dont expect hot water, the decor was pretty rubbish but we were hardly in the room, breakfast was included but is pretty basic. Don't book trips with the hotel, cheaper down the road in town. The hotel is very close to the Koh Phi Phi viewpoint, quite a climb but so worth it! I'd stay in this hotel again but it wouldn't be my first choice. You can hear the nightlife just about anywhere in Tonsai village so don't stay anywhere near here if you want a quiet hotel stay. You need to remember that you're paying for front row seats to sundown and an infinity pool if you stay here. Rooms and staff need to be taken with a pinch of salt!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugheslittlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice clean rooms, breakfast ok, beautiful small pool and a short walk downtown. Very loud at night due to the parties on the beach, so bring earplugs. But this is not the hotels fault. Room service every day, people are helpful. All in all a hotel to recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baerenfrosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Please do not be fooled by the photos of this resort,we booked a deluxe room,not cheap by the way,we ended up in a wooden shack,it was filthy,separate toilet, shower,that we could not use as it was full of grime,paid for 5 nights! only lasted the one,air con wasnt working,total waste of money,DONT GO THERE!!!!!!!!.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hardy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.5 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#26 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#24 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#13 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#20 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort

Property: Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort
Address: 107 Moo 7, Tambol Ao Nang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Viewpoint Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Viewpoint Hotel
Phi Viewpoint Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing