We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Option: In Comparsion to the Rest of the Centrally Located Hotels on the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Option: In Comparsion to the Rest of the Centrally Located Hotels on the Island”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Prior to our stay at Phi Phi Banyan Villa, we spent 3 nights at another "cheaper" location on the island. After a day of rain - that location became unbearable. Each of us in our group of 6 were willing to pay whatever it cost to find a nice hotel. We walked most of the island and realized this is the best of what Phi Phi had to offer for the night. The location is perfect and close to the dock especially when most of the time you are carrying your luggage off the boat & straight to your hotel. Also the gym is extremely nice and the pool is in great condition as well. The rooms are spacious as well as clean & comfortable. The only issues we had was very limited hot water, which is not surprising on the island, & the cost of the hotel was on the higher end of your price range. Our lesson learned was the feeling clean and comfortable on Phi Phi was important - so choose your hotel / guest house wisely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    264
    145
    53
    58
See reviews for
71
279
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent two nights at the Phi Phi banyan villa with my two children aged 13 and 11. The hotel has a great location right near the pier and close to restaurants, shopping, dive and snorkelling operators, etc. The included breakfast buffet was served at the beachfront Tonsai Seafood restaurant right on the waterfront which was a lovely way to stay the day. The breakfast was not fancy but definitely adequate with bacon, ham, sausages, eggs cooked to order, pancakes and French toast, yoghurt, fresh fruit, plus a Thai noodle dish or two as well as juice and filler coffee.
The room itself was clean but quite run down. Our shower rose had a mind of its own and out bathroom basin plug could not be removed so we had a basin full of dirty water for two days. Beds are hard as is the norm in most Asian hotels I've stayed in. Unfortunately the pillows were harder still, more like bricks than pillows. They provided a mattress on the floor as the third bed in the room. This made moving around the room difficult. On a positive note all staff seemed friendly and helpful. I asked for a late checkout so we could shower after our morning snorkelling trip and we were able to keep the room until 1 pm without any additional charge. Not sure if i would choose this hotel again, but in all honesty none of the other options looked any better, especially if you want to stay on the Tonsai side of the island. In summary, this hotel is a clean and convenient place to stay. If you are looking for five star you need to be prepared to stay on the other side of the island without accessibility to Tonsai village which may or may not suit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Well it seems the shine has all worn off the poor old Banyan Villa. We were here 2 years ago to the week and loved it. Oh what 2 years can do to a place that never spends any mony on its assets.
Seems they have still got the same pool guy though, just keep throwing in the chlorine discs and the water will be clear. Don't worry about testing the ph or anything, as long as it is clear it's all good.
The breakfast Buffett is not worth turning up for, they fill all the servers at 7.00am and thats it till 10.30...... well that is how it all tastes. The egg person comes in from time to time and if you catch her she will make you an egg.
The rooms smell like sewer to the point we went to the quickie mart and got some drain cleaner to dump down the drains each time we entered the bathroom. The smell wasn't confined to the bathroom and from minute 1 we had to breath shallow to avoid the smell.
Staff are friendly enough and all try to do what they can. We had the hand held hose next to the toilet burst and called maintenance. They walked around the resort for 40 mins with a new hose over ones shoulder till I grabbed him and told him where it was needed, he had no idea where he was meant to be lol.
Well this will bethe last visit to the Banyan Villa resort for us, but it is a beautiful area and a great position, if you don't mind the stench and I almost forgot the rock hard beds, then you could try it.

Room Tip: try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robwil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends for two nights, the location was great, close to the pier and lots of restaurant options nearby. The rooms were fine, though if mozzies love you there are some gaps around the doors to the balcony so have some extra spray handy. It was clean, the staff on reception were nice, knew we were part of a group and told us what rooms our friends were staying in etc when we checked in.

We checked out the gym, looked great but didnt have any sneakers, nor planned to use it.

Breakfast across the road was fine, was on the beach and had a great view of the bay.

The only thing we didnt like was the pool. As inviting as it looks it had wayyyy to much chlorine in it that we only swam in it once. So I would avoid it esp if you have kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLMAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Phi Phi Banyan for 4 nights and thought it was situation in a great location - close enough to the action, but far away enough that it was quiet at night. For a 3 star property, it gave us everything we needed. The rooms are a little dark, but that can be quite nice after you've been out in the sun all day! Breakfast was average, exactly as I expected and was absolutely fine, located pretty much on the beachfront it was lovely to sit and look out at the beautiful calm blue water while having your morning coffee. We enjoyed our stay at the Banyan, not as bad as some people have reviewed. But it is only 3 star - what were they expecting honestly?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieryangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Phi Phi is overpriced with a lot of pretty poor hostels and hotels, but the Banyan was a gem. A little pricey at $60US per night, but splitting it with friends made it very affordable. The staff was great, rooms were very nice and clean, the pool was great after diving, and it is right on the beach, very close to the piers and all the main restaurants and bars. If you want a cockroach free place to stay at a decent price, this is it. There is also a great gym on site!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

GROUP SIZE: 4
We are a young couple in our early 30's, married 8 years
Traveling with younger brother mid 20's
And a friend late 20's.

TRAVEL STYLE:
Flashpacker with occasional splurge.

TRIP ITINERARY:
3 days, 2 nights

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel Review
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome/Check-In:
We booked 2 rooms for the 4 of us thru agoda.com and reservation was confirmed. The lady at the front desk seemed confused and flustered from the start because the rates that we paid on agoda was about 15 USD cheaper a night than what they were advertising and commented that they were fully booked. We checked our reservations again and we found the confirmation email from agoda and showed her. After about 10 minutes of watching her "check" her system and radio-ing in to someone, magically 2 rooms right next to each other appeared.

Room Cleanliness:
Rooms were clean and furnished with modern decor. Adequate space. We choose the garden rooms over-looking the well-ventilated gym. We had a balcony.

Bathroom Cleanliness:
Super clean bathrooms with modern contemporary design.

Location:
10 minutes walking distance to Nice Beach. About 30 minutes walking to Long Beach. Lots of eats and massage places nearby. there is no swimmable beach outside of this hotel.

Staff:
The staff at this hotel was overall friendly.

Pool:
Was small and loaded with chlorine. I would say TOOOOOOOO MUCCHHH. My husband and brother have sensitive skin and could not be in the pool for more than 5 minutes. Not very child friendly.

Breakfast:
Outside by the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet2dresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Banyan Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Banyan Villa

Property: Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Address: 129 Moo 7, Ao Nang | Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Banyan Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi Banyan Villa locate only 5 minutes walks from Tonsai Pier. From the pier, just turn right down along the beach road. You will find a big banyan tree with the hotel reception on the left and on the right is the hotel's beach front restaurant Tonsai Seafood. Phi Phi Banyan Villa is a second hotel of Phi Phi Hotel Group. The hotel has just renovated and finished on November 2009. Bed room and bath room are clean and brand new Banyan Fitness Center is free of charge for the hotel guest. The fitness consist of work out machines, sauna room, stream room and yoga class which guest have to pay extra to join. Please note to use the fitness, a pair of proper sport shoes is needed or you have to rent one at the fitness. The hotel is 2 story building. Two room type are Banyan Wing Room and Garden Wing Room, wooden floor for Banyan Wing Rooms and tiled floor for Garden Wing Room. All rooms are with balcony facing the garden. Please note extra bed at this hotel is only a mattress on the floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi Banyan Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Banyan Villa Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Banyan Hotel
Phi Banyan Ko Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing