We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really unfriendly with poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really unfriendly with poor service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The two stars are awarded for the location, which is on a beautiful beach. I have never ever experienced such unfriendly service in Thailand and everything seemed to put them out - we also spent a fortune due to being there over Christmas, complete rip off. The island has also been wrecked and you would be cheaper going Ayia Napa. Fortunately we moved on to Ko Lanta which was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieD426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    232
    127
    65
    52
See reviews for
60
425
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had hoped to stay in a VIP room but these were full so had standard room. These are ok but nothing special, there is a mosquito net for the bed which you will need to use!

There was wifi but they didn't tell us about this, we had to ask which seemed to be the way the resort is. As we also didn't think there were Beach towels, there were (more like sarongs)but we didn't find out until check out

Breakfast was pretty good, a buffet with egg station. We ate at the restaurant a couple times, also good and quite cheap however they shut at 9pm so make sure eaten or ordered drinks by then!

Long beach is a quiet area but that's nice for chill out. You can get taxi boat into the busy town for 100b in day or 150b at night (pp) which was good for the evening if want something a bit more lively.

We did a private snorkel trip on long boat arranged through hotel, told we'd go to various places including monkey island but the guide then told us it was too late so that was pretty disappointing as we then spent 30 minutes but 'the beach' whilst he talked to his mate so sure would been time! Hotel also has snorkels can hire for 50b

I would return if coming to phi phi assuming could get a better room but think I'd do trips through someone else

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1983Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here with our two kids (unfortunately we had to get two bungalows), but the bungalows were very nice. We were in the back row of bungalows, but it was only a 30 second walk to the beach. The beachfront bungalow actually front onto the concrete walkway and massage tables, not the beach itself, so they are probably not worth the extra money. The beach was very nice with some average snorkeling just down the beach a few minutes. We walked to the down where the ferry arrives -- what a horrible zoo. You best stay around the resort area (Long Beach) for a quieter more pleasant experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Biogeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of December in a superior room. The room was huge, luckily equipped with a TV (one day it rained all day long) and a modern and clean bathroom. Unfortunately the water in my room never got warmer than luke-warm and the water-pressure was not that great. The hotel reception was very friendly and very helpful when I booked the ferry to Phuket (it was quite cheap as well- ferry+longtail boat to the pier+ mini van to Phuket airport for 600 baht). Since the weather was not that great and I wanted to spend most of the time on the beautiful beach right in front of the hotel, I ate all my meals at the little hotel restaurant. The vegetarian choices were very limited. The included breakfast on the other hand was plentiful and very good (freshly cut fruits, fresh fruit salad, muesli, milk and much more). As previous critics have mentioned there seems to be young people working in the restaurant so don't expect great and superfriendly service. At check-in I was also given a 10 hour free wlan voucher. The internet never worked in my room (it was the one farthest away from the reception) but when you used it at the restaurant it was very quick. Again, as previously mentioned, it's kind of disappointing that they don't pick you up at the pier when your ferry arrives- I was able to join the paradise pearl longtail boat but had to pay 100 baht. Overall, I think I would stay here again since the beach and the turquoise, clear water are paradisiac.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over christmas and it was lovely. The bungalows are clean and spacious and beautiful views. The staff are very friendly. Meals were nice but the restraunt was not open all day so you could only eat certain times. There is another restraunt on ths beach which was also good food or for 100 bart each yoy can get a short boat taxi to main island. I would definitely stay here again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alysondavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked the standard bungalow for 5 days, once there we were shown to our room and I was very disappointed with what we booked. The bungalow was very basic, front door/windows wasn't very secure and air con/tv were at a low standard.

We asked reception if we could upgrade and luckily they had a Thai modern room available but had to pay an extra £100. This upgrade is well worth it. It was a huge difference in finishings, larger bed, bigger room, stylish bathroom and great air con.

I didn't complain about the room as I wrongly expected the bungalow to be of a higher standard. The staff at reception were great and they had us moved in no time.

Breakfast was included with our booking and I was pleased with the quality.

During the stay I had a few massages from the hotel masseuses, they are located just on the sea front. These girls are very gifted as they cured a few aches and pains I was suffering with.

Reception we're very helpful with ordering long tail boats to travel to and from Tonsai pier and they also organised our ferry booking to Koh Lanta.

All the staff in the hotel were friendly and great!

Will stay here again if I visit Thailand in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimmyCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Loved long beach, the resort was good value and had friendly staff. We unfortunately had to cut our stay here short by a day after we discovered there was a bad case of bed bugs in our room. We decided to jump ship immediately after we figured it out since we had seen everything we needed to on Koh Phi Phi, so in the Resorts defence we didn't give them a chance to react to the situation. All we wanted to do is give folks a heads up that we ran into this issue here. As I said, besides this we liked what the place had to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
628 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort Phi Phi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort Phi Phi

Property: Paradise Resort Phi Phi
Address: 138/1 Moo 7 | Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Resort Phi Phi 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach resort on a small island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Paradise Resort Phi Phi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Paradise Hotel Ko Phi Don
Paradise Resort Ko Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing