We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware! Money Stolen From Credit Card”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware! Money Stolen From Credit Card”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Viewpoint for 2 nights and from the minute we got there the staff had no idea what was going on. We arrived at the pier and had arrange them to pick us up and carry our bags to the hotel (a fair walk on a hot day and extremely hard to find). We waited 20 minutes and no one came so we walked their and were greeted by total confusion! Our booking had apparently not gone through even though we had been contacted by the hotel the day before confirming our arrival. After 30 minutes of waiting in the heat we were taken to our room which was sufficient but very dark and the bathroom flooded every time we had a shower (disgusting!). We had a rather uneventful stay until I checked my credit card statement by chance to see an unauthorized transaction from the hotel for $200 US. I was shocked and rather worried so went straight to reception to sort it out - there we were met by staff who were extremely rude and had no idea what to do. We were told to came back the next morning but when we did the staff still didn't understand the gravity of the situation and were extremely unhelpful! We waited 1.5 hours and were then told that they could only refund the money in cash, which was extremely inconvient as we were leaving Thailand the next day and already had enough cash to get us through. Because of there 'mistake' we lost quite a bit of money and felt extremely angry! If you are going to stay here I recommend you check your credit card statement before you leave otherwise you'll never get your money back! WATCH OUT

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiKate91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    92
    58
    52
    70
See reviews for
15
126
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Very expensive for what it is. £60 per night very tired electric doesn't always work. The island is great to go to but try to find a better place to stay than this dump. It was clean ish. But a very low end hotel in the uk. The resort only made it palpable. Not recommended

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenboy943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here as we had not booked accommodation and the pool looked really nice in the pictures. It was not cheap though it was about 2000 baht per night for a Deluxe Room with a sea view. It was NOT a deluxe room! The decor was shabby and the room was dirty. There were stains on the sheets and the fridge was dirty. You could feel every spring in the bed and they kept springing every so often! At night the music from the beach vibrates through the room. The staff were not friendly. The shower had cold water every night. The only good thing about this place was the infinity pool which had amazing views.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laa1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Fresh off the boat we hadn't booked accommodation, we had planned on staying somewhere else but they had no availability. Viewpoint was recommended as it was in our price range 2,400Bht per night for an a/c room with a kingside bed.

Hotel is located on the opposite beach from the pier on the north west end of the main beach and has an amazing view over the bay, especially from the horizon pool. Decor was a bit knackered and we understand that this was a rather more upmarket hotel until all the bars swapped sides of the island and now it is very much in the firing line of the beach night clubs. You won't be sleeping until after the bars shut which is about 2am. We didn't mind but I would guess a you g family might.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supres6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked this place through an agent on the ferry to Phi Phi, he showed us these amazing pics on a brochure. We didnt realise the resort is a good 20 minute walk from the pier. We got there to a room which can best be described as awful, we turned straight back out and demanded a refund. The people on reception told us if we wanted a refund we would have to go back to the pier and find the agent and get the money off of him..a good 20 minute walk again in sweltering heat so we asked for a room upgrade...which we had to pay extra for. The room itself was basic and not the best. The view was amazing but its far from the town. We stayed in one night and the noise was awful, it felt like we had a rave in our room, its located next to party beach so if you dont go out you won't get much sleep. Some advice, prebook where you are gonna stay...and don't stay here.

Room Tip: Do not choose a standard room for 1200 baht, they are located next to a rubbish tip and are disgusti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamonn4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights - rooms are very basic, doesn't feel entirely clean (bathroom is a wet room and not very nice at all, cold shower every night!) and had ALOT of Mosquitos, swatted 9 in an hour to be precise! You can't sit on the balcony as you'd get eaten alive! Pool is amazing and it does live up to its name 'viewpoint'. Staff were lovely. We met a local who said this resort was 'the place to stay' 10 years ago but has slowly let itself run down as they obviously haven't redecorated or replaced anything since then. Town is about a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this resort for one night because we didn't have any accomodations booked earlier. We could not get out of here fast enough the next day! It was a horrible stay! The price is comparable or more expensive than other places closer to the middle of town. It's a 15 min walk from the center of everything - so it was NOT convenient to just pop in and out during the day. The staff were not helpful at all - it took many requests to get sheets changed that were stained when we arrived. And we got attitude and looks for asking. We then had to wait to get our luggage picked up from town because an employee was on a lunch break - we were told 10 min which ended up being closer to half hour. The toilet and shower were in one room with no separation so basically everything was soaked after a shower. WORST PART - the bars/clubs on the beach - while far away, the sound echoes off the water straight into this resort! We could not sleep all night - the music was blasting as if it was next door until 3am and then when they shut down, a local blasted music pretty much until the morning. It was our worst night in Phi Phi. We received a recommendation to stay at PP Insula the next day and could not have been happier! We only wish we'd asked sooner so that we could have stayed there instead of wasting our money and time at Viewpoint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#25 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#27 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#18 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort

Property: Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort
Address: 107 Moo 7, Tambol Ao Nang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Viewpoint Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Viewpoint Hotel
Phi Viewpoint Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing